We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful guest house!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palm Beach Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 44 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful guest house!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

As a visiting family from the US on a long road trip throughout South Africa, we discovered the Palm Beach Guesthouse by driving around Summerstrand and found its location and exterior appearance quite appealing. Once we saw the inside of the guest house, we knew it would be perfect for our family of four. Our two-bedroom suite was very spacious, extremely clean, and quite quiet. The views of the beach and bay were excellent. The breakfast was delicious and was served in a lovely, sun-filled dining room. And the innkeepers were accommodating and gracious. All in all, the Palm Beach Guesthouse proved to be a perfect place to stop and relax in Port Elizabeth and a great jumping-off point for a visit to Addo Elephant National Park.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmbeachguesthouse, Owner at Palm Beach Guesthouse, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Nick and Family,

Thank you for the lovely review and thank you for choosing to stay at our Guesthouse. We are so happy that you all enjoyed your stay with us at Palm Beach Guesthouse and we hope that the rest of your time in South Africa was enjoyable too.

We hope to welcome you back when you are next in South Africa.

Warm and Kind Regards
Palm Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    34
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
35
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordview
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is the 4th time that we have stayed here over the Iron Man Triathlon. The rooms are always clean and very comfortable. There is always an excellent breakfast served. Friendly management and staff

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmbeachguesthouse, Owner at Palm Beach Guesthouse, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thanks Sue for the lovely feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back for Ironman 2015.

Kind Regards
Palm Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potchefstroom, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Very friendly and accomodative service. The exceptional view and the fact that it is a few meters from the sea is just an added bonus.The breakfast was exceptional and will satisfy any taste. The cosy lapa allows you to relax with the sea in the background!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MollyvanNiekerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmbeachguesthouse, Owner at Palm Beach Guesthouse, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Molly,
Thank you for the lovely review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Palm Beach Guesthouse and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to the friendly city.

Kind Regards
Palm Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We were in PE for a couple of nights between trips. This was the perfect place to relax for a couple of days. Our sea facing room was spacious and comfortable with sofas, dining table and a small kitchen and we enjoyed the small pool. Breakfast was delicious. Winston was so helpful in offering tours, advice and suggestions about restaurants. A taxi to the airport was arranged for us. The laundry service was great. The seafront is just a few steps away and we enjoyed strolling along the boardwalk and on the beach.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ellimay63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmbeachguesthouse, Owner at Palm Beach Guesthouse, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for the lovely review, we appreciate all the comments that you have made.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Palm Beach Guesthouse and that we could be of assistance to you during your trip to SA. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Sunny South Africa.

Kind Regards
Palm Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon's Town, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Very comfortable and so convenient to beach and shops. Winston looked after our every need. Even suggested a change in room to cater for our age.Thank you for a great stay. Will definitely recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmbeachguesthouse, Owner at Palm Beach Guesthouse, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Michael,
Thank you for the lovely review and kind comments.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Palm Beach Guesthouse and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to the friendly city.

Kind Regards
Palm Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The owner of the guesthouse owner was very courteous and offers us a very nice sightseeing trip to come in close touch with land and peoples
The rooms with its view to the pool are very quiet and confortable. We will come back, maybe next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank E O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmbeachguesthouse, Owner at Palm Beach Guesthouse, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for the lovely review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Palm Beach Guesthouse as well as the tour that you went on and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Sunny South Africa.

Kind Regards
Palm Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Winston was an excellent host. He provided us with several recommendations for lunch/dinner that were within a kilometer or two. All places had delicious food. While there, we were even able to have our laundry done. Our apartment was quite large and had everything needed. The view of the ocean from the balcony was stunning. The parking was tight, but Winston helped us with it, too. This was a wonderful break and we really enjoyed our time at the Palm Beach Guesthouse.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank frkerkhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmbeachguesthouse, Owner at Palm Beach Guesthouse, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for the lovely review.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Palm Beach Guesthouse and that you got to try out some of the lovely restaurants in the area. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Sunny South Africa.

Kind Regards
Palm Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 44 in Summerstrand
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 44 in Summerstrand
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Beach Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Guesthouse

Property: Palm Beach Guesthouse
Address: 4 Scarborough Street | Eastern Cape, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Beach Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Beach Guesthouse offers four star Bed and Breakfast or Self Catering accommodation and is superbly located metres from the beach. Palm Beach Guesthouse is conveniently situated in Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth close to shopping centers, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, The Boardwalk Casino & Conference Complex and the Humewood Golf course. The Guesthouse offers a sea facing lounge/bar & dining area that opens up onto a thatched braai (BBQ) entertainment area with a separate private swimming pool. Tasty full English & Continental Breakfasts can be enjoyed whilst admiring the sea view. Ten spacious suites are tastefully decorated and have private secure off street parking and private access. The Guesthouse caters equally for the requirements of over night business travelers, long term corporate stays, holidaymakers and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Palm Beach Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Guesthouse Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing