We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its a must”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kingfisher GuestHouse
Ranked #10 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2013

My family and I spent 6 wonderful days at Kingfischer,and without a doubt we will be back.Excellent service that truly gives you that home away from home atmosphere.The room was clean,cosy and really comfortable..considering the fact that we were four in the same room.But what truly sets Kingfischer apart for our family was Henk and Cilliers`s uplifting,warm yet professional attitude towards our family.Just lovely...Z.Moro

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zodwarene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

This is the geusthouse that gvie the best service. We were very impressed by the way we were treated. Even small things like putting on lights in the evening so that when you get back to your room it is not in darkness. Food everything is of a high class

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the Kingfisher. Henk and Cilliers are professionals. Every aspect of the Guest House is in very good taste and quality. The layout of the rooms - each with private patio; the quality of the room accessories (umbrella, gowns, slippers, magazines etc.) - All first class. The delicious breakfast needs a special mention of its own. To top all this, the personal warm attention and service of the hosts has to be experienced in order to believe that "this is how it is done".

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geeta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Kingfisher was really well positioned for our few days in PE over New year and, staying with our young family, was really convenient for a quick walk to the beach. Overall very impressive with only one small point - the unprotected pool is important to note for small children. The accommodation was extremely well appointed, very comfortable and the service, including breakfast, was simply outstanding. Dinners in the area were slightly limited but our hosts recommended some great spots within a few minutes drive.

Room Tip: Knysna room has the extra space for kids with a foldout couch and it was very helpful to have a cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warwick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

The Kingfisher is absolute pefection. It is the very best place that I have stayed away from home. Henk and Cilliers are superb hosts. We will not stay anywhere else when visiting Port Elizabeth......Donovan / Claudette / Claire

Room Tip: All rooms are absolutely fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donovan J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

What a lovely B&B - Henk and Cilliers were wonderful hosts and so accommodating! Perfectly situated. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were outstanding - always with a little home baked extra!! Would definitely recommend it and will certainly stay there whenever visiting PE!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I have stayed at the Kingfisher from september 28th to October 1st 2012.
The personal service from Henk and Cilliers was outstanding. The breafast was excellent with freshly baked muffins, fresh fruits, home made cakes, grilled tomatoes and mushrooms, eggs, etc.
The room was spacious, very clean and well organized.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
5.4 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 232 in Port Elizabeth
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor 38
Manor 38
#4 of 43 in Summerstrand
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
271 reviews
3.7 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#2 of 232 in Port Elizabeth
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher GuestHouse

Address: 73 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range: £57 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher GuestHouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for considering Kingfisher Guest House as an accommodation option during your upcoming visit to Port Elizabeth. We would be delighted to welcome you to our guest house. A personal welcome awaits you at Kingfisher Guest House, backed by our commitment of making your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. Kingfisher Guest House is situated a mere 400 m from the beautiful beaches of Port Elizabeth. The Port Elizabeth Airport is approximately 7 km away; no more than a 10-minute drive by car. A shopping centre is within walking distance from the guest house, whilst the Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Complex, just over a kilometre away, offers a variety of excellent restaurants and cuisine for all tastes. We offer rooms with either a double bed or twin rooms, which are rooms with two single beds. The choice is yours! In addition, our beds are covered in only the finest quality Egyptian cotton percale linen. All our rooms are en-suite and each room has its own private entrance and patio, all distributed around a magnificent pool with chair and table sets and recliners. Please note that the pool area is unfenced and where applicable to your familial status, you are responsible for and should take special care of any minors in your party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kingfisher GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher GuestHouse Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing