We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good nights stay for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilltop Inn & Suites
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dixfield, Maine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good nights stay for the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

have stayed here many times--hotel is near Foxwoods and it sure beats prices @ foxwoods

Room Tip: sign up for there e-mail and get better rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frostysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopInnGM, Manager at Hilltop Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Thank you for your repeat business. We always like to welcome back old friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    86
    41
    17
    24
See reviews for
27
93
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Goffstown, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

This was my third trip down to Foxwoods. I knew from experience that I wanted to find a place that included transportation back and forth. The shuttle service alone made Hilltop a great choice...and also the fact that you can book the room for one night...unlike their neighbor hotel with transportation that requires a minimum two night stay on the weekends.
I planned a trip for four but ran into a snag when one more friend wanted to join and the room had a max limit. Knowing that we couldn't afford two rooms, I got in touch with the general manager who was so accomodating and worked with me to find a solution.
The staff was super friendly and the small extra touches made this hotel a great choice...complimentary cheese and crackers at check in as well as roses for all the ladies.
The rooms were clean and decent and I liked the fact that all the doors open to the outside versus a hotel corridor.
All in all, it was definitely a good choice for us. The customer service was wonderful! I'm not one to ever take the time to write reviews which tells you that this hotel was worth it. I will definitely be staying with Hilltop again!

Room Tip: Bottom level rooms are super close to your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blackorca18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopInnGM, Manager at Hilltop Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our service and cleanliness. So as not to mislead anyone, our welcome reception and flowers are only offered on Saturday nights. We appreciate your feedback and hope you stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

My wife and I stayed her just for a night away. We had no destination and just picked a place at random. The only criterion was it had to be under $250 and less then a 3 hour drive. I was pleasantly surprised at this motel. The staff was incredibly friendly and rooms were comfortable. Very outdated, however the pride that was taken in maintaining the room was very evident. Although we had no plans to go to Foxwoods the free shuttle was too good to pass up. It was on time and the driver very professional. If we are Geocaching in this part of the state again, we will definitely look into staying here again

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billiamdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wethersfield, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

THis place was incredible for someone who just wanted a place to sleep it off after a night at Foxwoods. Everything was clean, neat, and in good repair. My major selling point was the free shuttle service to Foxwoods (which runs every half hour), and it was all it promised to be. The shuttle was on time on both trips, it's only 10 minutes away from the casion's front door, and it was FREE! Also the service was great. I called to ask for an iron (there aren't any in the rooms) and in 5 minutes it was at my door, ready to go. Everybody was all smiles, as though they truly took pride in their hotel. Add to this the free continental breakfast and the very affordable rate, and you've got an all-around winner. Save yourself a couple hundred dollars and stay here instead of at the casino.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snake340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

it was clean - the service was good but.....it's really just a cleaned up motel, that needs a little more clean up on the exterior! Some rooms tough to get to if you have a lot of luggage, (thankfully we did not..), you have to climb icky stairs to get to the 2nd floor then trudge to your room. Shuttle was not great. Okay getting to Foxwoods but getting home was rough. We watched 4 shuttles come from the hotel next door while we waited and waited for the one from Hilltop. Breakfast is NOT deluxe! It's typical but they didn't even have the usual fruit that other hotels offer. We ended up going out to breakfast. Also, parking lot is not very well lit... The mixing valve in the shower was not working so we had to take a very low pressure shower. But, it was clean! Also...could not control heat, either way too hot or too cold. A little noisy, (we now know way too much about the couple in the next room). No fridge, no iron/ironing board, (pretty standard in most hotels now). We won't go back but, IT WAS CLEAN!

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank livsmeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Stonington hotels

Burlington, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

I recently stayed with a friend at the Hilltop Inn & Suites for a friend's birthday party at Foxwoods. We would have liked to stay at one of the casino properties, but there weren't any rooms available. However, the Hilltop seemed a good compromise - decent price, free breakfast, and a shuttle available to take us to the casino and back. Upon arriving we found a room that was serviceable; nothing glamorous, but fine for a place to stay. No wi-fi was an unpleasant surprise (doesn't every hotel have wi-fi?) but we were headed to the casino for a fun night, and who needs to check email then? On the shuttle over the driver warned us that snow was forecast that night, and gave us the number for the hotel and a list of taxi services in the area. The skies were clear at this point (6pm) so we weren't too concerned. Many hours later we noticed the snow was really coming down (this is about 1:30 am), so we decided to call the hotel and make sure the shuttles were still running. Mind you, service was scheduled to run until 2:30 am. The front desk informed us that no, there weren't any shuttles; in fact, they had stopped running them at 8pm! Folks, this is the northeast. It snows every winter. We have plows. They stopped running their shuttle the minute the snow began. Now we are stuck. The taxis are running a 2 to 3 hour minimum wait. Thankfully, we had friends at the resort who could loan us a car to drive back to the hotel. Not what I had planned - we were drinking that night and we had to wait until we were sober before we drove. Now, I understand you want to keep your drivers safe, but what about all of your stranded guests who were forced to drive themselves back? My advice is to stay far away from this hotel in the winter months. If you are looking for lodging away from the casino, we noticed that the driver for the Bellisimo hotel (which is right next door to the Hilltop) had a shuttle driver still working through the storm.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrys_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights. Staff were very friendly. Rooms were simple but spotless (major bonus points for that!). Coffee in room was good. Like all other reviews, great breakfast with bagels, danish, and Belgian waffles...mmmmm:) This is a MOTEL not a Hotel (but I like that your car is just outside the door, easy to get into your trunk, etc..). It's located 5 minutes from Foxwoods. We paid $69 (plus tax) mid-week. We then got comp’d at Foxwoods (not hard to do if you play Blackjack, craps, etc...) and checked into a GORGEOUS room at the Grand Pequot....at the same price ($69). That was the mid-week rate through the casino host . It was like a BMW vs. a basic Chevrolet. No comparison, and, no driving after having too many drinks at the tables. I would stay here if Foxwood rooms are fully booked, or, if you aren't a big gambler and therefore have to pay the normal room rate for the different hotels at Foxwods. Once again, it is EASY to get a casino rate if you are a player, and, the points we got playing paid for 2 rooms, all our food, plus gifts for our ladies! Please feel free to email me with questions.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CdnBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Stonington
0.3 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
4.1 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
2.4 mi away
Cedar Park Inn And Suites
Cedar Park Inn And Suites
#4 of 5 in North Stonington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
3.4 mi away
Two Trees Inn
Two Trees Inn
#4 of 4 in Mashantucket
3.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn & Suites

Property: Hilltop Inn & Suites
Address: 373 Norwich Westerly Rd, North Stonington, CT 06359-1516
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > North Stonington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in North Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilltop Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilltop Inn and Suites North Stonington, CT is conveniently located just four miles from Foxwoods Resort and Casino, the world's largest casino and just a short drive to Mohegan Sun. We offer comfortable rooms as well as King Jacuzzi Suites which include 32" flat screen TV's with DIRECTV and free expanded HBO and sports channels. In-room safe is offered at a moderate fee and Wi-Fi is free. Deluxe continental breakfast and scheduled shuttle to Grand Pequot Tower at Foxwoods is included at no additional charge for registered guests. We are also within minutes of Mystic Seaport and Aquarium, the beautiful beaches of Rhode Island, several vineyards and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilltop Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Inn And Suites
Hilltop Hotel North Stonington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing