We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm home”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Summerstrand
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
5th Avenue Beach House
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Location is the best in Port Elizabeth as I see. It's recommended by my colleagues. I understood why. Very very warm people and so wonderful place to listen to your mind and soul. Wish I'll be back with my family next time. Especially, thanks to whom clean and put the things in order in my room.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank menguccenkgultekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

My 2 friends and I stayed here for just 1 night whilst on a tour down the coast. The hostel owner was very welcoming and helpful, showing us where to go for dinner and arranging for us to be escorted safely back again. The room was clean and comfortable and the bath and shower facilities were lovely. Would have been nice to have wifi facilities other than that everything was great. Would recommend!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank SuzyMax94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Over the last few of years I've traveled to the P.E. area for business over a 15-16 times all for extended stays. I can not even begin to think of staying anywhere else but the 5th Ave. Beach House. Anthea, Mush and the entire staff are truly amazing. The food is top shelf, and I've stayed in nearly every room, all of which are very, very nice and comfortable. I rarely write reviews on anything, but I can not help myself in wanting to share this South African Gem with everyone. It's a must stay if your in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APerry2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We loved staying at 5th Avenue Beach House. All the staff went out of their way to make it a pleasant stay. They organised 2 tours for us which were fantastic & the location is a 2 minute walk to a local surf break.
Breakfast was amazing, fresh & there was heaps of variety.
We would highly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Long stay. The lady who runs the place is a soft-spoken and nice lady. Sad she did not speak up, when her husband who never greeted me until one moment he shouted at me wildly in the streets in front of people and threatened me. Just because a chair broke under me, I did not get hurt luckily, but he was angry I told the staff and not me. Staff was so amazingly friendly and nice, warm people. The facilities are great, and pool nice. But unfortunately, have to give a very poor review when I get treated like that as a reliant paying customer. So it is not the staff I rate as poor service, but the treatment of the owner

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nomad_from_the_north
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here for one week with a group of university faculty. Our 2nd floor room was spacious and nicely appointed, including a refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom had a shower and tub, and the toiletries even included insect repellent! The balcony was nice for sitting and reading. Breakfast was very good with some cooked-to-order items. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. Athena was a very personable host and most helpful in answering my many questions. The location couldn't be better -- only a block away from the beach! And it is only a few blocks away from Boardwalk casino/shopping area and some nice dining. I highly recommend this property and hope I will be able to return some day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnklaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I have been coming to 5th Avenue Beach House for >15 years. This has become my home from home in PE. The friendly and efficient service is unsurpassed and the rooms are fantastic with great showers. You soon become part of the family and nothing is to much hassle for Anthea and her team.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelmutO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.5 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
448 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5th Avenue Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5th Avenue Beach House

Address: Marine Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Summerstrand
#9 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Hotel Class:4 star — 5th Avenue Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
5th Avenue Beach House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing