We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, Cohesive Staff Makes for a Great Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Haven
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent, Cohesive Staff Makes for a Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Road warriors know that travel set backs sometimes happen, and when they do, they can decimate even the best made plans. Exhaustion and irritability are common side effects. I found the cure for the low-down, broke-down plans, no good, road warrior blues. Stay at the North Haven Holiday Inn. Your entire experience from Shuttle, to Front Desk, to encounters with Room Fairies (aka Housekeeping), and even Maintenance, will make you feel so good that you will miraculously recover. This staff gets 5+ stars for hospitality and team work.

The 4 stars is more about the overall condition of the property, I think a few minor cosmetic tweaks would bring this establishment up to the caliber of it's staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilysann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    167
    93
    49
    34
See reviews for
184
68
40
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Fell short of my expectations for a hotel of it's price on many levels. Hallway rugs are dirty and dingy. Only 1 set of elevators - will either have a long walk to your room, or will have to drag your luggage up a flight of stairs. Train is loud in the morning. Walls are paper thin...you hear EVERYTHING (although I will say the couple in the room next door seemed to be enjoying their stay). Non smoking room smelled like stale smoke.

Beds were comfortable, and bathroom was updated. Didn't use the pool, but it looked nice. Not enough to make me want to return though.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nytraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HINHManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Dear nytraveler78,

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. If you would like to call and discuss your stay with me please call me at 203-654-4175. I feel bad as my personal cell is in the elevator you took and I would have appreciated the opportunity to make your stay better.

Unfortunately, we do have to take the pool out of service from time to time for maintenance repairs. I apologize that you did nto get to enjoy the pool.

Please know that when travelling a guest may call the front desk ahead of time and request a room in a certain area or near the lobby for easier access and we do our best to honor these requests.

Again I appreciate feedback as this make my team stronger and please call me.

Thank you
Lisa Bublitz
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
183 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

A continued very good report card for this property. The late afternoon check in buy two delightful young ladies started the stay with excellent greeting skills and free water bottle as a PC member. The room was fine and comfortable. Very early Sunday morning breakfast service was great - terrific waitress and tastey food served quickly with free coffee to go.
I will stay here again. Location for my family and buisness doings is perfect. Easy on and off I 91 and CT 15.
Very good all around staff, comfortable, safe and good value. You can't beat it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCmdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HINHManager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Dear Cmdr; Thank you for a great report card! I see you have stayed here three times so I appreciate that as I know you have a choice as a traveller and you choose to stay with us!

I am glad you appreciate being recognized as a guest who stays with Holiday Inns frequently with a cold bottle of water and that breakfast hit the spot.

We look forward to you staying again!

Thank you
Lisa Bublitz
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Great for my business close to New Haven and Hartford . The staff are always friendly and helpful. They now have a reception at night on Tuesday.

The bar has specials for food and drink and when doing business locally they have a free shuttle and pick me up.

I get a twix or snickrs at check in...very thoughtful. I don't stay over on fridays but would like to check out this feast at five!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LEVECT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HINHManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear LEVECT,

Thank you for sharing with Tripadvisor readers that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn North Haven. The staff and I take pride in the service we provide.

Funny you have the tagline "Location Location Location" as that is one of the first things I recall from college in Hospitality Management. But I agree we are right off rte 91 and only a few exits from rte 95.

On Tuesday evenings we are having a Priority Club welcoming to say thank you to our loyal guests. It is a good opportunity for me to put a face with a name. When you return to our hotel please introduce yourself.

The Feast at Five on Fridays can be dangerous as it is hard to walk by as an employee and not sample the great food at Harrys!

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Lisa Bublitz
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We are staying at a hotel now which I will not mention but it made me think of our recent stay at the Holiday Inn.

Went with my girlfriend to attend a wedding. The building is older; but you tend to overlook that here because the staff are great! We were able to check in early which was nice as she got ready for the wedding--we got a gift bag of treats. The person at the front desk was smilng and joking around.

I went to happy hour and the bartenders were very nice ad friendly. They have a shuttle that took us to the reception so we didnt have to worry about drinking partying an driving. Had a good time

Breakfast was great and we hit the pool the next day. My gf even wanted pictures in a courtyard.

Overall this hotel made the wedding that much more. Was alot of fun! When she is happy I am happy...lol

Room Tip: The groom had a suit whic was much larger than our room--very nice and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HINHManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Gary H,

I am glad you were able to attend a friend's wedding and enjoyed your stay with us. We do give welcome bags for wedding guests and the convenience of the shuttle is appreciated by guests as one less worry.

The courtyard is beautiful in the Spring/Summer and Fall for pictures. I am happy you were able to capture some memories.

I am glad she is happy and therefore you are happy! Hope to see you again!

Lisa Bublitz
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Branford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed at Holiday Inn when we had to evacuate our house after hurricane Irene. I kept extending my stay day by day until it was OK to return to our home. The staff were so nice and empathized with me over my predictament. They went out of their way to make things as easy and comfortable for me as possible. We really needed some compassion and will be forever grateful to Holiday Inn, North Haven.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twocolins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HINHManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear twoColins,

I am sorry you had to evacuate from your home. It was a scarey time for many and for the employees being away from their home and families. I thank you for acknowledging the employees that were able to stay and make guests feel safe and welcoming.

It was a busy few weeks trying to help those we could. I hope your home did not have damage. And stop in and see us again!

Thank you

Lisa Bublitz
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
381 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Great stay for business travellers. Great staff, free wifi, even complimentary bottles of waters and snacks. May sound trivial but these small things tell me that they understand the business traveller. Restaurant/Bar attached to the hotel was good too. I will stay there again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for the courtyard side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaysonC1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HINHManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Jpc1974, thank you for the great feedback; also enjoyable as a Manager to share such great comments with my staff.

I agree it is the small things that make people know you care. We do try to install in all of the staff that philosophy to treat guests as guests in your home.

Thank you

Lisa Bublitz
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Haven
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wallingford / Meriden
6.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
3.0 mi away
Whitney Inn & Suites
Whitney Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Hamden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
7.0 mi away
Courtyard New Haven Wallingford
7.4 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel
Address: 201 Washington Ave, North Haven, CT 06473 (Formerly Holiday Inn North Haven)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > North Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, the Best Western Plus North Haven's location is ideal. Located between NYC and Boston with easy access on and off I-91 N/S. Our list of amenities now include an elevator as well as Harry's Sports Grill , business center and guest rooms with complimentary high-speed Internet access , free Continental breakfast for the Priority Club Member only, indoor pool, sauna, outdoor deck, charming courtyard, valet service (M-F), guest laundry, fitness center, 24 hr fax, free parking, exceptional meeting and banquet facilities, and the most comfortable guest accommodations. Our central location is minutes from the arts and culture of Greater New Haven, Yale University & Quinnipiac University and the CT shoreline, Chevrolet Theater and Shubert Theater of Perfoming Arts, 30 minutes from Hartford, CT and 50 minutes to Mohegan Sun and MGM Foxwoods Casinos. We also have a great location to various corporations such as Honeywell, Parker Hannefin, Mossberg, Covidien and HB Communications . If you are traveling for sports or leisure, we are located within minutes of Northford Ice Pavilion, CT Sports Plex and New Haven Field House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn North Haven Hotel North Haven
North Haven Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing