We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingfisher GuestHouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kingfisher GuestHouse
Ranked #10 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

I Stayed some time ago - 2007, but had to seek this Guesthouse out now I am registered on Trip Advisor.
The place is simply superb. Nice quiet location in PE, with wonderful hosts.
The accomodation is spacious, clean and very modern.
A great breakfast was provided every day, and the chaps that run the place couldn't have done more to help in terms of car hire, trips out etc. In terms of getting to the waterfront and boardwalk area for the shops and restaurants, you could walk it though as we had hired a car it was a 5 minute drive.
A great little place and I would 100% stay again if I was in PE, I wouldn't even look at other options.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
52
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

The staff are lovely and made us feel right at home. The location 10 minutes from the airport but in a quiet suburb. No vistas but the rooms: light, white and sparkling clean made up for this adequately. Beds very comfortable with cotton bedding. Kitchenette well equipped with french-press and fridge. Breakfasts excellent. We will look no further when returning to PE.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Attention to detail is applied here! Henk and Cilliers could not have been more helpful and the room was spotlessly clean and tastefully appointed.
The breakfast was outstanding and set us up for the day!
Our only constructive comment is that we needed better reading lighting.
We will return and highly recommend Kingfisher Guest House to others.
Colin and Wendy
Knysna

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knysnarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Clean, spacious and tasteful rooms in a beautiful garden. Extremely good value for money in a quiet residential area, close to the center but slightly off the busy beach rd. Cilliers and Henk are excellent hosts, thank you guys for a perfect start to our holiday :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
481 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Kingfisher GuestHouse is the perfect place to stay in P.E. The rooms are sooo comfy and homey. The breakfast - served by the two friendly-funny hosts - is scrumptious. It's close to everything and yet very quiet when you need it. Maybe the pool's too small, maybe the air in the room could have been better, but none the less: We loved very minute at the Kingfisher.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mogeltoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soutpan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

What a weekend! - we had such a great time @ Kingfisher. The service starts as soon as you arrive with a warm welcome from Cilliers and Henk - then the room- clean, perfect is every way... luxury towels/face cloths, a fully stocked hospitality tray, flat screen TV .......... the bed big and with a very comfortable mattress and again a luxury duvet. Breakfast time ....everything, from homemade muffins/bread to the full English breakfast, FRESH fruit is also available. Thank you for making us feel at home. We enjoyed our walks to the beach that is so close to you. We also enjoyed the fact that every room has it's own private area for that morning coffee,just before a view laps in your lovely swimming pool............THANK YOU IT WAS GREAT and will visit again next Easter

Room Tip: Cosy - Clouds is your room Large - Hawaii is your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizaSoutpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Henk and Cilliers provide the best service you can expect of a guest house which you will find in every single detail, from the homemade soap to the beautifully served breakfast. The owners treat you as their personal guest: Cilliers was waiting for our late arrival and kindly helped us to fix the problem with the car rental, Henk gave us advice on the rest of our trip.
The only thing we did regret while staying there was that we couldn't stay longer.
We would recommend to start exploring the coastal part of South Africa with the stay at this amazing B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaandBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.1 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.7 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher GuestHouse

Property: Kingfisher GuestHouse
Address: 73 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher GuestHouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for considering Kingfisher Guest House as an accommodation option during your upcoming visit to Port Elizabeth. We would be delighted to welcome you to our guest house. A personal welcome awaits you at Kingfisher Guest House, backed by our commitment of making your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. Kingfisher Guest House is situated a mere 400 m from the beautiful beaches of Port Elizabeth. The Port Elizabeth Airport is approximately 7 km away; no more than a 10-minute drive by car. A shopping centre is within walking distance from the guest house, whilst the Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Complex, just over a kilometre away, offers a variety of excellent restaurants and cuisine for all tastes. We offer rooms with either a double bed or twin rooms, which are rooms with two single beds. The choice is yours! In addition, our beds are covered in only the finest quality Egyptian cotton percale linen. All our rooms are en-suite and each room has its own private entrance and patio, all distributed around a magnificent pool with chair and table sets and recliners. Please note that the pool area is unfenced and where applicable to your familial status, you are responsible for and should take special care of any minors in your party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kingfisher GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher GuestHouse Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing