We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to new Holiday Inn standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Haven
Reviewed 27 January 2011

I am not sure how this hotel got the new holiday inn sign. It really needs work. Our bathroom floor tile was cracked all over and it moved under your feet. The toilet had the paint worn off of it. The ceiling tiles in the bathroom were black around the fan. The bathtub was old and you could not pull out the stem to take a bath. They offer to move us to the second floor where it would be a bit noisier because the wedding party was stay there. They need to really do some upgrades on this hotel. I have stayed at a lot if nice holiday inns are this is not one of them. The good part was the staff was friendly. It is the only hotel in the area so I guess they feel they have a advantage with that.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlamb42247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HINHManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2011

Dear Jlamb22;

Let me start by thanking you for completing the TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. We did re-launch in 2009 with the new signage, new bedding and many more extras; proudly, one of the first in our area.

Guests have many choices of where to stay and there are several choices in the local area. We have many repeat guests who choose to stay with us for what we offer such as complimentary shuttle service, indoor swimming pool and of course, Harry Sports bar and Grill.

Please know that we are currently under construction installing new bathrooms. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 203-239-6700.

Lisa Bublitz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2011

Multiple members of my extended family stayed at this hotel on the occasion of my sons' wedding. The staff was extremely friendly, efficient and accomodating. The rooms were clean and newly decorated. The restaurant staff was friendly and service was fast, food was very good. Over all we were extremely pleased with our stay and experience throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antari44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

I frequent Harry's two or three times a week specifically Thursday and Friday. Each time I am greeted by Donna and Margi warmly and with a smile. The atmosphere is great and the food is good, however a menu change would be a welcome addition. Popcorn would be a great idea too.
All things said if you find yourself at Harry's for a meal you will get a good meal in a awesome atmosphere and if you are lucky enough to see Margi the Bartender or Donna the manager then you truly are in for a exceptional great experience

Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
Thank LHorton58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Finding a hotel in the middle of a snow storm is challenging enough. But to find one by chance that extends a high level of professionalism with an accommodating attitutude when the guests nerves and patience have been in over drive, is what the Holiday Inn of North Haven is all about. Kudous to Donna, Stephanie and John for their excellent service and attitude. You made our stay extremely more pleasurable under the circumstances.

Earl & Cynthia of Brooklyn, New York

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stormbynight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HINHManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2011

Thanks for sharing your comments about the service that the staff provided during the snow storm. We strive to be a great hotel that guests love with focusing on the customer even during a difficult travel situation of a storm. Hope to see you in your travels again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

They try to keep the food healthly and very tasty at the same time. I drive an 18 wheeler and cannot find enough healthly foods on the road and really enjoyed the home taste of it also. The manager Donna made me feel right at home and she listened to what I liked. Very satisified customer. Front desk manager helped me alot to find spots in which I needed to go. They have absolutely delightful employees and very courteous.
Karen

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvhfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HINHManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2010

A home away from home is the type of service we provide for the travelers at the Holiday Inn. We have noted a daily special with some healthy options to our regular menu. The front desk staff does a great job making suggestions or helping guest not familiar with the area find ways around New Haven. Karen thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

The service in teh restaurant needs some help. The service is slow, inexperienced, and not relaxing. The decor(sports memoribilia) is very well done and the television with soft music was nice. The food was good and the service is simply inexperienced and slow. The manager, Donna, was helpful in correcting the issues but when a waitress can not handle 2 tables alone, there is a problem. The kitchen had some "booming" music which was echoing into the dining area which sounded like "dinosaurs wrestling"(rap music). The phone rang constantly and loudly while I had breakfast on both days and had drinks at the bar area. This was non-stop and nobody would pick it up and answer. It did not help to create a relaxing atmosphere. The overall stay was pleasant enough but some upgrades to facilities are in need. The pool area is old looking and rather tattered. The rooms are nice but the carpets are old. The tiles in the hallways are stained. Simple things. The front desk staff was helpful and very pleasant. The person doing the general maintenance(bathroom cleaning, floor cleaning, etc.) he was voted employee of the month and for good reason. He was very good and pleasant. The shuttle driver was helpful and friendly. So overall, I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank v243569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HINHManager, Manager at Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2010

Thank you for your feedback during your stay here at the hotel. We have corrected those issues noted immediately with staff members in the restaurant area. We are planning for some upcoming renovations to the property. Both the front desk and shuttle drivers have been recognized for the outstanding service given to you. We appreciate you recommending us to other travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

I picked this Holiday Inn because it was a couple of exits away from Quinnipiac University where my two daughter's attend college. Everything was clean and the staff was very friendly. My nine year old daughter and I enjoyed the pool and breakfast the next morning in Harry's. Our waitress, Donna, was wonderful!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelie122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HINHManager, Manager at Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2010

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting North Haven. The staff takes pride in providing the friendly service you received. Location to the local university is a short drive with easy on and easy off access to the highway. Glad to see you got some relax time by our indoor pool. Hope to see you again at the Holiday Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Haven
6.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
6.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn New Haven Wallingford
7 mi away
Courtyard New Haven Wallingford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wallingford / Meriden
3 mi away
Whitney Inn & Suites
Whitney Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Hamden
165 reviews
8.8 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel

Address: 201 Washington Ave, North Haven, CT 06473-1305 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > North Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Haven
Price Range: £67 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, the Best Western Plus North Haven's location is ideal. Located between NYC and Boston with easy access on and off I-91 N/S. Our list of amenities now include an elevator as well as Harry's Sports Grill , business center and guest rooms with complimentary high-speed Internet access , free Continental breakfast for the Priority Club Member only, indoor pool, sauna, outdoor deck, charming courtyard, valet service (M-F), guest laundry, fitness center, 24 hr fax, free parking, exceptional meeting and banquet facilities, and the most comfortable guest accommodations. Our central location is minutes from the arts and culture of Greater New Haven, Yale University & Quinnipiac University and the CT shoreline, Chevrolet Theater and Shubert Theater of Perfoming Arts, 30 minutes from Hartford, CT and 50 minutes to Mohegan Sun and MGM Foxwoods Casinos. We also have a great location to various corporations such as Honeywell, Parker Hannefin, Mossberg, Covidien and HB Communications . If you are traveling for sports or leisure, we are located within minutes of Northford Ice Pavilion, CT Sports Plex and New Haven Field House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn North Haven Hotel North Haven
North Haven Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing