We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed in this hotel during April 2011 for one night only. We were very impressed with the hotel, it is just accross the road from the beach and sea, and the rooms have beautiful views. We booked a family room for two adults and our two teenagers. This was a very nice room, had two bedrooms, one with king size bed, and the other room with two singles. The two rooms shared one bathroom. The bathroom was very modern, with a nice big shower, even had a sea view from the shower. The rooms were a good comftable size. We had a buffet breakfast the next morning, and the food was good. The hotel is nice, modern and clean. Will defenately stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blackspaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed at the Protea Hotel Marina in Port Elizabeth 2 weeks ago.
This hotel has been renovated in the last couple of years and the result more then visible.

The location just a minute away from some nightlife and at the beach site are a big plus.

The public rooms, bars and reception are very modern and up to date.
Rooms (we stayed in a loft for 4 nights) are very spacy and luxury.

Especially I need to mention a very big plus to the staff and management as they are very professional and friendly.

A stay in this hotel is real value for money and I can recommend it to everyone who needs to stay overnight in PE.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smeetsstephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I had an exellent experience. The facilities was great and the friendly staff made the whole stay that much better. I would revisit the hotel anytime.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I often stay at the hotel on business and was pleasently surprised with the recent refurbishment of the hotel. My room was a good size and I had a lovely view over the ocean. As PE is so small, it was convenient to get from my hotel to all my business appointments. I had room service dinner and breakfast and both were very good. The only negative comment I have is that check-out was a nightmare; only two people assisting at the check-out desk, I had to wait and it took forever to be assisted, resulting in me being late for a meeting.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VonniCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Protea Hotel Marine is across the street from the beach;our room on the 7th floor had a view of the pretty neighborhood behind the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable with all the amenities including a refrigerator. A grocery, casino and shopping mall nearby. The only downside was the erratic water temp in the shower. The staff friendly and helpful.

The breakfast buffet was attractive and varied, but coffee refills given grudgingly.

Port Elizabeth enjoyed unseasonably warm weather while we were there, and many families enjoyed playing at the water's edge while surfers and kayakers went further out.

We stayed here on tour and would stay here again on our own.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grip652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Located close to the beach. Across the road is a broad patch of green grass & then the beach.
Rooms have an amazing view of the beach & Indian Ocean. Recently renovated after FIFA 2010 in July. Many football teams had stayed here. We stayed on a family trip. One of us had a room with great sea view, however; my parents room had not much of a view. Their room had a smell, due to moisture/dampness. This was taken care of by change of room. There was quite a problem, with the key card operating system; it took quite a while, for it to be resolved, when we checked in.

A very spacious bar. Elegant dining area with a good range. serves both buffet & a la carte.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kilroy_Mariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This hotel has nice rooms which appear to have been refurbished recently. Unfortunately we had too many service issues to really enjoy our stay. Our key was not encoded at check in so we had to go back to front desk - no apologies. The service in the restaurant was terrible so I would recommend avoiding that too. It's a shame because the rooms were fine and if you can overlook the service problems you should have a comfortable stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.5 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
503 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
347 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine

Address: Marine Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Marine)
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Summerstrand
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#8 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range: £74 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine - Adding value, always. Among the superior beachfront hotels in Port Elizabeth, the 4-Star Protea Hotel Marine is unparalleled. Overlooking the sun-drenched sands of Pollock Beach, with sweeping views of Algoa Bay, this hotel, in the heart of the Friendly City, is renowned for its quality facilities, personal service and luxurious atmosphere. From the moment you enter the Protea Hotel Marine, you know you are in an exceptional establishment. The large reception area is elegantly decorated, offering the first taste of a stay that promises an unforgettable experience in comfort and style. Ideal for holidaymakers, families and executives alike, the 4-Star Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine offers luxurious accommodation in a range of comfortable en-suite rooms that boast spectacular sea views. Delicious meals can be enjoyed in the hotel restaurant and there are excellent conference facilities which can cater for 10 - 90 delegates. A secluded roof top splash pool for hot summer days overlooking the ocean, ideal for adults and kids to enjoy. The Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine is situated within walking distance of safe, sandy beaches, various swimming pools, a casino and entertainment complex, not to mention the Museum and Snake Park, and various sporting facilities, including golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth
Protea Hotel By Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing