We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand colonialesque stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here for just one night passing through PE for Lesotho. The central lobby is grand and reminds one of a great colonial palace. The rooms are large with great views over the indian ocean. Staff are friendly and the free nibbles and drinks in the afternoon were much appreciated. The pool is on the small size but great for refreshing dips. Breakfast was great but no restaurant meant you had to order take away if you didn't want to go out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binnysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank your for your review. We hope you will visit us again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is one of the best choices for accommodation in Port Elizabeth. I have stayed at the Courtyard three times and have enjoyed every stay. This time we stayed in a suite - two huge bedrooms en suite and a connecting lounge/dining room/ktichenette.The suite is great value for a family or group of friends and you can park right outside the back door. The view is over the sea and it is within walking distance of the Boardwalk casino complex next door. Some people might find the limited services a disadvantage (the hotel only serves breakfast) but we loved the choice of surrounding restaurants and the fact that there are menus of the room for delivery from some nearby ones. Another disadvantage may be the sounds of passing traffic and ,music from a nearby late-night club, but that is one of the prices you pay for being right on the beachfront. It didn't worry us unduly. So, top marks for this clean, well-located hotel. This is the premier brand in the City Lodge Group and you can find cheaper options at the City Lodge, Road Lodge and Town Lodge outlets nearby,

Room Tip: We like the floor level with the car park, which is usually the ground floor or first floor, no step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterxhosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thanks so much for your very comprehensive and very kind review of our hotel - we look forward to your next visit! It's also great to know that you fully understand the difference between our four brands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Couryard Hotel in Port Elizabeth was a good choice for many reasons: Firstly, the location was perfect, walking distance from the Boardwalk Convention Centre and right on the beach. The rooms were very, very nice. It was huge by any standard, especially the bathroom was larger than most European hotel rooms. I found everything to be clean (my most important criteria) and cannot fault anything.

Room Tip: Ground floor suites can be a bit noisy when people walk past, but you can park your car right next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VPK-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments - we really appreciate them - hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The Couryard Hotel in Port Elizabeth is a good choice if your are on a business trip. It is centrally located in Summerstrand. The hotel has fantastic views from the breakfast area and reception. The service is good, and the rooms are clean and well maintained. It really is your standard business travel type of accomodatin with no additional frills.

THe breakfast is very good and presented in a nice setting.

I would recommend it to any business travel that needs a safe comfortable space the stay and operate from.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Western wing (228) is very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sybert03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thanks so much for your generous review - we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I looked forward to returning to this hotel. Reception was warm an friendly. I was upgraded to a suite with enough space to house a small tribe. It is well equipped with most things you would need. Comfortable bed, great view, blackout curtains, kitchenette, lounge area, dining area, work station, wifi, etc Great so far.

So why the below average rating?

1. The room fixtures and fittings are all well worn and tired. Most furniture is scratched, chipped or marked. Walls are marked. Shower has mould etc.
2. Breakfast was the usual excellent City Lodge variety. On the first morning service was pathetic. I had to search for a table that was not littered with dirty plates etc. After waiting about 10 minutes I unsuccessfully tried the coffee machine, without any staff offering to assist. Eventually the duty manager offered me coffee at the table half way through the meal. I did have friendly word with the manager and on the second day the service was prompt and friendly, but they did run out of croissants............
3. Day 2 was started with the treat of a cold shower! "We are working on it"
4. Reception. As expected staff are friendly and professional. In general there is usually only one behind the desk, so all interactions are drawn out by numerous interruptions. Didn't help that the credit card machine didn't work on checkout. Reception also looks grubby with a wall well marked by greasy hands over the years ( the things you notice while waiting for long periods!)
5. For the two days a cleaning trolley remained parked in the passage, and had to be moved when the wind blew it into the stairway access.

So while it is a nice facility in a good location, this Courtyard could do with a serious makeover as it does not live up to the brand expectations.

Room Tip: Bearing above comments in mind all seem to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for staying at our hotel - rest assured that we will look into these matters you have raised as they appear to be below our high standards of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at this Courtyard Hotel during a visit to Port Elizabeth, as I wanted to show my wife where I had spent many of my childhood days. Our room was spacious, clean and beautifully decorated and also had an ocean view. We experienced the staff to be genuinely friendly and caring. At breakfast we were offered a choice of either continental or full breakfast. We decided on the latter and found the food at the hot buffet to be attractively set out and of a very high quality. The breakfast chef greeted us in a cheerful way and interacted with us in a very friendly manner. A memorable moment was having a beautiful ocean view while enjoying breakfast
We also enjoyed the courtesy bar in the evening where a variety of snacks and drinks were available for the guests to enjoy.
Although this hotel is within easy walking distance to the Boardwalk Casino, they provided a shuttle bus to take us there.
Our stay at this hotel exceeded our expectations, and we would most certainly recommend the hotel to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeonKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thanks so much for your kind comments - we hope it won't be too long before you pay us another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We know the Port Elizabeth area rather well, and this hotel is our favourite in the city. We normally also book our out-of-town guests into this hotel. The views over the Indian Ocean are great, the breakfast is superb, and the location is spot-on. It is very close to the Boardwalk casino complex, with its offerings of decent restaurants etc. If you are coming to PE, do not hesitate to book this hotel.

Room Tip: Most rooms have an Indian Ocean view, but try to book the rooms on the 2nd floor north of the recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AceBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thanks so much for your comments - we also love our beachfront location and hope to share it again with you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.2 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#11 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth

Address: 1 Lodge Road Cnr Beach Roads, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range: £78 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth is situated on Marine Drive in the Boardwalk Casino and Resort complex, directly opposite the famed Humewood International Beach of the Eastern Cape. The hotel consists of 91 suites and studios some with sea facing views. Situated 8 minutes from the CBD and 5 minutes from Port Elizabeth Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth Courtyard
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing