We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Wedding”

Jonathan Edwards Winery
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jonathan Edwards Winery is situated upon a picturesque 48-acre hilltop in North Stonington, CT. We handcraft premium Napa Valley and Connecticut Estate wines. Enjoy a tasting or a glass, tour the winery and vineyards, or bring a picnic lunch. Take home a bottle or become a member of one of our Wine Clubs. Open year round - 7 days a week from 11am - 5pm. Our daily complimentary tour is at noon.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Place for Wedding”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I attended a wedding at the Winery. The grounds are beautiful and well-maintained. There is an indoor area, which is great for a reception in addition, there is plenty of room to raise a tent for outdoor festivities.

I cannot comment on the wine, tours or other aspects of the Winery. I will say that the ladies room does need repair and it stopped working during the wedding reception.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andie M, Manager at Jonathan Edwards Winery, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi and thanks for your kind review! So glad to hear you enjoyed your time here celebrating a wedding. You are absolutely correct about the restroom and it is something we are working on as we speak - hope you get a chance to return to enjoy some wines!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    56
    23
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"relax and wine"”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have been going to JE wine festivals for about 7 years now, and boy it just keeps getting better. Just bring a chair, some pickin's and listen to the music. We sampled 6 wines, got a few bottles, and enjoyed our day. It does get crowded so get there early. Lots of different food tents, and crafts. A great day to share with friends. See you in the fall :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andie M, Manager at Jonathan Edwards Winery, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Katherine,
We love to hear from guests that had so much fun here at the winery, thanks!
Hopefully we'll see you at the Harvest Festival this October!
Cheers-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Jonathan Edwards Spring Wine Festival”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was our 2nd year attending the Spring Wine Festival. The cost this year was $22.50 if tickets were purchased before hand. I believe they were $27 at the door. We arrived right at noon when it began and were glad we did. We were able to get parking right across from the entrance to the grounds. Last year we didn't get there until 2:00 or so and had to park a mile away and be bused in. The bands were excellent. Tangled Vine from NYC played, I believe this was there 3rd year here. The James Road Band was the opening band and they are an amazing country band. We started with the wine tasting and walking through the venders that were set up. They had both arts and crafts and food vendors. We always take a picnic of fruit, veggies and munchies to go with one of their bottles of wine while listening to the music. They have numerous tables and chairs set up both under the tent and in the sun or you can bring your own chairs and set up wherever you'd like. The weather was perfect for a day of dancing and wine tasting. However the one thing that did bother us was the number of intoxicated people on the dance floor. The dance floor was so crowded people were dancing on the grass, which was great. Unfortunately there numerous people dancing with not only glasses of wine in their hands but also bottles of wine. They were attempting to pour wine and drink wine while dancing. This led to a very wet and sticky dance floor and dancers. Luckily no glasses or bottles were broken on the wooden floor or it could have been dangerous as many people were barefoot. I don't know if there is anything that can be done next year to help prevent this but if there is it would be beneficial for all that attend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank countrygirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andie M, Manager at Jonathan Edwards Winery, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi and thanks for your positive review of the Spring Festival! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves and hope you return to celebrate with us again! We are always looking for ways to improve the experience here at JE and will take your comments to our discussion table.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful and romantic”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We love this winery, not only for the superb wines, but for the beauty of this winery. Our daughter's wedding and reception were held at Jonathan Edwards, and our guests raved about the beauty and elegance for a very long time afterwards. We now go for wine tastings with friends, and don't usually go home without a bottle or two of our favorites. There's lots of outdoor seating, and people love to pack a picnic basket of goodies to go along with their wine of choice. Its a lovely area to drive through too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CtCatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andie M, Manager at Jonathan Edwards Winery, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi,
Thanks for your lovely review and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Couples with dogs”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I'd give it 10 stars but it doesn't go that high!!! Have lots of cheeses, meats and crackers or you can bring your own. Nice sitting area outside on the porch. Going back tomorrow.

Helpful?
2 Thank RVTraveler1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andie M, Manager at Jonathan Edwards Winery, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi,
Thanks so much for such a nice review - hope we'll see you again!
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jonathan Edwards Winery also viewed

 

Been to Jonathan Edwards Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing