We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Holliday Accomodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Summerstrand
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Margate Place Guest House
Ranked #11 of 43 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I really enjoyed being at Margate Place Guest House in P.E. My room was well appointed and very cosy. The staff was always friendly and nice. I felt like being at home. The beach, restaurants, the supermarket and the "Boardwalk" were a 5 to 10 min. walk away. The airport, and the centre of the town could be easily reached by taxi in 10 min.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a fantastic time at Margate. The staff was very friendly, the breakfast was awesome, and the room was clean and cosy! The beach and malls are all within walking distance in the safe neighborhood.
If ever we are back in PE....we will definitely stay there and we'd recommend it to anyone :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Good accommodation as described.
Good position for walking along the boardwalk in both directions.
Walking distance of a variety of places to eat.
Satisfied as the accommodation was as expected for the price paid.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor at our request as we are no longer young. It was very hot when we staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JGYHighWycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

A BIG thank you to Alex, Susan and staff.

It was a "service" experience we have never had before, from the time we started to enquire to the booking out! Nothing was ever too much trouble.

Alex you made us feel like family with your warm heart, smile and conversation. Susan, you constantly ensured our rooms were taken care of and even helping us to book a last minute, one night Christmas Day accommodation for my precious brother and family all the way from C.T. The staff, thank you that you made us believe again that there are people you can trust in this world. Leaving valuables lying around all day only to get back and discover IT'S ALL STILL THERE!..., unlike Jhb!

My husband and I have decided for our future short breaks when we go to PE, we will go back to Margate Place and just by the way,..Guest Room No 2 is OURS!

With lots of love and appreciation!
Gary & Chantal Colling
Jhb.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chantal19672014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Thankyou to Cornell, Alex, Susan and other staff. From the first telephone call to every email that ensued, you guys were tops. We arrived at 18h30 in a rather dark and rainy PE after travelling for 8 hours from the Eastern Cape Wild-Coast of Zithulele, Coffee Bay and surrounds. A little bit weary and tired after our long trip our spirits were lifted the moment we set foot at Margate Place being welcomed by the warmheartedness and total professionalism of Susan. our accommodation offered everything and more than we could have hoped for,it is excellence personified. Back in my hometown - Cape Town and cannot stop talking about Margate Place. Thankyou team Margate Place you have become my destination of choice whenever I am to visit PE again. Mille grazie!!

Room Tip: We were three colleagues each in different rooms on different sides of the establishment, all of us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I have been a regular guest at margate place since my son started university in PE a few years ago. The personal service of everyone, Cornell, Alex, Susan and the other ladies makes you feel certain that you will be excellently catered for. I have referred a number of people to Margate house and they have been excellently looked after. The ambience of the guest house, from the rooms, the breakfast room to the grounds always make me feel thoroughly rested even when its just an overnight stay.
I recently tried another guest house in PE and my not so nice experience there proves my point that if it aint broken dont fix it. Margate place it has been for me and Margate place it will be when in PE

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bolu O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate_Place, Manager at Margate Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Bolu,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!

We are so pleased to hear that your stays with us have been pleasant, and it is always a pleasure to have you (and sometimes your son) with us.

We look forward to hosting you again soon in the Friendly City soon!

Kind Regards,
Alex, Cornell & the Margate Place team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My family and I were exetrmely happy with the accomodation provided by Margate Place. The facilities, neatness and staff made the stay pleasant and comfortable for us. Closely situated to a mall, the beaches, casino, etc. it is extremely ideal for an enjoyable stay. My family and i agrre that Margate Place will always be the benchmark for any other accomodation options in beautiful Summerstrand, PE.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lester M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.6 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
286 reviews
3.4 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#2 of 231 in Port Elizabeth
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margate Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margate Place Guest House

Address: 5 Margate Street, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range: £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Success proven by very high occupancy over 20 years! Stylish, private guest units. Secure parking. B&B or self catering. Rooms offer: En-suite bathrooms, kitchenettes, bar fridges, Free Wifi, DSTV, private entrances and BBQ areas! Very close to all beachfront amenities, 2 MINUTE walk to the Beach! Airport 10 min. Follow us on Instagram margateplace_guesthouse and check out our FACEBOOK page to view more photos... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Margate Place Guest House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing