We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carslogie House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carslogie House
Ranked #4 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Our tour operator had booked us in Carslogie for one night only. We were really surprised when we were shown our room, what comfort and attention to detail. A beautiful pool and garden area surrounded by the 5 bedrooms each with a small patio area, a lovely place to relax and unwind.
Both the owners and staff were very friendly and the breakfast very enjoyable.
We were only dissapointed that we had to leave after only a few hours. We would definately recommend Carslogie House and if ever we are in Port Elizabeth again will head straight there.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    49
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
172
18
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Woods, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We had a fantastic 5 day stay in a very comfortable atmosphere with immaculate rooms, bedding and service. The owner, Christine went out of her way to ensure our stay was nothing but the best. We would highly recommend Carslogie Lodge and we will be back to enjoy another stay with them in the future…..! Steve & Joy

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

From the start, our stay at Carslogie House was lovely! Warm and welcoming, the reception was a taste of the rest of the luxury to come! Lounging by the pool in the sun or having a siesta on the super comfortable beds, Carslogie provided much needed tranquility! Definitely recommended to anyone going to Port Elizabeth and who enjoy the finer things in life.

Room Tip: some rooms only have showers, inquire beforehand!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

An excellent guesthouse in a popular part of Port Elizabeth.
We arrived later in the evening but were met with a lovely, welcoming smile from Christine. The room was beautiful- the bed comfortable with plump, inviting pillows and throws. The room was spacious and we enjoyed the five star dressing gown/slipper treatment! The breakfast was tasty and served by smiling employees- the only gripe (our fault) is that we could not stay longer and relax by the pool- hopefully another time maybe? The recomendation of the restaurant (Der Kelder) was excellent and we walked in safety back to the hotel (the guest house location is a quiet neighbourhood away from the Summerstrand bustle). Thank you Christne and family for a wonderfuly stay!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esther o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Not only is Carslogie House beautiful and tastefully decorated, it has an amazing and relaxed atmosphere. Our hosts, Christien and Chris went the extra mile to make us feel welcome and cared for. It was the perfect home-away-from-home with all the added comforts and luxuries. I can definitely recommend it and will definitely be back. Christien and Chris, thank you for making our stay Carslogie House one that we won't forget soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan-Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Every attention to detail in the rooms. lovely personal touches. Breakfast delicious. Rooms 1 and 3 are small and only have double beds, small cupboard in room 1, so best suited to individuals. I was disappointed we were placed in the smaller rooms as a family of 4 booking 2 rooms when individuals were placed in the larger rooms. I was under the impression all rooms had a queen size bed at least. It seems rooms are allocated on a first come first serve basis or are reserved for regulars. We were able to move to room 5 for 3 nights which was more comfortable, but then we had to move back to a smaller room. Not quite the 5 star service i was expecting. Rooms are around the pool so not as quite as i would have wanted but considering it';s December it's understandable..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InspiredParenting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carslogie, Owner at Carslogie House, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
I am very pleased that these guests enjoyed the attention to detail which Carslogie House is well known for. Unfortunately the review states incorrectly that the beds in the rooms they occupied were double beds. They are, in fact queen size beds. All guests are treated equally and our policy is not to inconvenience guests who have asked for specific rooms with specific requirements,eg, king/twin beds, triple room and bookings made well in advance. Upon making this booking, these guests were informed that the only rooms available were rooms 1 and 3 and that they had queen beds. They were happy to accept these rooms under these circumstances. It would have been most unfair to have inconvenienced the other guests, whom have made their bookings months in advance, specifying twin/king/triple rooms, in order to accommodate this family who only made their booking after the rest of the rooms had already been booked, some since the beginning of 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Carslogie will be a place I return to if I come back to South Africa. I did read a complaint in another review about it not being "luxury". Come one. Everything is relative to the rates. This is a solid accommodation given the reasonable rates. I was completely spoiled by South African service at small guest houses and Carslogie was no exception. Friendliness and willingness to help were the order of the day. This can become habit forming!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEmDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.5 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.4 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carslogie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carslogie House

Property: Carslogie House
Address: 11 7th Avenue, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carslogie House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Carslogie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carslogie House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing