We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean and good accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Summerstrand
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Margate Place Guest House
Ranked #11 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I was very pleased with the room very comfortable and clean, Alex was very helpful as was
all the staff, easy walk to the beach, all services are close by, this property is very secure and safe also very close to airport and entertainment, i stayed for ten days and i was very happy and
comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

This was our 2nd stay at Melrose Place. The rooms are compact but very comfortable and clean. Most rooms have a small private courtyard with access to the garden. Service is friendly. Walking distance from the beach and very close to airport.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We´ve been traveling all over the world and this is one of the best accomodation we´ve ever stayed at.
Very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are top class, clean and very private. If we visit PE
again this guesthouse will of course be our choice.

Room Tip: All rooms are exellent ! !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjorklund_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The staff at Margate Place Guest House make this the best accommodation in Port Elizabeth. No query or complication with onward travel arrangements was beyond their expertise. Even the must unusual travel misadventures were magically solved here. The staff care about their Guest House AND their guests.
In short: Rooms are very comfortable and staff... brilliant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Very very good place to stay. Spacious yet cosy. Lovely, courteous staff, clean and modern rooms and a very good breakfast that is freshly prepared according to one's preferences. If I'd return to Port Elizabeth I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevoz97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My wife, daughter and myself spent a very pleasant three nights at this excellent Guest House. The rooms are top class and very private. The meals are excellent and most importantly the hospitality and service offered by Alex and his team was both first class and gracious. We look forward to returning.

Brendan, Tonia & Michelle

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I only stayed a couple of nights here but the room was excellent, very close to a good restaurant and the beach. Alex was very helpfull and the other staff was very friendly as well. When i am back in PE in the future this place is surely on my list.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco_Nanninga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.6 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
285 reviews
3.4 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#2 of 231 in Port Elizabeth
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margate Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margate Place Guest House

Address: 5 Margate Street, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range: £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Success proven by very high occupancy over 20 years! Stylish, private guest units. Secure parking. B&B or self catering. Rooms offer: En-suite bathrooms, kitchenettes, bar fridges, Free Wifi, DSTV, private entrances and BBQ areas! Very close to all beachfront amenities, 2 MINUTE walk to the Beach! Airport 10 min. Follow us on Instagram margateplace_guesthouse and check out our FACEBOOK page to view more photos... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Margate Place Guest House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing