We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All our family members were highly pleased with our experience at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Haven
Waterbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All our family members were highly pleased with our experience at this hotel”
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Multiple members of my extended family stayed at this hotel on the occasion of my sons' wedding. The staff was extremely friendly, efficient and accomodating. The rooms were clean and newly decorated. The restaurant staff was friendly and service was fast, food was very good. Over all we were extremely pleased with our stay and experience throughout our stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antari44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    178
    108
    50
    35
See reviews for
202
74
44
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Haven, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2011

I frequent Harry's two or three times a week specifically Thursday and Friday. Each time I am greeted by Donna and Margi warmly and with a smile. The atmosphere is great and the food is good, however a menu change would be a welcome addition. Popcorn would be a great idea too.
All things said if you find yourself at Harry's for a meal you will get a good meal in a awesome atmosphere and if you are lucky enough to see Margi the Bartender or Donna the manager then you truly are in for a exceptional great experience

Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LHorton58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Finding a hotel in the middle of a snow storm is challenging enough. But to find one by chance that extends a high level of professionalism with an accommodating attitutude when the guests nerves and patience have been in over drive, is what the Holiday Inn of North Haven is all about. Kudous to Donna, Stephanie and John for their excellent service and attitude. You made our stay extremely more pleasurable under the circumstances.

Earl & Cynthia of Brooklyn, New York

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stormbynight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HINHManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2011
Thanks for sharing your comments about the service that the staff provided during the snow storm. We strive to be a great hotel that guests love with focusing on the customer even during a difficult travel situation of a storm. Hope to see you in your travels again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haven, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2010

They try to keep the food healthly and very tasty at the same time. I drive an 18 wheeler and cannot find enough healthly foods on the road and really enjoyed the home taste of it also. The manager Donna made me feel right at home and she listened to what I liked. Very satisified customer. Front desk manager helped me alot to find spots in which I needed to go. They have absolutely delightful employees and very courteous.
Karen

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvhfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HINHManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
A home away from home is the type of service we provide for the travelers at the Holiday Inn. We have noted a daily special with some healthy options to our regular menu. The front desk staff does a great job making suggestions or helping guest not familiar with the area find ways around New Haven. Karen thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hinesburg, vermont
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2010

The service in teh restaurant needs some help. The service is slow, inexperienced, and not relaxing. The decor(sports memoribilia) is very well done and the television with soft music was nice. The food was good and the service is simply inexperienced and slow. The manager, Donna, was helpful in correcting the issues but when a waitress can not handle 2 tables alone, there is a problem. The kitchen had some "booming" music which was echoing into the dining area which sounded like "dinosaurs wrestling"(rap music). The phone rang constantly and loudly while I had breakfast on both days and had drinks at the bar area. This was non-stop and nobody would pick it up and answer. It did not help to create a relaxing atmosphere. The overall stay was pleasant enough but some upgrades to facilities are in need. The pool area is old looking and rather tattered. The rooms are nice but the carpets are old. The tiles in the hallways are stained. Simple things. The front desk staff was helpful and very pleasant. The person doing the general maintenance(bathroom cleaning, floor cleaning, etc.) he was voted employee of the month and for good reason. He was very good and pleasant. The shuttle driver was helpful and friendly. So overall, I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v243569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HINHManager, Manager at Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
Thank you for your feedback during your stay here at the hotel. We have corrected those issues noted immediately with staff members in the restaurant area. We are planning for some upcoming renovations to the property. Both the front desk and shuttle drivers have been recognized for the outstanding service given to you. We appreciate you recommending us to other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

I picked this Holiday Inn because it was a couple of exits away from Quinnipiac University where my two daughter's attend college. Everything was clean and the staff was very friendly. My nine year old daughter and I enjoyed the pool and breakfast the next morning in Harry's. Our waitress, Donna, was wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelie122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HINHManager, Manager at Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting North Haven. The staff takes pride in providing the friendly service you received. Location to the local university is a short drive with easy on and easy off access to the highway. Glad to see you got some relax time by our indoor pool. Hope to see you again at the Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2010

I was truly disappointed by the birthday party we held here. You are required to use their catering services but for $8 per child, you got a bag of popcorn-- these ran out), soda (no juice), and the worst (undercooked) pizza I have ever tasted (in the New Haven area we can certainly do better--this was worse than cafeteria pizza!). The server was nowhere to be found for most of the party and had to be tracked down 3 separate times to check on the lateness of the food, the fact that the snacks ran out, and for help with getting a knife for the cake. There is a 20% service charge for this. They don't provide a lifeguard and won't allow you to bring your own. Plus, they charge an extra fee for pool rental not otherwise stated. Everyone was very friendly and cheerful, but this does not translate into a well run place. I do not recommend it!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHmom88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HINHManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2010
We do apologize for the food issue and the server not responding in a timely manner to your request for the food. The hotel is in compliance with all pool regulations. All charges are posted on the banquet event order that is signed for the pool parties. Pool is only used at selected off peak times with early morning or evenings for hotel guest use only. We thank you for the feedback to improve on these pool parties that are hosted for young children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Haven
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wallingford / Meriden
6.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
3.0 mi away
Carriage House
Carriage House
#1 of 3 in Hamden
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
8.8 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
408 reviews
3.0 mi away
Whitney Inn & Suites
Whitney Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Hamden
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel
Address: 201 Washington Ave, North Haven, CT 06473-1305 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > North Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, the Best Western Plus North Haven's location is ideal. Located between NYC and Boston with easy access on and off I-91 N/S. Our list of amenities now include an elevator as well as Harry's Sports Grill , business center and guest rooms with complimentary high-speed Internet access , free Continental breakfast for the Priority Club Member only, indoor pool, sauna, outdoor deck, charming courtyard, valet service (M-F), guest laundry, fitness center, 24 hr fax, free parking, exceptional meeting and banquet facilities, and the most comfortable guest accommodations. Our central location is minutes from the arts and culture of Greater New Haven, Yale University & Quinnipiac University and the CT shoreline, Chevrolet Theater and Shubert Theater of Perfoming Arts, 30 minutes from Hartford, CT and 50 minutes to Mohegan Sun and MGM Foxwoods Casinos. We also have a great location to various corporations such as Honeywell, Parker Hannefin, Mossberg, Covidien and HB Communications . If you are traveling for sports or leisure, we are located within minutes of Northford Ice Pavilion, CT Sports Plex and New Haven Field House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn North Haven Hotel North Haven
North Haven Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing