We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem in an unnoticed area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Formosa Asian Restaurant

Formosa Asian Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 112 Restaurants in North Haven
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Chinese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
North Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
“A hidden gem in an unnoticed area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I have been patronizing this place for a few years now. A little gem in an unnoticed area. All friends I brought here love this place. The restaurant has good atmosphere and is very clean. (Even the bathroom smell fresh and fragrant!) They offer two types of menus, one traditional Chinese and one American (fusion), plus a sushi order-style buffet. The Chinese menu is very authentic Szechuan and Taiwanese style. Food is always fresh and tasty. No Chinese fast-food style, which I hate very much. Appetizers are very good and if you have a friend who reads Chinese in the party, ask them to order from the Chinese menu! I love the Crispy Red Snapper, the Spicy Dan Dan noodle and the Chinese style shredded pork with Peking style sauce. Its stir-fry style veggies are very good too. Lunch portion is big too. The only thing is that service can be slow sometimes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 616samanthaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Taiwanese Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Don't be like Jbb21, who thinks Formosa is a Japanese Restaurant. How can you expect good service when you don't even know what you're eating? IT'S A TAIWANESE RESTAURANT!! If you want Japanese food, GO TO A JAPANESE RESTAURANT!!

I went there with some friends recently and we have a reservation for the last day of the Chinese New Year. The quality of the food is top notch and the service was excellent. We ordered traditional Taiwanese dishes because, after all, it's a Taiwanese restaurant. We stayed away from the fusion stuff because practically every Chinese restaurant in America serves it. What do you think egg rolls and General Tso's Chicken are? Anyway, do yourself a favor - make friends with the waitron, skip the fusion and ask for the real thing. The staff will have greater respect for you and you will receive the best service and food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tronguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ok if you have A few hours to wait for food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

I have previously submitted great reviews of Formosa..,,, but..,,,tonight 1/25/13 at 6pm my husband and I visited and sat at the bar which was empty!!!! We after 5min were greeted by bartender/waitress and served an ordered drink promptly. We requested an all you can eat sushi menu and were given one for both of us.We requested one menu each but were told we as a couple can only have one menu for two ...We got our ordered soups promptly after ordering the all you can eat sushi..... The food came out after640pm one piece at a time.....a sashemi order of mine.....then a hot sushi roll of my husbands and we had to flag down the bartender/waitress for some wasabi which took some time ughhhh. The bartender/waitress did inform us that Formosa was under new management and that they just had a big staff turnover. We just couldn't understand WHY all our Sushi couldn't come out at the same time!!!! When we finally recieved the last Salmon Roll of our first order at 7pm......we put in our order for another round of sushi and asked if it pleassssse could all come out at the same time! It didn't !!!!!! We must say despite the long wait for food....the Sushi and Sashemi quality is excellent! We are not going to return to Formosa and are looking for a new Sushi Restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JazzyJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
�G|ϗϨ�
Level Contributor
714 reviews
495 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“New sushi chef brings good sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

Last time there I was not really happy with the food but because of previous good meals I gave it another try. Glad we did. It was superb and the new sushi chef is excellent. Very good CHINESE food also. A great choice for dinner

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service and awesome all u can eat deal...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

It is an excellent place to eat and if you are hungry don't miss the all u can eat deal... For under $ 20 you'll be pleasantly surprised ... Make sure u r hungry ... You'll enjoy as much as we do since is only 3 miles drive...

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rdm70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Formosa Asian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Formosa Asian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing