We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service, Friendly Staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Haven
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Friendly Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just returned from a Softball Tournament in the area and stayed at this Hotel. The staff was VERY friendly and accomodating. Any request we made was handled QUICKLY. Rate came with complimentary breakfast which was quite good. For the price of stay, this hotel exceeded expectations. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: You wont be sorry here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    167
    93
    49
    34
See reviews for
184
68
40
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were visiting back east for a family visit/reunion and spent five days at the Best Western Plus in North Haven. My sister rented a nice room that had access to the courtyard area, and I had a suite. I have stayed at this location before when it was with another hotel chain, and opted for the suite for entertaining purposes. The hotel actually gave me the "bridal suite" which does not have the wall between the sleeping area and sitting area, but does have a fabulous jetted tub. Not really big enough for two, but nice to soak your bones in, especially after a busy day out and about!

The hotel has been upgraded since it was taken over from the other chain, and is clean, and nicely furnished. I was on the second floor and found it to be very quiet for sleeping. There is a great pool indoors, as well as a restaurant/sports bar on site. You can also order room service here, which we took advantage of a couple times when we were hungry but had no energy to go out.

Breakfast is included with your stay and features hot foods including eggs, bacon/sausage, hash browns, yogurt, fresh fruit, bagels and other assorted baked goods. The wait staff will come to your table to serve fresh coffee and juice, or any other beverages you may want. Shannon will make you feel very welcomed and well taken care of in the morning.

The front office team was very helpful at all times with check in/out, answering questions, and mailing postcards when we needed to.

The only thing I found to be an issue was I was directed to Entrance A that was closest to my room, as were others, but this entrance is currently closed/under repair. I did mention it to the manager before I left to be sure they were not directed folks to that entrance right now until it was open. The last thing anyone wants to experience after a long day of travel is dragging your luggage to a door that does not work.

This is a good hotel that is easy on/off I-91 and has a lot of nearby options for food and essentials shopping. We will stay here again when our travels bring us back to North Haven.

Room Tip: Second floor is quiet. Room 277 is the bridal suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaguarbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washingtonville, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights for a softball tournament. The room, although small in comparison to other silmilar hotels was very clean, had comfortable beds, a coffee maker and refrigerator. Also had a really neat charging station with additional electrical sockets mounted to the night table...nice amenity! Staff was extremely pleasant as were all servers and bartenders in the hotel bar/restaurant. The only negatives were: 1) I asked to have a room away from the highway and was put in the back of the hotel on the 2nd floor. We had 2 suitcases, a backpack and a cooler with us. We were told our room was right at the top of the stairs. We lugged all our bags/cooler up 2 flights of stairs. Then, back down in the morning with the cooler...only to walk by an elevator that we weren't told about and is basically hard to find unless someone points it out! 2) outdoor bar was hopping -right outside my window at 10:30pm. Called the front desk and the staff member wasn't particularly interested in my compalint, however, when I spoke to the right person, she said the bar was supposed to close at 9. She took care of it. 3) The free breakfast...nothing like what other comparable hotels put out when they advertise free breakfast. Coffee was very good and also available all day!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Billom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed here during my graduation from Yale School of Management. It was good value for the money. However, there was a small problem communicating with Hotels.com. I originally booked two rooms 1 night via Hotels.com a year in advance(the property was a Holiday Inn back then). In the intervening year and change of hands, they'd lost my reservation. However, when I called to extend a second night one month prior, they worked it out. It took multiple calls to Hotels.com to get the Best Western to merge the two reservations into one "stay" because they also got my name wrong, but they finally corrected everything. It probably reflects as much on Hotels.com that they transmit their bookings to the hotels BY FAX. What is this, 1985? But the rooms were quiet, clean (if a bit dated), and the housekeeping staff and desk staff were very courteous.

Room Tip: Back of hotel (west) is the farthest from the highway and sports bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Branford, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Good hotel and service for the price, stayed at this hotel because of a baseball tournament. I would stay here again if I visited this area. The rooms were clean, bed was comfortable, got a good night sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel accepted our dog with a $25 charge and no other questions asked. Thank you! It's hard to find a decent hotel that will take a dog.

Our hotel room was on the first floor and had easy access to the parking lot and several grassy areas for the dog.. This was wonderful and much appreciated since we were staying with our dog. Our room was clean and great for the night that we stayed there.

The hotel is also right off the highway which made driving into New Haven quick and easy.

My one complaint has to do with breakfast. The breakfast was not great at all. The food didn't look good at all and there was not much selection. The waitress in the restaurant that morning was also rude and unpleasant. My husband's bagel got stuck in the toaster and when he asked for help she aggressively told him that he need to slice his bagel in tow before placing it in the toaster. Great suggestion but he had already sliced his bagel into two pieces. The toaster was the problem, not my husband. She was overall unpleasant and we wanted to get out of the breakfast area as quickly as possible!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burningrivergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allen, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

not very accommodating. Staff is not well trained, especially in the bar. They didn't know how to make a martini. They broke a line and water or beer was spraying all over the bar area for almost 5 minutes. They had no clue of what to do or how to turn it off. Cleaning staff was slow and not efficient. We were book with a wedding and they decided to clean our room when we needed to get ready.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Haven
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wallingford / Meriden
6.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
3.0 mi away
Whitney Inn & Suites
Whitney Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Hamden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
7.0 mi away
Courtyard New Haven Wallingford
7.4 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel
Address: 201 Washington Ave, North Haven, CT 06473 (Formerly Holiday Inn North Haven)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > North Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, the Best Western Plus North Haven's location is ideal. Located between NYC and Boston with easy access on and off I-91 N/S. Our list of amenities now include an elevator as well as Harry's Sports Grill , business center and guest rooms with complimentary high-speed Internet access , free Continental breakfast for the Priority Club Member only, indoor pool, sauna, outdoor deck, charming courtyard, valet service (M-F), guest laundry, fitness center, 24 hr fax, free parking, exceptional meeting and banquet facilities, and the most comfortable guest accommodations. Our central location is minutes from the arts and culture of Greater New Haven, Yale University & Quinnipiac University and the CT shoreline, Chevrolet Theater and Shubert Theater of Perfoming Arts, 30 minutes from Hartford, CT and 50 minutes to Mohegan Sun and MGM Foxwoods Casinos. We also have a great location to various corporations such as Honeywell, Parker Hannefin, Mossberg, Covidien and HB Communications . If you are traveling for sports or leisure, we are located within minutes of Northford Ice Pavilion, CT Sports Plex and New Haven Field House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn North Haven Hotel North Haven
North Haven Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing