We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A manageable size and no crowd”

The Maritime Aquarium
Ranked #1 of 36 things to do in Norwalk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Awarded the 2013 Certificate of Excellence by Trip Advisor. The Maritime Aquarium inspires people of all ages to appreciate Long Island Sound and protect it for future generations.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A manageable size and no crowd”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My 3 small grandkids (under 6) spent 3 hours cruising through the aquarium. We watched two seal feedings and they enjoyed the hands-on exhibits. Friday afternoon in March -- no crowd!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    269
    79
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun, Interesting Aquarium”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My office held our Holiday Party here and it was a great success. A cocktail hour was held near the otters which were a delight to watch swim around and dinner was held in the main gallery which is where the seals are kept.

When visiting for normal purposes, the shark tank is a great experience. Overall, the aquarium offers a huge variety of sea life and they really offer visitors a great opportunity to learn about the Coastal Connecticut marine life.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“A little worn but good for young children”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This NYC suburbs field trip staple plays it part very well in presenting middlebrow information about Long Island sound and displaying some of its fishy inhabitants (flounder, cool!). The main collection of exhibits shows its age with some cramped tanks. Seals spin around a small track and otter look for entertainment in their limited environment. The major, central tank still impresses with menacing 10 foot sharks staring hungrily into the small amphitheater. Attempts to mix it up with visiting exhibits (currently meerkats), and petting tanks (sorry stingrays) represent the headliners of the institution and cuts through the tedium of the displayed fish. While the snack bar area is to be avoided the aquarium offered the most incongruously sumptuous gift shop. In short, put this one on your biyearly calendar and don't plan to stay more than 90 minutes.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank thewestchestarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walden, NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our 5th visit and we'll keep coming back”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have been coming to this aquarium since our daughter was 2. She is almost 7 now, and we still enjoy all of our time here! We visited on a Sunday in January when their new "pet the jellyfish" exhibit opened. Jellyfish feel uniquely different than one would expect. The highlights of the visit for us are the shark/ray touch tank, and the meerkats. I think this is a great outing for a family group mixing all ages. We took advantage of a package deal with the nearby DoubleTree Hilton, which gave 1 night's stay and 4 admission/imax tickets (2 adult, 2 children). Highly recommended to aquarium lovers, families, or just about anyone.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank brianslady17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritime_Aquarium, Manager at The Maritime Aquarium, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for taking to review us not once, but twice! So happy to hear that you and your family have shared so many memories with us. Here's to many more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Meerkats and more!”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This was our second visit to the aquarium and it did not disappoint!
Although there is a large variety of sea life, our favorite pastime is watching the six, or so, meerkats frolicking within their natural-looking habitat. These adorable creatures are part of the mongoose family. Don't miss the jellyfish exhibits, as well. They offer a hypnotic experience!
The sharks are amazing to watch, as well as the rays, which are in a touch tank.
They also have a narrated exhibit with seals, which have been trained to perform tasks.
Plan to spend several hours, especially if you view one of the paid IMAX presentations.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank FiOS-Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Maritime Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing