We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Location”

80 on Brighton Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Summerstrand
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
80 on Brighton Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 44 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
2 reviews
“Magnificent Location”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Thank you Jac for a beautiful 5 star stay in PE! Your flexibility and thoughtfulness is 10 stars!! We loved being able to walk to the Boardwalk. We loved tea in the garden behind the Lavender Cottage and walking to Indian Ocean sunsets. We loved your delicious French press coffee, freshest croissants and best full English breakfast of our trip. We only wish we could have stayed longer. Bettymae Brandman

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
15
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This is a B & B with a difference! Ok, the decor may be somewhat ersatz & over the top perhaps for some people's taste, but this is almost a model of how to run a B & B - it really did feel like a 5 star hotel on a B & B budget. Owner Jacs & her utterly charming staff can not do enough for you & you really get the impression that Jacs has thought of everything - we even had complimentary sherry in our room! Immacuately kept, safe grounds would make this a perfect place for a family holiday. Hotel schools should send their students here for Jacs to show them how its done... Wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavalampboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We have just returned from 3 weeks at Port Elizabet such a wonderfull place. Well heaven is the nearest word to say about this guest house, all the staff are very friendly but also professional in everything they do. The owner Jac was lovely she gave us so much information and help, regarding places to visit etc. We have stayed at many places they class as 5 star but truly if you could get 6 then this would be the place... Roll on next year for our return.. Mrs Haywood

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lilly Room overlooking the pool so spacious and a bathroom to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

One of those places that just gets everything right. Just what we needed for our trip

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDvanWyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Thanks for a lovely stay at your beautifull 5 star guest house. It's truly the best stay I ever experienced at a guest house. Although I could only stay one night, you made me feel as the only guest there with a friendly & warm welcome. The attention to the little things makes it a special place to stay, even if you're on a business trip! I loved the breakfast, with choices between the nromal cooked breakfast, but also muffins, fresh fruit - & cheese platters!

Thanks to all your staff for an Incredible Experience!

Regards
Mauritz van Renen
Cape Town

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MvRenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanzarote
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We were guided to "80 The Brighton" by friends "in the know" of THE very best places to stay in SA
From the first moment we were so disappointed ? ....that due to holiday plan commitments WE COULD ONLY STAY ONE NIGHT !!. What a MASSIVE error we made
. We would have been (doubly) content to spend at least a week.
When trying to describe the quality, hospitality and attention to detail, one can so quickly run out of superlatives. If there is just one word ( and that not nearly enough!) STUNNING ! Quickly followed by our gratitude to our host Jac.....We hope she reads this and takes a bow !
We have all (4 of us) travelled 5 star and first class around the world and NEVER surpassed this beautiful...... and so personal .....home from home. Our photos will ensure we could never forget number "80" .......Thank you and our very best wishes
Cherrill, Sandra, Malcolm and that other guy.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed here out of necessity between Safari and the flight home - turned out it was one of the best value places we stayed.

Although we'd normally prefer a modern and fashionable place, this place straddles a homely feel and a more airy approach. Despite it not being exactly to our taste we soon realised the quality of the place - loads of nice touches and a fantastic breakfast.

The owner wasn't in town when we were there, and although her staff couldn't have been more helpful, polite or friendly, it wasn't quite the same reception as normally received at a B&B.

That didn't detract from the place at all though - we thought it was great - those who prefer a more homely place would likely not want to leave!

Quick note on PE - we were passing through, but having walked up and down Summerstrand we thought we could happily have spent a night or two extra there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 36987412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.1 mi away
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
#2 of 7 in Summerstrand
200 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.8 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
266 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pine Lodge Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 80 on Brighton Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 80 on Brighton Bed and Breakfast

Property: 80 on Brighton Bed and Breakfast
Address: 80 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
80 on Brighton is a luxury bed and Breakfast situated in the up market beachfront suburb of Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth. It reflects the owner’s love of gardening, creating a tranquil, relaxed atmosphere from a bygone era, where service and a smile is commonplace and attention to detail uppermost. Your every need will be catered for whether on holiday or a business trip. Each room is individually decorated to reflect its own unique character. Set in beautifully designed tranquil gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
80 On Brighton Bed And Breakfast Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing