We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right next to the beach and the Boardwalk casino complex”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Reviewed 9 January 2010

The Courtyard is a good, value for money stay. The reception/lounge are plush and spacious. Our room was large with large bathrooms, both shower and tub. There is a small kitchenette in the room, with a microwave and coffe/tea facilities. The whole hotel has wi-fi internet at a small charge. There is no restaurant at the hotel, except for the great breakfast buffet. (which is not included in the rate.) The hotel offers room service (pay cash) from a neighbouring restaurant called Dulce. (Pizza, pasta, meat etc.) There is a pool in front of the hotel, with sun downers. As the hotel is on the Marine Drive beach front in Summerstrand there is quite a lot of traffic, but the road is situated below the pool area, which helps. The walk to nearby Boardwalk is safe and only takes 3 minutes. We were recommended by the hotel to have a chaperon when visiting the petrol station at night (3 am new years day after celebrating new-years eve at the boardwalk), luckily the hotel security were happy to escort us. The beach is 3 minute walk away and there is a massive Casino at the Boardwalk for those who fancy such. The car park is secure and gated.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OsloKrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2009

If you go to bid2stay.co.za then you can bid for weekend rooms at this hotel and all hotels in the City/Road Lodge chain, making this very affordable. I booked a one bedroom suite and it was huge, with parking right outside the door, a balcoy with sea views and a little kitchen area stocked with tea and coffee. The hotel is right next to the Boardwalk and opposite a very noisy bar- we were kept awake until midnight by a live band playing there. Still it's a good option in PE and they even serve free drinks and snacks in the bar at night and supply free breakfast muffins at reception too.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

great hotel with great location across the beach. Neat, clean and restful rooms. Interleading rooms available for families with children. Staff are very friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay more comfortable. I will definetly return with my family!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fs30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

Just returned from a wonderful stay. Booked a Queen Suite and what value. Double balcony overlooking sea and although road runs between hotel and front noise minimal. We could lie in bed and watch waves breaking on rocks. Complimentry juice,tea,coffee, muffins, apples in lobby and happy hour drinks between 1700-1900. All the staff give fantastic service and extremly helpful. No restaurant but would recommend both Barneys Tavern and Bluewater cafe both have very comprehensive menus and food great. Also if you need taxi or airport pickup use Blunden. Also try Apple Express Steam Train check the web for details. We went to Addo daytrip more than enough. Forget Schotia Game reserve only 2 Rhino 2 Hippo 9 Giraffe 2 Croc 7 Lion and a few Zebra Wildebeast and Antelope spend far too long looking for them as area vast. Guide and food excellent. We were also very lucky with weather. STAY @ COURTYARD you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CODD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

We had an awesome time during our weekend stay at this hotel. Rooms were great, staff were super-friendly and the location was perfect! Great value for money!

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycapetonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

We stayed for one night prior to driving the Garden Route. We arrived late in the severe storm and I must say that the night check in was far from friendly or even professional. However, the room was large with a spot on view of the Indian Ocean. The bathroom was huge and clean. Small kithenette with microwave, fridge and sink. Breakfast was not included but a great breakfast with hot and cold buffet and eggs to order was R100 pp. The service outside of check in was OK. All in all good choice for a comfortable and convenient short stay in PE.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reedeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Spectacular ocean view. Friendly staff. P.E. is not exactly a tourist Mecca, but this hotel suits just fine. They made us feel safe and at home.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babycakes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.2 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
456 reviews
1.6 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth

Address: 1 Lodge Road Cnr Beach Roads, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range: £73 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth is situated on Marine Drive in the Boardwalk Casino and Resort complex, directly opposite the famed Humewood International Beach of the Eastern Cape. The hotel consists of 91 suites and studios some with sea facing views. Situated 8 minutes from the CBD and 5 minutes from Port Elizabeth Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth Courtyard
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing