We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, very friendly staff, little noisy ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
Utrecht
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, very friendly staff, little noisy ”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Our private room was very clean and spacious. Even a blow dryer was provided, a luxury when backpacking! The shower was great. We would like to thank Eve for perfectly arranging our stay and our transfer! When the taxi broke down and we were running a little late, she even called to make sure we were ok!

The only downside of this hostel is, that it can be very noisy. When people are talking loudly or singing The Lion Sleeps Tonight in the jacuzzi at 3 a.m., you can expect to hear it very clearly in your room. Tip: bring ear plugs if you love to sleep. :)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lijnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Good day!!

Thank you for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed the luxury backpacking experience!
We deeply apologize for the noise problem. We had to ask those guests to leave and stay in a different place, because we are in a residential area and try to keep the noise levels down. We are so sorry if they disturbed your sleep!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    69
    23
    16
    11
See reviews for
40
39
44
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port elizabeth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Well what can I say.. We visited Addo elephant national park and we saw 6 male lions (yes I know I couldn't believe it either) dozens of herds of elephants, buffalo, zebra, warthogs and so many more! Fantastic reserve, with a great restaurant which is reasonably priced! But I don't think we would of had a brilliant day, without our guide Kevin! He was friendly, helpful, professional and so passionate about his job and the protection of the animals! He knew all the great spots to find the animals and was the most amazing experience I've had in Africa!
Thank you so much!
The hostel is brilliant. It's clean, spacious, excellent facilities and great location!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SiobhanPadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Good day!

We are so glad that you had a good stay with us and had an awesome Addo experience!!
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Island Vibe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The experience I had I mean still enjoying because I am not checked out yet, is the best. Back packing is the future especially if it's done the Island Vibes PE way.

The lady at front desk (Eve) she is helpful, knowledgeable about the surrounding and very pleasant. I doubt anyone leave without being friends with her. Keep up the good work Eve!
Great location!
Great people!
Cost close to nothing!

Thank you.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Phindingcobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Good day!

We are so glad you had a good stay with us! We will pass on your praise to Eve and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We spend there 4 nights at En suite room.
The place is very nice and clean,
Big kitchen with all the machines you might need, games room, jacussi and swiming pool.
Staff was very nice and helpful.
Five minutes walking to the beach
and about 15 minutes to the nearest market(Pick'n'Pay).

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Good day, Shai!

Thank you for your great review! We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München, Deutschland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We just stay one night at the Island Vibe Backpackers after a flight from Durban .
Backpacker is close by the airport and close by the Beach in a nice and save area .
Staff was very friendly , backpacker was clean and cool with the Whirlpool and the Big Pool outside in the Garden . Everything was good and okay .
Good place if you wanna stay just one night or longer .

Next time when we are in Port Elizabeth we will stay again.

Thanks to all the nice and super friendly staff .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romario1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Good day!

Thank you for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed the Jacuzzi and swimming pool, and that our staff treated you well.
See you again soon!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay here a lot and the staff were really nice and helpful in booking me on the addo trip at the last minute! Very clean and spacious with a big pool and snooker table as well as dstv which enabled me to watch the football in the evening. Would reccomend to anyone staying in port elizabeth

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisGreenwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hi Chris

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Island Vibe in Port Elizabeth and Jeffreys Bay! We hope the Addo trip was great.
See you again soon.

Kind regards,
Island Vibe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibenik, Croatia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I REALLY don't want to leave This place but i have to
GREAT location in a very nice neighborhood, 3 minutes walk from the sand dunes esplanade along the beach front.
Very specious and clean place.
Nice Jacuzzi area to relax the sore muscles, of long hours sitting in a car.
Beautiful big swimming pool in a very nice back garden.
The atmosphere is very easy going and relaxing.
Stuff - Eve & Freddy are full of smiles and very helpful!
For you guys who passing through Port Elizabeth I would recommend to stop and stay in this best Flash packer I've stayed up to now around S.A. (-:
Yoshi

Room Tip: all are specious airy and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YOshiman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hi Yoshi!

Thank you for your review! We are sorry you had to leave, but the jacuzzi and swimming pool await your return!
Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
1.9 mi away
Kings Beach Backpackers
Kings Beach Backpackers
#31 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
34 reviews
1.3 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airpor...
#24 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
53 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#16 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
230 reviews
1.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vibe Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vibe Port Elizabeth

Property: Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
Address: 4 Jenvey Road, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Vibe Port Elizabeth 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth has luxurious and spacious accommodation at affordable Flashpacker prices! Dorms, Double rooms or private apartments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Island Vibe Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing