We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great 5* Hotel in Port Elizabeth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boardwalk Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights whilst in Port Elizabeth for the South Africa/Australia cricket series.
located about 6 kilometres from Port Elizabeth The Boardwalk hotel is a real gem. It is a very modern hotel with a period exterior, very new (opened in December 2012) it is truly a five star property. The entrance is at the rear of the buildings off it's own driveway, it is and entrance in grand style, reception was very well handled by friendly and efficient staff. The rooms, which all face the sea are very stylish, large in size with big bathrooms and in mine on the top floor two big sliding doors onto a Juliet balcony. Free bottled water, free WiFi, Molton Brown Toiletries and large wardrobe space. The breakfast served on the lobby level was very, very good with a huge buffet selection and an a la carte menu as good as I have seen anywhere, excellent service and great coffee. At the rear of the hotel is the Casino which I didn't try and the boardwalk itself which is filled with restaurants, eateries and souvenir shops catering to just about all tastes, there is a Convention Centre on site and a couple of upmarket restaurants in the hotel itself.
The only downside to my stay was a boiler in the roof above my room burst during my final night and flooded my bathroom, not a good start to the day, but the hotel staff responded quickly and cleaned it up as best they could and found me another room in which to shower before my departure. Would I stay again? Absolutely! Would I recommend to others? Absolutely. Without any doubt the best hotel I stayed in in South Africa.

Room Tip: No tips, from what I saw all the rooms are very good, and all face the ocean. It is not a high rise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnthepom0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge_300, Executive Secretary at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Johnthepom0001

Many thanks for your detailed and positive review!

It is very unfortunate that a boiler malfunction above your room caused some flooding in your bathroom, but we are so pleased that you were satisfied with the quick response and recovery measures taken.

We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back, trusting your next stay will be as memorable as the last.

Kindest Regards,
The Boardwalk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

All the rooms got a great sea view & ours was magnificent. Very comfortable room & a luxurious bathroom. Breakfast was excellent. Casino was a lot of fun. Safe & free undercover parking. Hotel also have free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WynandF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge_300, Executive Secretary at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear WynandF

We are absolutely thrilled about your positive feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the various other delights the Boardwalk Complex has on offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back, trusting your next stay will be as memorable as the last.

Kindest Regards,
The Boardwalk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We've stayed in many luxury hotels over the years travelling the world and this has to be right up there with the best. From the grand entrance, welcoming check-in to the magnificent rooms. Luxury at its finest. The breakfast was superb and nothing was too much trouble. Do try and spend a night or two here it is worth the self indulgence.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulsa60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge_300, Executive Secretary at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Paulsa60

We are absolutely thrilled about your positive feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back, trusting your next stay will be as memorable as the last.

Kindest Regards,
The Boardwalk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was one of the better hotels we stayed at in Sth Africa with the best bathroom ever. The bath was so big.
The rooms were large and very very comfortable.
The food in the restaurant was excellent and the casino area was worth a look.
Would go there again and again.
The breakfast was superb in every way possible.

Room Tip: Make sure that you enjoy the huge bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge_300, Executive Secretary at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Greg S

We are absolutely thrilled about your positive feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the various other delights the Boardwalk Complex has on offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back, trusting your next stay will be as memorable as the last.

Kindest Regards,
The Boardwalk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Spent 3 very good nights at the boardwalk at the end of April. It is centrally located, the staff good, and the rooms excellent. It is always great to get free parking and wifi.the only slightly downside is that it is a bit expensive in South African terms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge_300, Executive Secretary at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Terry F

We sincerely appreciate your positive review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! Looking forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay with us.

Kindest Regards,
The Boardwalk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The perfect hotel to relax in after a long flight from the UK. The Boardwalk Hotel is very comfortable with friendly, helpful staff. The bedroom and bathroom were spacious and well furnished. I particularly liked the Molton Brown toiletries and free Wi-Fi is always a bonus. There is a good choice of restaurants and gift shops in close proximity and the precinct is pleasant and safe to stroll around of an evening. The water and light show at 8:00 pm is also worth watching. We enjoyed a delicious meal in the bar along with a couple of glasses of my favourite South African wine whilst being entertained by an accomplished musician. For breakfast there is a vast selection on the buffet and you can also order various cooked options.

It is a shame we were only there for one night and I would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTravelling49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge_300, Executive Secretary at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear LoveTravelling 49

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey, it is most valued!

We are absolutely thrilled about your positive feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the various other delights the Boardwalk Complex has on offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back, trusting your next stay will be as memorable as the last.

Kindest Regards,
The Boardwalk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel was an absolute treat, from start to finish. Perfectly situated, totally luxurious. The service was world-class. The beds were so comfortable, it was a chore getting up in the morning! I wouldn't stay anywhere else in PE. And the hotel was so kids-friendly, the whole family enjoyed an unforgetable experience. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge_300, Executive Secretary at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Nicky G

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey, your feedback is most valued!

We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back, trusting your next stay will be as memorable as the last.

Kindest Regards,
The Boardwalk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.1 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
126 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
#1 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boardwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boardwalk Hotel

Address: Corner Lodge & Beach Road | Port Elizabeth, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#2 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range: £121 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boardwalk Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre and Spa charmingly captures the grace and detail of Victorian architecture whilst incorporating every modern convenience. The result is a refreshing blend of refinement and urban vogue set against the azure backdrop of the Indian Ocean. Boasting 140 sea-facing guestrooms with an average room size of 39m², the hotel's unique variety of accommodation options satisfy every requirement and offer modern conveniences such as plasma screen TVs, luxurious beds, mini bars and bijou balconies. The 5 Star Boardwalk Hotel is the most exciting leisure attraction in the Eastern Cape, offering 24-hour entertainment and superior conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The Boardwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boardwalk Hotel Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing