We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean neat and spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean neat and spacious”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed at the Courtyard on 20 December 2013 our way to Cape Town. Staff were friendly, accommodation spacious, clean and well priced. Only draw back, no restaurant on premises, but loads in the vicinity.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    71
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
26
63
7
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Used hotel for one night as stopover to Safari. Nice comfortable room for family of 3, they had placed a full size single bed for my 14 year old which was nice. Clean, comfortable and very handy for the boardwalk.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiltsKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Happy New Year - thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We have stayed here four times and enjoyed every one of them. The rooms are large and comfortable, the views over the ocean are great. We stayed in Port Elizabeth for many years and loved the place. The only problem we had was the black mould in the shower. This means that the shower is not cleaned and disinfected regularly. Unacceptable! When I reported that to the front desk, the lady was mildly amused. We were not.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthAfricaDeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Very well located with Boardwalk just a walk away. Rooms are nice with spacious bathrooms. Please note that WiFi is free only for 15mins and furthur use is chargeable. I would advise choosing a room on ground floor which is convenient to park your car and load/unload luggage.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohit_1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here for just one night passing through PE for Lesotho. The central lobby is grand and reminds one of a great colonial palace. The rooms are large with great views over the indian ocean. Staff are friendly and the free nibbles and drinks in the afternoon were much appreciated. The pool is on the small size but great for refreshing dips. Breakfast was great but no restaurant meant you had to order take away if you didn't want to go out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binnysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank your for your review. We hope you will visit us again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is one of the best choices for accommodation in Port Elizabeth. I have stayed at the Courtyard three times and have enjoyed every stay. This time we stayed in a suite - two huge bedrooms en suite and a connecting lounge/dining room/ktichenette.The suite is great value for a family or group of friends and you can park right outside the back door. The view is over the sea and it is within walking distance of the Boardwalk casino complex next door. Some people might find the limited services a disadvantage (the hotel only serves breakfast) but we loved the choice of surrounding restaurants and the fact that there are menus of the room for delivery from some nearby ones. Another disadvantage may be the sounds of passing traffic and ,music from a nearby late-night club, but that is one of the prices you pay for being right on the beachfront. It didn't worry us unduly. So, top marks for this clean, well-located hotel. This is the premier brand in the City Lodge Group and you can find cheaper options at the City Lodge, Road Lodge and Town Lodge outlets nearby,

Room Tip: We like the floor level with the car park, which is usually the ground floor or first floor, no step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterxhosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thanks so much for your very comprehensive and very kind review of our hotel - we look forward to your next visit! It's also great to know that you fully understand the difference between our four brands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, SA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Couryard Hotel in Port Elizabeth was a good choice for many reasons: Firstly, the location was perfect, walking distance from the Boardwalk Convention Centre and right on the beach. The rooms were very, very nice. It was huge by any standard, especially the bathroom was larger than most European hotel rooms. I found everything to be clean (my most important criteria) and cannot fault anything.

Room Tip: Ground floor suites can be a bit noisy when people walk past, but you can park your car right next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VPK-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments - we really appreciate them - hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
115 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.2 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.2 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#14 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth

Property: Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Address: 1 Lodge Road Cnr Beach Roads, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth is situated on Marine Drive in the Boardwalk Casino and Resort complex, directly opposite the famed Humewood International Beach of the Eastern Cape. The hotel consists of 91 suites and studios some with sea facing views. Situated 8 minutes from the CBD and 5 minutes from Port Elizabeth Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth Courtyard
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing