We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Steakhouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BlackStones Steakhouse

BlackStones Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
BlackStones Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 385 Restaurants in Norwalk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Good Steakhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We came here to celebrate my Significant Other's birthday. She is a steak and wine connoisseur, and was thrilled with this new discovery. Nice Delmonicos-like decor, very good wine list, superb beef perfectly cooked, and attentive but not obtrusive service made for a very good experience. Definitely worth our traveling several miles to get to, and we look forward to coming back. Only negative, and slight at that, is the surprising amount of noise coming from the unseen bar.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    27
    5
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Steak in the tri-state area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

With a husband in the meat industry, I have seen dozens of steak houses. This is still my favorite. Worth the drive out of the city. The meat is dry aged 28-31 days, perfect every time. Bone in ribeye, porterhouse, NY strip, it is all flavorful and delicious. You must have the hash browned potatoes with it. We have been to most of the big names here and in Chicago. Aside from Smith & Wolensky which was several years ago, Blackstone is the best. The atmosphere is rather masculine but at least you feel you are in a restaurant, not a fast food stop. Fantastic wine list. Needless to say, in CT this is a regular spot of ours.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go Somewhere Else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

My wife and I arrived and stood at the reception desk for at least five minutes even though the restaurant was virtually empty. No host or hostess. Eventually a waiter came over and seated us. My first minor gripe was that the chairs at the table were uncomfortable and needed reupholstering. We had dined here once before several years ago and had a so-so experience and were hoping things had improved since then. The first course of Smoked Salmon was flavorful and generous. The Bacon slab was tasteless. For main courses we ordered a Filet, which was cooked nicely and ample, and the U.S. Double Cut Lamb Chops which were terrible. In addition to being undercooked, they were very small and fatty. I was lucky to get a single bite of meat off each of the chops. Our server was very pleasant and efficient. With no alcoholic beverages and no desert, the tab came to $130. I wish it were otherwise but I won't dine here again...ever!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jonathan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mouth-wateringly delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I had the seared-tuna steak here - absolutely stunning. Never had such a delicious piece of tuna, hence the 5 stars!

The rest of our party had steak, everyone said it was delicious (though that the lobster some had with their surf&turf was average).

Tasty side dishes and appetisers, too. We enjoyed a nice Malbec at a reasonable $50 a bottle, though the large wine list offered a variety of styles and price points.

Nice service, a very pleasant waiter who was patient and attentive though not in your face/OTT, even though the restaurant was quiet that night (It was a Tuesday). Look forward to our next visit. We would confidently take friends here and recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Entertained a business colleague at Blackstones on a Monday night so it was natrually quiet. Restaurant was clean with a very nice ambiance. Service was prompt and polite without being intrusive. Food was reasonably prices though a bit higher than normal and very good quality. Enjoyed the evening and will return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BlackStones Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to BlackStones Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing