We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible time with booking and payment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boardwalk Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hotel itself was very nice and the rooms had great views of the Indian Ocean. However, the booking process was the most stressful I have ever experienced. I booked through booking.com, got a confirmation that we had booked 3 rooms for one night and thought that was it. Oh no, a day later, I get an email from Sun International, stating that I had to pay in advance (first time ever on booking.com) so I emailed back with my credit card details. Another email arrived saying that my credit card had been refused, so I called them and was re-directed a dozen times. Eventually, they said that my reservation would be cancelled, so I re-sent card details, having spoken at great expense to my credit card company in the UK to check that the card would not be stopped. The same thing happened - threats to cancel reservation and the insistence that the card was not valid. So I decided to do nothing and turn up anyway. We duly turned up and our reservation was still there but we were charged over 8000.00 rand at check in. I queried this as our booking.com booking had said it would be 5750.00 rand. They apologised and said they would honour this original quote. Turns out, not only did they try to overcharge us but my card details had gone through twice (!!!) so I had already paid upfront for 2 of the 3 rooms so they were going to charge us twice!! The reception staff did sort it out for us, but it was a very sour end to our travels in South Africa. 6 other hotels, booked and paid for with no problem on our route and then the Boardwalk.
Other than this, I would warn guests that the massages in the Africology Spa are the worst I had in South Africa...hurried and not to a good standard at all.

The rooms were fine, although the key cards kept de-activating.

The restaurant, Kiplings Brassserie was average. However, the breakfasts were outstanding.

All in all, if you need a hotel with a great view, near the airport, it is fine - but they could certainly learn something from some of the other fantastic hotels we stayed in on the Garden Route.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spursfanlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear spursfanlondon

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your check in process with the Boardwalk Hotel. I have investigated the matter and the following was brought to my attention:

The information I received from the receptionist that assisted you on arrival is the following:
The guest identified herself as the Roach Family, which had 3 bookings in the system on the RACKRATE.
She was checked in and we charged for the 3 rooms as per company procedure.
A few minutes later, the guest came down with a booking.com confirmation and it had the following surname: Brenner Roach Lucian and we also had these bookings on the system
We then cancelled the bookings made directly with the hotel and honoured the booking.com reservations. We refunded the guest the difference.

As you can see from the above we had confusion not only with the rates but also with the different surnames given. Thankfully we picked up the mistake from our side and rectified it immediately.
Once again please accept our apology and we trust that you will look at this as an isolated incident.

We trust that you would return to the Boardwalk Hotel in the near future again.

Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here for Ironman race, for which it was the perfect hotel. (Registration, dinners etc were held here and race start and transition were just across the rd) Service was what you would expect from a 5* hotel... Fantastic! We were put in a non sea facing room and requested to be moved at the last minute to a sea view room. Which they did. Breakfasts were amazing, one could request things like eggs Benedict etc at no extra cost. We also appreciated the evening turn down service. Looking forward to staying there again!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MichFehrsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear MichFehrsen
Thank you for the positive feedback on our hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed every moment with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for the Ironman next year.
Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have only one regret: we did not stay long enough to appreciate this great to its full value. We only stayed 1 night at the start of or Garden Route trip and it was a great start. Large room, large and beautiful bathroom with bath and shower.
The restaurant offered great food and a good choice of wines at affordable prices. Excellent breakfast with as much choice as you could dream.
Excellent service all the way. Great staff.
If we ever come back to Port Elizabeth we will definitely stay at this hotel and for more than 1 day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gallia53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Gallia53
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for a longer period. Wishing you a wonderful day.
Kind Regards
The Boardwalk Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

As soon as we arrived we were well looked after from the porter and reception on checking in.
The room was large and well furnished as was the bathroom. The bed was really comfortable and it was a delight to be there. Breakfast was superb with a large choice and again we were well looked after by excellent staff.

The car park is underneath the hotel and one benefit is that it is out of the sun and not roasting hot when we got in to leave. it is also free to hotel guests. This is our third short visit to Port Elizabeth and the Boardwalk Hotel is one of the best we have stayed in anywhere.
.
We also had treatments at Africology Spa and it was also very good

My only regret was that I had only booked for one night. Two or three would have been ideal and I hope that we will have the opportunity to stay again sometime in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear PhillipF

Your feedback is most valuable to us and we thank you for taking the time to complete such a wonderful review on our property.

We trust that you will visit our property again and that your next stay will be as memorable as the last.

Have a wonderful day.

Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was our first nights stop after flying to port Elizabeth from Cape Town,before
Driving back to cape town on the Garden route.The hotel was probably one of the
Best we have ever stayed in, it was perfect in every way, a short drive from the
Airport, but a little confusing to find, based on the address I was given, it is situated
Across the street from the ocean, with a variety of restaurants on the doorstep.
Plus a casino which we never ventured into.

Room Tip: Our room was picked for us, which was facing the ocean, it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney_a38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Sydney_a38

Thank you for this wonderful review, we are so pleased to see that you rate us so highly.
We will be sure to share this review with the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future again. We trust that your next stay will be longer and as memorable as the last.

Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Had a first floor room with large balcony. All mod cons in room. Walk in shower, bath, king size bed, desk, wall TV. Also a safe provided. Outside swimming pool unheated but lovely location overlooking the sea. Indoor pool which is heated. Shops and restaurants very close by. Fountain light show early evening - not quite Las Vegas but not bad. Had buffet meal in hotel restaurant which was excellent. The two of us paid £15 each for meal with a bottle of wine. Lovely service and friendly staff.
No shaver sockets in bathroom but one UK socket available. Breakfast was excellent - rates with the best we have had. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisatholly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Chrisatholly

Thank you for staying with us recently and your feedback is most valuable to us.

We really appreciate you taking the time to help us enhance our services. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
The Boardwalk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is the best 5 star resort I have ever stayed in whole my life. Amazing place with amazing interiors and amazing rooms. This property will not disappoint you in any way.

This has a casino, amusement park, shopping complex, theater etc within the complex so you will have all the experiences in one place. Must stay if you want an amazing experience and are willing to pay for it.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the sea / pier - suit your choice of the view you prefer from different levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumbaiPradeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear MumbaiDarshan

Thank you for staying with us recently and your feedback is most valuable to us.

We really appreciate you taking the time to help us enhance our services. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
The Boardwalk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.1 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#8 of 13 in Summerstrand
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
338 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
#1 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boardwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boardwalk Hotel

Address: Corner Lodge & Beach Road | Port Elizabeth, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range: £123 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boardwalk Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre and Spa charmingly captures the grace and detail of Victorian architecture whilst incorporating every modern convenience. The result is a refreshing blend of refinement and urban vogue set against the azure backdrop of the Indian Ocean. Boasting 140 sea-facing guestrooms with an average room size of 39m², the hotel's unique variety of accommodation options satisfy every requirement and offer modern conveniences such as plasma screen TVs, luxurious beds, mini bars and bijou balconies. The 5 Star Boardwalk Hotel is the most exciting leisure attraction in the Eastern Cape, offering 24-hour entertainment and superior conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Boardwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boardwalk Hotel Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing