We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter @ Kingfisher”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kingfisher GuestHouse
Ranked #11 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2013

What a weekend! - we had such a great time @ Kingfisher. The service starts as soon as you arrive with a warm welcome from Cilliers and Henk - then the room- clean, perfect is every way... luxury towels/face cloths, a fully stocked hospitality tray, flat screen TV .......... the bed big and with a very comfortable mattress and again a luxury duvet. Breakfast time ....everything, from homemade muffins/bread to the full English breakfast, FRESH fruit is also available. Thank you for making us feel at home. We enjoyed our walks to the beach that is so close to you. We also enjoyed the fact that every room has it's own private area for that morning coffee,just before a view laps in your lovely swimming pool............THANK YOU IT WAS GREAT and will visit again next Easter

Room Tip: Cosy - Clouds is your room Large - Hawaii is your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizaSoutpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

Henk and Cilliers provide the best service you can expect of a guest house which you will find in every single detail, from the homemade soap to the beautifully served breakfast. The owners treat you as their personal guest: Cilliers was waiting for our late arrival and kindly helped us to fix the problem with the car rental, Henk gave us advice on the rest of our trip.
The only thing we did regret while staying there was that we couldn't stay longer.
We would recommend to start exploring the coastal part of South Africa with the stay at this amazing B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaandBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

A very warm and enthousiastic WELCOME, PERFECT rooms, PRIVATE terrace poolside, FANTASTIC breakfast and Celliers and Henk as perfect hosts - All in All, it couldn't have been better! Thanks for the great hospitality. Jeffrey's Bay was a great stop for the Beach, Thanks for the tip! marjo & Geert

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I always stay over at Kingfischer when I've got to go to Port Elizabeth. The service is excellant and the rooms comfortable and clean. Henk and Cilliers are professional and let you feel at home. All the rooms have a private patio and I like to have morning coffee outside in private. They go that extra mile, with room accessiories (gowns, slippers, magazines ect.)

Room Tip: The room on the house side, facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

My family and I spent 6 wonderful days at Kingfischer,and without a doubt we will be back.Excellent service that truly gives you that home away from home atmosphere.The room was clean,cosy and really comfortable..considering the fact that we were four in the same room.But what truly sets Kingfischer apart for our family was Henk and Cilliers`s uplifting,warm yet professional attitude towards our family.Just lovely...Z.Moro

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zodwarene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This is the geusthouse that gvie the best service. We were very impressed by the way we were treated. Even small things like putting on lights in the evening so that when you get back to your room it is not in darkness. Food everything is of a high class

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the Kingfisher. Henk and Cilliers are professionals. Every aspect of the Guest House is in very good taste and quality. The layout of the rooms - each with private patio; the quality of the room accessories (umbrella, gowns, slippers, magazines etc.) - All first class. The delicious breakfast needs a special mention of its own. To top all this, the personal warm attention and service of the hosts has to be experienced in order to believe that "this is how it is done".

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geeta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
5.4 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 236 in Port Elizabeth
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 236 in Port Elizabeth
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor 38
Manor 38
#3 of 43 in Summerstrand
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carslogie House
Carslogie House
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher GuestHouse

Address: 73 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range: £58 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher GuestHouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for considering Kingfisher Guest House as an accommodation option during your upcoming visit to Port Elizabeth. We would be delighted to welcome you to our guest house. A personal welcome awaits you at Kingfisher Guest House, backed by our commitment of making your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. Kingfisher Guest House is situated a mere 400 m from the beautiful beaches of Port Elizabeth. The Port Elizabeth Airport is approximately 7 km away; no more than a 10-minute drive by car. A shopping centre is within walking distance from the guest house, whilst the Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Complex, just over a kilometre away, offers a variety of excellent restaurants and cuisine for all tastes. We offer rooms with either a double bed or twin rooms, which are rooms with two single beds. The choice is yours! In addition, our beds are covered in only the finest quality Egyptian cotton percale linen. All our rooms are en-suite and each room has its own private entrance and patio, all distributed around a magnificent pool with chair and table sets and recliners. Please note that the pool area is unfenced and where applicable to your familial status, you are responsible for and should take special care of any minors in your party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kingfisher GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher GuestHouse Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing