We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the Windy City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boardwalk Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I recently stayed in The Boardwalk Hotel, and really enjoyed it. Lovely rooms, lovely staff. Ask anyone for tips on what to do during the day! Lovely, quiet pool area, with bar - very unique!location is great - on the beach, and close to a lot of things.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liesel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge_300, Hotel Executive Secretary at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Liesel M,

We sincerely appreciate your positive review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! Looking forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay with us.

Kindest Regards,
The Boardwalk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

The spa is incredible but little pricey.
The food is good, the rooms spacious. Port Elizabeth needed a good corporate hotel and this is it.
The staff are helpful. You have a casino next to the Boardwalk hotel if you need to gamble...
May be the can hire out some deck chairs if you want to go to the beach.

It is not a boutique hotel - much more corporate, but relaxed.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the sea and with a balcony opening on the swimming pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anneli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge_300, Hotel Executive Secretary at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Anneli B,

We are absolutely thrilled that you consider our hotel to be a relaxed, yet corporate, environment and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the beach/deck chairs & our spa's pricing structure, it has been forwarded to the relevant managers for consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you back, trusting your next stay will be as memorable as the last.

Kindest Regards,
The Boardwalk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

What an amazing hotel. Great personal service and world class facilities. Has still not yet been rated. But should be a 6 star for a 4 star price. I was very pleasantly surprised. But don't get up too early, this is a sleepy town, and a bit slow on breakfast service first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge_300, Hotel Executive Secretary at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Adrian C,

We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back, trusting your next stay will be as memorable as the last.

Kindest Regards,
The Boardwalk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just returned from a business trip to Port Elizabeth and stayed at The Boardwalk. I am now looking for a reason to return! Wonderful hotel and staff. Great food and beautiful rooms at fantastic value for UK residents exchanging pounds for the Rand.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who the management should be very proud of and the quality of the hotel is reflected in every area. So if you are visiting the wonderful game parks all within a short drive, want to relax on the beaches within minutes and want to have access to a spa and casino try The Boardwalk. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are luxurious and the higher the better for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge_300, Executive Secretary at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear brian a,

We sincerely appreciate your positive review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful hotel! Looking forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay with us.

Kindest Regards,
The Boardwalk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I started out at another property which was highly rated, but checked out in less than an hour after having a poor experience. The staff at the Boardwalk sent a car to pick me up from the other property and bring me over late at night, checking me in quickly to a gorgeous room with a beautiful view. The property is very clean, well maintained, and beautifully appointed.

I was surprised to see the property is very similar in style, decor and amenities to Walt Disney World Orlando's Boardwalk Resort, which is one of the high end properties at WDW. The Boardwalk Port Elizabeth rivals this big brand luxury resort quite nicely.

The food is fresh and room service is excellent. I had the Asian Barbecue Chicken sandwich from room service. It was more like American-Asian fusion - like a club sandwich with a twist. It was excellent. Even the garden salad was excellent. The prices are extremely reasonable.

The property is safe, clean, and very quiet. The rooms have an excellent view and wi-fi is included. The staff is second to none! They are incredible! I would not even consider staying anywhere else in PE. First rate!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge_300, Executive Secretary at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Lisa S,

We sincerely appreciate your positive review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! Looking forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay with us.

Kindest Regards,
The Boardwalk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

An awesome hotel with the most amazing staff and GM. Every whim and need was serviced to perfect satisfaction. Beautiful rooms, fantastic food and the best location in PE. You will not want for anything more once you set foot through the front door.

Room Tip: Business and leisure destination on a par with the best there is to offer in the Cape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge_300, Executive Secretary at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Craig S

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the 'top class' service from our staff throughout your stay. Mrs Kotze and her team trust your next stay in our beautiful hotel will be as memorable as the last.

Kindest Regards,
The Boardwalk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights whilst in Port Elizabeth for the South Africa/Australia cricket series.
located about 6 kilometres from Port Elizabeth The Boardwalk hotel is a real gem. It is a very modern hotel with a period exterior, very new (opened in December 2012) it is truly a five star property. The entrance is at the rear of the buildings off it's own driveway, it is and entrance in grand style, reception was very well handled by friendly and efficient staff. The rooms, which all face the sea are very stylish, large in size with big bathrooms and in mine on the top floor two big sliding doors onto a Juliet balcony. Free bottled water, free WiFi, Molton Brown Toiletries and large wardrobe space. The breakfast served on the lobby level was very, very good with a huge buffet selection and an a la carte menu as good as I have seen anywhere, excellent service and great coffee. At the rear of the hotel is the Casino which I didn't try and the boardwalk itself which is filled with restaurants, eateries and souvenir shops catering to just about all tastes, there is a Convention Centre on site and a couple of upmarket restaurants in the hotel itself.
The only downside to my stay was a boiler in the roof above my room burst during my final night and flooded my bathroom, not a good start to the day, but the hotel staff responded quickly and cleaned it up as best they could and found me another room in which to shower before my departure. Would I stay again? Absolutely! Would I recommend to others? Absolutely. Without any doubt the best hotel I stayed in in South Africa.

Room Tip: No tips, from what I saw all the rooms are very good, and all face the ocean. It is not a high rise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnthepom0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge_300, Executive Secretary at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Johnthepom0001

Many thanks for your detailed and positive review!

It is very unfortunate that a boiler malfunction above your room caused some flooding in your bathroom, but we are so pleased that you were satisfied with the quick response and recovery measures taken.

We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back, trusting your next stay will be as memorable as the last.

Kindest Regards,
The Boardwalk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth Marine
0.1 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
#1 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
131 reviews
1 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boardwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boardwalk Hotel

Address: Corner Lodge & Beach Road | Port Elizabeth, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#2 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range: £128 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boardwalk Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre and Spa charmingly captures the grace and detail of Victorian architecture whilst incorporating every modern convenience. The result is a refreshing blend of refinement and urban vogue set against the azure backdrop of the Indian Ocean. Boasting 140 sea-facing guestrooms with an average room size of 39m², the hotel's unique variety of accommodation options satisfy every requirement and offer modern conveniences such as plasma screen TVs, luxurious beds, mini bars and bijou balconies. The 5 Star Boardwalk Hotel is the most exciting leisure attraction in the Eastern Cape, offering 24-hour entertainment and superior conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The Boardwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boardwalk Hotel Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing