We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive and worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilltop Inn & Suites
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and worth it!”
Reviewed 15 July 2009

The Hilltop is perfect if you're looking for a place to stay on a budget near Foxwoods. It's a very basic no-frills place and relatively inexpensive, which is nice, especially if you lose a lot at the casino. We had a really huge room with a king sized bed (which was really comfortable).
It is very close to Foxwoods-about 10-15 minute drive. Don't even bother driving though-take the shuttle, it runs till 2:45am on the weekends.
The staff is very nice-I even got a rose when I checked in, which I thought was a really nice touch. I would defintely stay here again. Free shuttle and free breakfast, what more could you want?

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soxgal91576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    88
    43
    17
    24
See reviews for
28
95
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

My fiance and I stayed here for a night. We had tickets to a show at Foxwoods and wanted a room which was close and affordable. The rooms were surprisingly large and clean.

When we called down to the front desk to ask for an iron, someone brought it up immediately. We were also upgraded to a king room at no extra charge based on availability. Definitely ask at check-in if you can be upgraded. It's always worth asking.

The shuttle left promptly to bring us to foxwoods, however beware that they fill up FAST heading back to the hotel on a Friday night. We must have missed the shuttle we were initially trying to catch b/c it probably filled up took right off. We had to wait a half hour for the next and make sure we got on to get a seat.

That being said, it's no luxury hotel. If all you're looking for is a place to crash for the night and be close to the action, this is it. I would definitlely go back for that reason.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pspring55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central New York State
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2009

If you want a clean comfortable room with the most welcoming staff I have ever encountered in a hotel, this is it. I cannot say enough nice things about this hotel and staff. This was the first time I have ever been made to feel this welcome by a hotel staff. It was like being part of a family but not intrusive. The bed was very comfortable, the room was very clean, and the continental breakfast was the greatest. You have to try the Belgin waffles. The location was great as there are so many points of interest to be seen short distances from the hotel. The casinos were near by also. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to the area. The cost of the room also was a good deal. If you are looking for a 5 star luxury hotel this is not it, but if you want wonderful service this is it.
Donna from central New York

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank attlmmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, MA
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

I stayed at the Hilltop Inn and Suites on a Saturday, Valentine's weekend, with my friend, as we were going to Foxwoods for the night to see Kid Rock. We got one of the last two rooms and the hotel was packed. All the women were given roses as we were checking in, which was sweet. The rooms were spacious and spotless, including the bathroom. We stayed in a smoking room and it didn't even smell of smoke. We stayed on the bottom floor in room 136 and nothing woke us up all night. It is at the back of the building, which is possibly the quieter area of the hotel. The beds were comfortable and clean, but the pillows could have been better quality. I would just bring my own pillow next time. I would definately stay again. I gave a lower rating on value, because it's a little pricey, but it is by a giant attraction. The shuttle is a bonus, but we didn't even use it. If that is why they are charging the extra $, then they should charge for the shuttle and lower their prices a little.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pomeranianmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

Stayed for a weekend golf trip with friends Aug15-17. Room was OK - above motel standards but not quite up to a Courtyard or Fairfield Inn. Staff was A+ - everyone there went out of their way to help. Fitness center was small and needs an update. Breakfast was good. Shuttle service to Foxwoods was prompt and courteous - certain times they do bump people due to overcapacity. If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay and play near Foxwoods I recoemend this joint. If you are a first timer or looking for the Foxwoods expereince spend the extra $100 and stay there.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmarcone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

This site was booked for us by a family member. My wife needed handicap facilities and this hotel filled the bill. Our room was large, clean and had a roll in shower. We only used the site to sleep in so I can't comment on anything else that they offered. The front desk staff were all friendly and professional. This site does charge a one time $20 fee for a fridge and has a fee for the safe whether you use it or not. They will remove the fee for the safe but you have to ask. This is spelled out in very small print on the front of the safe. They also offer free shuttles to the nearby casino. Easy to find and plenty of parking.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Stealth fee for the safe
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetinman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

I stayed here for one evening on a Thursday night. I was in Connecticut for business and figured I'd drive over to Foxwoods since I've heard a lot about it. Being the company was paying, I couldn't pass through a charge of over $300, which is what it would have cost to stay at Foxwoods. For an internet rate of only $79, I could stay 3 miles away at the Hilltop Inn.

Keep in mind, you're paying $79 per night so you should go in with realistic expectations. First off, this is a Motel, not a Hotel. All doors are on the outside. You shouldn't expect first class (or even second class) accomodations.

What I did find was a VERY clean room, a comfortable bed, and VERY friendly staff. That's about all I can really expect for only $79. I'm sure if I were travelilng with my wife she wouldn't have cared too much for it but I can tell you I had no problems what-so-ever and was quite pleased.

On the negative side, the shuttle bus ran only once per hour and the last shuttle back to the hotel left Foxwoods at 11:45 PM. That's a little earlier than I typically quit gambling but being I had to leave the next morning at 6:00 AM to drive to New York City it probably wasn't a bad thing.

Definitely would recommend - especially for a one-night stay.

  • Liked — Price and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Stonington
0.3 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
786 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,423 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cedar Park Inn And Suites
Cedar Park Inn And Suites
#4 of 5 in North Stonington
353 reviews
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 13 in Mystic
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn & Suites

Property: Hilltop Inn & Suites
Address: 373 Norwich Westerly Rd, North Stonington, CT 06359-1516
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > North Stonington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in North Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilltop Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilltop Inn and Suites North Stonington, CT is conveniently located just four miles from Foxwoods Resort and Casino, the world's largest casino and just a short drive to Mohegan Sun. We offer comfortable rooms as well as King Jacuzzi Suites which include 32" flat screen TV's with DIRECTV and free expanded HBO and sports channels. In-room safe is offered at a moderate fee and Wi-Fi is free. Deluxe continental breakfast and scheduled shuttle to Grand Pequot Tower at Foxwoods is included at no additional charge for registered guests. We are also within minutes of Mystic Seaport and Aquarium, the beautiful beaches of Rhode Island, several vineyards and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilltop Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Inn And Suites
Hilltop Hotel North Stonington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing