We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Early Morning Breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athena Diner II

Athena Diner II
Ranked #9 of 112 Restaurants in North Haven
Cuisines: American, Diner, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Early Morning Breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Pastrami and eggs after Friday night fun--perfect.

Classic diner fare and feel. Nice folks who seemed rather amused by it all, which is welcome at 1:00 am. I'll be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, Connecticut
Level Contributor
165 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Top Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Breakfast, Lunch, or dinner, this is a stop that keeps You coming back. Great food, good service, large portions, reasonable prices. An normal eater will bring some home. Soups are also great.
Plan a stop today!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KenG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Traditional Diner Fare - Fast & Fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stopped for dinner at 7:30pm Friday, and it was my lucky day! Got the last portion of the "Roasted 1/2 Chicken" (daily special). When I heard there was only one left, I immediately wondered if it might have been "holding" a long time, (dry and tired). Not to worry, the chicken was delicious and fresh with a beautifully golden crisp skin. Mashed potato and salad were equally fresh and presented nicely!

We weren't planning on desert, but the waitress' recommendation of the homemade puddings sounded too appealing to resist .... and she was right! Absolutely the best tapioca pudding we've tasted yet ...light and fluffy, and a good-sized portion.

The service was remarkable .... the waitesses all seemed very friendly and familiar with the clientele. Our server was an energetic middle aged woman, very attentive and efficient. (She served every dish with a heartfelt "MANGIA !!)

Very good experience here, we'll surely return again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IrishRover999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
106 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Worst diner we ever went to”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

I am astounded by the positive reviews. We went around 11pm so maybe their food is actually decent at other times of the day. But this experience was enough to prevent me from ever returning.

The service was alright and was the only positive thing. The food was stale and rubbery like it had been cooked hours (or days) ago. Diner food is usually not that spectacular, but this was a downright rip off. Soup and veggies tasted like they came from a can. The only really edible thing was the french fries. I wish we had gone anywhere else to eat.

The atmosphere was standard diner, but the clientele were obnoxious. A bunch of rude teenagers right behind us were talking loudly like they are all going deaf, in an otherwise quiet diner. We finished whatever we could eat of our meal and hurried out. What a way to waste $30.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank explorergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway Park, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

The Athena Diner ll is 24 hours of food heaven. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, or a late night snack the food is fresh and delicious. The staff is wonderful and makes you feel right at home. A diner at it's very best.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ellen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Athena Diner II also viewed

 

Been to Athena Diner II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing