We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boardwalk Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Boardwalk Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The perfect hotel to relax in after a long flight from the UK. The Boardwalk Hotel is very comfortable with friendly, helpful staff. The bedroom and bathroom were spacious and well furnished. I particularly liked the Molton Brown toiletries and free Wi-Fi is always a bonus. There is a good choice of restaurants and gift shops in close proximity and the precinct is pleasant and safe to stroll around of an evening. The water and light show at 8:00 pm is also worth watching. We enjoyed a delicious meal in the bar along with a couple of glasses of my favourite South African wine whilst being entertained by an accomplished musician. For breakfast there is a vast selection on the buffet and you can also order various cooked options.

It is a shame we were only there for one night and I would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravelling49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge_300, Executive Secretary at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear LoveTravelling 49

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey, it is most valued!

We are absolutely thrilled about your positive feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the various other delights the Boardwalk Complex has on offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back, trusting your next stay will be as memorable as the last.

Kindest Regards,
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    107
    28
    8
    6
See reviews for
72
198
17
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel was an absolute treat, from start to finish. Perfectly situated, totally luxurious. The service was world-class. The beds were so comfortable, it was a chore getting up in the morning! I wouldn't stay anywhere else in PE. And the hotel was so kids-friendly, the whole family enjoyed an unforgetable experience. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge_300, Executive Secretary at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Nicky G

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey, your feedback is most valued!

We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back, trusting your next stay will be as memorable as the last.

Kindest Regards,
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damme, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Unfortunately we could only stay for one night at the Boardwalk. We found the hotel to be huge, the rooms very comfortable and the staff, all of them, were very friendly and helpfull!
Our booking via the internet went through without any hick-up.
And, aah, those beds! After 4 weeks of touring and sleeping in different beds more or less every 2nd night those beds were heaven!!! And don't miss the breakfast!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge_300, Executive Secretary at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Hans D H

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey, your positive feedback regarding our friendly & helpful service is most valued!

We are also absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that sleeping in our beds offered the necessary heavenly bliss! We look forward to welcoming you back again for a longer stay

Kindest Regards,
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

What a pleasure to stay at this stunning, 5 star seaside property in PE!

From the food, to the stunning and comfortable room everything was just divine! The service was top class! and I just loved the bath tub...so relaxing after a long day.

Felt like Royalty from beginning to end... :-)

Thank you to all the staff and the GM Ms Kotze for a fabulous stay in PE! will definitely be back when next in town.

Room Tip: choose sea facing - for the divine view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJaxBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge_300, Executive Secretary at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Jacqui C

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey, your feedback is most valued!

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the 'top class' service from our staff and that they made you feel like Royalty throughout your stay. Mrs Kotze and her team trust your next stay will be as memorable as the last.

Kindest Regards,
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed the suite.
The staff were consistently helpful - even when we locked ourselves out of our room.
Everything we requested was always received with "no problem, madam", and this excellent service was what really made the stay 5*
The buffet breakfast was very good, and special requests were also dealt with promptly.
Waking up to a view of the ocean each morning was a real luxury - we would definitely stay again, and have no hesitation in recommending to others; indeed we already have done!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anoif8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge_300, Executive Secretary at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Anoif8

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey, your feedback is most valued! We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed our helpful staff, delicious breakfast & the beautiful ocean view our hotel offers. Looking forward to welcoming you back again

Kindest Regards,
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hotel itself was very nice and the rooms had great views of the Indian Ocean. However, the booking process was the most stressful I have ever experienced. I booked through booking.com, got a confirmation that we had booked 3 rooms for one night and thought that was it. Oh no, a day later, I get an email from Sun International, stating that I had to pay in advance (first time ever on booking.com) so I emailed back with my credit card details. Another email arrived saying that my credit card had been refused, so I called them and was re-directed a dozen times. Eventually, they said that my reservation would be cancelled, so I re-sent card details, having spoken at great expense to my credit card company in the UK to check that the card would not be stopped. The same thing happened - threats to cancel reservation and the insistence that the card was not valid. So I decided to do nothing and turn up anyway. We duly turned up and our reservation was still there but we were charged over 8000.00 rand at check in. I queried this as our booking.com booking had said it would be 5750.00 rand. They apologised and said they would honour this original quote. Turns out, not only did they try to overcharge us but my card details had gone through twice (!!!) so I had already paid upfront for 2 of the 3 rooms so they were going to charge us twice!! The reception staff did sort it out for us, but it was a very sour end to our travels in South Africa. 6 other hotels, booked and paid for with no problem on our route and then the Boardwalk.
Other than this, I would warn guests that the massages in the Africology Spa are the worst I had in South Africa...hurried and not to a good standard at all.

The rooms were fine, although the key cards kept de-activating.

The restaurant, Kiplings Brassserie was average. However, the breakfasts were outstanding.

All in all, if you need a hotel with a great view, near the airport, it is fine - but they could certainly learn something from some of the other fantastic hotels we stayed in on the Garden Route.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spursfanlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear spursfanlondon

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your check in process with the Boardwalk Hotel. I have investigated the matter and the following was brought to my attention:

The information I received from the receptionist that assisted you on arrival is the following:
The guest identified herself as the Roach Family, which had 3 bookings in the system on the RACKRATE.
She was checked in and we charged for the 3 rooms as per company procedure.
A few minutes later, the guest came down with a booking.com confirmation and it had the following surname: Brenner Roach Lucian and we also had these bookings on the system
We then cancelled the bookings made directly with the hotel and honoured the booking.com reservations. We refunded the guest the difference.

As you can see from the above we had confusion not only with the rates but also with the different surnames given. Thankfully we picked up the mistake from our side and rectified it immediately.
Once again please accept our apology and we trust that you will look at this as an isolated incident.

We trust that you would return to the Boardwalk Hotel in the near future again.

Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for Ironman race, for which it was the perfect hotel. (Registration, dinners etc were held here and race start and transition were just across the rd) Service was what you would expect from a 5* hotel... Fantastic! We were put in a non sea facing room and requested to be moved at the last minute to a sea view room. Which they did. Breakfasts were amazing, one could request things like eggs Benedict etc at no extra cost. We also appreciated the evening turn down service. Looking forward to staying there again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MichFehrsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear MichFehrsen
Thank you for the positive feedback on our hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed every moment with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for the Ironman next year.
Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.8 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#10 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#8 of 13 in Summerstrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
#2 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boardwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boardwalk Hotel

Property: The Boardwalk Hotel
Address: Corner Lodge & Beach Road | Port Elizabeth, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#2 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boardwalk Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre and Spa charmingly captures the grace and detail of Victorian architecture whilst incorporating every modern convenience. The result is a refreshing blend of refinement and urban vogue set against the azure backdrop of the Indian Ocean. Boasting 140 sea-facing guestrooms with an average room size of 39m², the hotel's unique variety of accommodation options satisfy every requirement and offer modern conveniences such as plasma screen TVs, luxurious beds, mini bars and bijou balconies. The 5 Star Boardwalk Hotel is the most exciting leisure attraction in the Eastern Cape, offering 24-hour entertainment and superior conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Boardwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boardwalk Hotel Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing