We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Carslogie has become my home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carslogie House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carslogie House
Ranked #4 of 42 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Carslogie has become my home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Carslogie has become my home from home over the last two years as I travel to PE often for work. Christine and Keri are always friendly and sincere and have gone out of their way to accommodate me on every occasion that I have stayed there. The thing that makes Carslogie stand out from other accommodation in the area is the sense of home you get when you stay there but combined with beautiful rooms and impeccable attention to detail and little comforts. I love the fruit salad at breakfast (I don’t know how they get it to so delicious) and the wonderful conversations I have had in the dining room in the morning with Christine, Keri and the other guests have made PE one of my favourite business trips. In short if you are looking for beautiful, comfortable, friendly accommodation where attention to detail is everywhere, and then I can recommend you stay at Carslogie.

Room Tip: Room 3- my favourite room for winter- cosy and the wall mounted heater makes the room lovely and war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    50
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
173
18
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Fantastic B&B.
My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Carslogie.
Friendly staff, the décor is beautiful and the rooms are spotless!
We would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boksburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Brilliant staff,helpful and friendly. Really felt like home away from home. I would highly recommend this beautiful bed and breakfast to anyone from S.A. or abroad to check in and stay the night. A hearty thank you to all who helped make my stay so memorable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidig859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlestone
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

a wonderful b/b superb & tasteful rooms. Very clean & nice little touches with sherry/ loverly bisciuts in the room. Very helpful reccommending restuarants & nothing was too much trouble. The bed was very comfortable & clean delightful setting with the pool. Would highly recommend this b/b to anyone

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Our tour operator had booked us in Carslogie for one night only. We were really surprised when we were shown our room, what comfort and attention to detail. A beautiful pool and garden area surrounded by the 5 bedrooms each with a small patio area, a lovely place to relax and unwind.
Both the owners and staff were very friendly and the breakfast very enjoyable.
We were only dissapointed that we had to leave after only a few hours. We would definately recommend Carslogie House and if ever we are in Port Elizabeth again will head straight there.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Woods, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We had a fantastic 5 day stay in a very comfortable atmosphere with immaculate rooms, bedding and service. The owner, Christine went out of her way to ensure our stay was nothing but the best. We would highly recommend Carslogie Lodge and we will be back to enjoy another stay with them in the future…..! Steve & Joy

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

From the start, our stay at Carslogie House was lovely! Warm and welcoming, the reception was a taste of the rest of the luxury to come! Lounging by the pool in the sun or having a siesta on the super comfortable beds, Carslogie provided much needed tranquility! Definitely recommended to anyone going to Port Elizabeth and who enjoy the finer things in life.

Room Tip: some rooms only have showers, inquire beforehand!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.6 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.4 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 42 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carslogie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carslogie House

Property: Carslogie House
Address: 11 7th Avenue, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carslogie House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Carslogie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carslogie House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing