We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Greek food”
Review of Pontos Taverna

Pontos Taverna
Ranked #5 of 392 Restaurants in Norwalk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$28
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Very good Greek food”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The food is quite good. The mixed grill perfectly cooked and generous in size. The octopus was the highlight, definitely the best i have ever had including in Greece. Service was excellent and area is convenient to park. Great new find.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esperanza60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    44
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Greek food”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Pontos Taverna is a good place to go for Greek food. The food is great, and the portions are generous. I ordered the pickled salad as an appetizer and the Branzino special as the main entree with a side of orzo. For dessert, we ordered the baklava, and it was very tasty. Service was very good all around. The decor with various farm tools hung on the wall reminds you of the Greek countryside. Overall a good place to go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edmundo209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Haven, CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrific find!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a Groupon for lunch of 2 dips or cheeses, 2 entrees and 2 glasses of wine. The restaurant appears to be clean, sparsely decorated, with Greek music playing in the background. Parking is ample and easy to find. We started with the cold eggplant dip with homemade bread, which was good. Then, we had the tirokafteri - warmed feta with tomato and hot pepper, which was served as if you were a dinner guest at someone's house. The charming and friendly waitress brought out this hot foil packet filled with the delicious cheese and warm fresh pita bread. Our server was very helpful in encouraging us to take a sip of our white wine with every bite of the feta dish, which enhanced the flavors of both. Then the main event. Wow! We ordered 2 platters, one gyro and one beefteki yemisto - spiced ground beef stuffed with saganaki cheese. They each came with spiced orzo, tzatziki - cucumber garlic yogurt sauce, a fresh tomato salad, and more warm pita bread. The portions were huge! We brought home half of our lunches. I'm getting hungry now just thinking about it! All the customers were smiling as they were leaving. What a great experience we had. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quiet spot”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stopped in for lunch when we purchased a coupon that begins with G! Glad we tried it. Nice to eat Greek food at a white tablecloth establishment. We ordered the Melitzanosalata which is an eggplant appetizer. Delicious. I had my standard Greek chicken slouvaki and my husband had the gyro and was taught correct pronunciation too! Food was nice portions, fresh from kitchen. Woman who waited and served us was sweet and probably could become best friend if you visit often. She offered suggestion when we chose appetizer.
Will come back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ckinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too few vegetarian options”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Not as many vegetarian options as I would have liked. We tried several of the appetizers. The octopus was excellent as was the tzaziki. The beet salad served with nothing more than cold beets , vinegar and oil ,was nothing special. The service was excellent and the restaurant does feel very authentic.The wait staff are friendly and knoledgeable about the menu items . Most appear Not as many vegetarian options as I would have liked. We tried several of the appetizers. The octopus was excellent as was the tzaziki. The beet salad served with nothing more than cold beets , vinegar and oil ,was nothing special. The service was excellent and the restaurant does feel very authentic Most of the wait staff appear to members of the owners family. to members of the owners family. Would have liked dimmer lighting, Greek music overhead and more seafood options.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pearlstm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pontos Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Pontos Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing