We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great location and rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Check in was a bit problematic as i had booked via an agent. The rooms are well appointed, they are clean, elegant and spacious enough. The beds are comfortable and linen very clean. Location is excellent - right opposite the beach and they even have a runner's card with a map for joggers. The bathroom windows open which is great as you have a nice breeze from the sea. This hotel exceeded expectations.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuggibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    101
    41
    15
    10
See reviews for
48
86
10
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Ok hotel but not lavish. Rooms are spacious and the staff are very welcoming and helpful. The traditional restaurant next to the hotel is worth a visit. It is the views if the bay though, the short walk to the beach and the beach run-route that I think are the real draws for this place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nobudgettravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed in 4 hotels in the Protea group recently as member of a tour group. They were all superb, well appointed, elegant interior design, extremely comfortable beds and bedrooms, good sized showers with plenty of hot water. Impressed with Management, staff seem to be monitored which makes for consistent standards. Staff are polite and helpful; special mention must be made to Lloyd in Housekeeping at this hotel, who took the time and trouble to send my husband's glasses back after he left them behind! Big thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hout Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
244 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Check in to the Marine Hotel was fast and efficient . The rooms are a nice size and try to pay the extra and get a sea facing room . There is a pool and there is a nice gym but the beach is the place to be . The breakfasts and dinners are superb and the view looks over the ocean . The hotel is close to the shopping centre and the boardwalk casino area .

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JohnFinchPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

A good hotel food very good rooms very good except the noise all night from the air con outside the room window kept me awake all night, we do not use air con in the room for the reason the noise it makes, so I know it was from the unit on the outside wall of hotel. If you stay there ask for room at front of hotel over looking sea, not over looking car Park. Shame because it is a very nice hotel if I had stayed longer than a one night I would have change rooms.

Room Tip: room at front of hotel facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyanalbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
496 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Did everything I expected for a night's stay. Decent breakfast, clean modern chain hotel though not much to do in the immediate vicinity so i wouldn't mark it high for location but I was satisfied with the experience.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank kuepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We were traveling from Cape Town to Transkei and stayed over at Protea Hotel Marine for one night. Upon arriving at the Hotel the Reception Staff were very welcoming. As we entered the room we were allocated twin beds but we were so tired that we didn't feel like asking them to convert the bed back to a double. We were in the room for +/-15mins then we received a courtesy call from Jason the Manager on Duty where he immediately gave us a comp upgrade to one of their Loft Suites with a bottle of bubbly.

The breakfast was top class and we have decided that this Hotel has the best breakfast service with the most attentive staff.

We enjoyed our stay and it was an awesome pitstop.

Room Tip: Stay in a loft suite; it's nice and spacious. Have breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aries_Globe_Trotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.5 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#10 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Address: Marine Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Marine)
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Summerstrand
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#8 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine - Adding value, always. Among the superior beachfront hotels in Port Elizabeth, the 4-Star Protea Hotel Marine is unparalleled. Overlooking the sun-drenched sands of Pollock Beach, with sweeping views of Algoa Bay, this hotel, in the heart of the Friendly City, is renowned for its quality facilities, personal service and luxurious atmosphere. From the moment you enter the Protea Hotel Marine, you know you are in an exceptional establishment. The large reception area is elegantly decorated, offering the first taste of a stay that promises an unforgettable experience in comfort and style. Ideal for holidaymakers, families and executives alike, the 4-Star Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine offers luxurious accommodation in a range of comfortable en-suite rooms that boast spectacular sea views. Delicious meals can be enjoyed in the hotel restaurant and there are excellent conference facilities which can cater for 10 - 90 delegates. A secluded roof top splash pool for hot summer days overlooking the ocean, ideal for adults and kids to enjoy. The Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine is situated within walking distance of safe, sandy beaches, various swimming pools, a casino and entertainment complex, not to mention the Museum and Snake Park, and various sporting facilities, including golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth
Protea Hotel By Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing