We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Find on Main Street!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Norwalk
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find on Main Street!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We've stayed in Westport a few times when we are seeing a play at the Westport playhouse. Never considered staying in Norwalk which is the next town over. But we got a great deal for this hotel and without any expectations, we booked.
We pulled up to a hotel on Main Street which was fairly unimpressive from the outside and began to think we made a mistake. Then we walked in. The Hotel is beautifully modern, uplifting and upscale! Talk about use of different textues, both in the lobby and in the rooms which boast an opaque shower wall, wonderfully comfortable chaise lounger, free wi-fi, large bathroom, and every comfort you can think of (except for paper cups-not glassware). And the room is amazingly quiet.
The hotel has a wonderful roofdeck (chess, ping-pong, pool and mini-golf up there as well as various sunning lounge options). The reasonable rate includes a full warm buffet breakfast.
The staff couldn't have been more helpful (arranged for late checkout, etc.) This is a very uplifting and ultra-modern find which is convenient to everything. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the 'back' have a lovely view of trees, streams and waterfalls, but you hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Simpson, General Manager at Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Travelweb,

Thank you for posting such a wonderful and detailed review about us. It seems that we not only met but exceeded your expectations. I am thrilled to know you were pleasantly surprised once you walked through our doors and into our beautifully designed lobby and that the staff was quite helpful and friendly. More exciting is that you were able to experience and enjoy SKYTOP353. We certainly look forward to welcoming you once more on your next trip to the area.

Warmly,
Tim Simpson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    99
    30
    10
    11
See reviews for
89
122
19
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights. The hotel was a short distance from our children's house where other family members were staying. The staff were very friendly and greeted you every time you went past the front desk. The room ( king bed) was large with a desk and dresser. The chair and furniture was very modern design. The night table was a sleek design with metal top which clanked when you put keys and coins on top. This was the only ding I would give. They could put a leather liner on top the bathroom was large with a very large walk in shower. However, I saved the best for last. The bed and the bedding were extremely comfortable and we gotta great nights sleep. The bedding was very soft. Try to get a room in the front of the hotel as tree isa tran that runs past the back.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank edward02494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Simpson, General Manager at Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Edward02494,

Thank you for taking a moment to post this wonderful review about us. I am pleased to know that your 4 night stay with us was comfortable and that you especially enjoyed our beds. We hope to welcome you on your next visit to the area to see your family. Until then, safe travels.

Warmly,
Tim Simpson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed at Hotel Zero Degrees for four nights while house hunting in Connecticut. It definitely is the best option in Norwalk. The boutique design is lovely with a comfortable chaise lounger, a large shower, beautiful lighting and headboards, and many free movies available on demand. After a long day, we wanted to watch a movie but the on-demand device was not working in our room. After spending five minutes to try to fix it, the hotel upgraded us to another room that had a working device. That was a good foot to put forward.

While the hotel obviously spend a good amount of money in overall design, they scrimped on the details. The towels are cheap and scratchy, their Gilchrist & Soames offerings are cut short (conditioning shampoo, no actual conditioner), there are no robes on offer and their pillows are terribly inadequate. We decided to check out the breakfast buffet one day but left when we saw the motel-esque offerings with paper plates and plastic utensils in a sad conference room environment.

While the hotel is located on the Metro North line, the line stops running around 23:00 and starts again around 06:30. it is nothing that cannot be fixed by a pair of earplugs or a while noise application on your phone. If you are an early-to-bed, late-to-rise type, you may have more issues with the trains.

Their on-site restaurant, Meditteraneo, is absolutely outstanding. We made the choice to dine there every night of our stay and cannot wait to return.

Despite their room for improvement on the finer details, Hotel Zero Degrees is a hotel worth returning to again and again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieExplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Simpson, General Manager at Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear NatalielovesDub,

Thank you for posting this review. I am pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us while house hunting in the area. It is especially good to hear that service was prompt and efficient moving you to another room where the on-demand movies were working. We position ourselves as affordable luxury providing enhanced décor, service and amenities at a competitive price. Our on-site restaurant Mediterraneo is spectacular and just got a review of “Very Good” in the New York times. Thank you for voting us the best option in Norwalk and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warmly,
Tim Simpson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great reception, good welcome. Room really comfortable (love the chaise longue for watching tv) and a good bed.

Shame no glassware for beverages. And really big shame that breakfast is served on paper plates with plastic cutlery and cups. Spoils the boutique positioning.

Didn't get to check out the rooftop bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DP72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Simpson, General Manager at Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear DP72,

I appreciate you posting this review about us. Most importantly I am thrilled to know that you found our rooms very comfortable and enjoyed the warm and friendly welcome from the Front Desk. We only provide disposable coffee cups and water cups in the room however a quick call to the Front Desk and we will be happy to delivery glassware to you as needed. Our breakfast is served on eco-friendly bio-degradable plates as a limited service boutique hotel we found our guest liked the convenience of taking the breakfast back to their rooms or enjoying it in the lounge. This helps them feel more comfortable in doing so. Hopefully on your next trip you are able to experience our SKYTOP 353. Safe Travels.

Warmly,
Tim Simpson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
539 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Convenient location. Very nice hotel. We choose the room that we did so my daughter could sleep on the sleeper sofa. There were not sheets, blankets, etc. in the room. I went to the front desk to request them and when they were brought up, they brought up a blanket only - no sheet. Because it was late and she was exhausted, we made due. When I mentioned this at checkout, the front desk man said it was like camping. That comment was in poor taste and not what we expected from this classy establishment.

The elevator key was problematic and for most people, they had to get assistance from the hotel staff. I hope that's improved. The shower was WONDERFUL. The bed was comfy and the breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnumme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Simpson, General Manager at Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Dnumme,

I appreciate you posting this review about us. My apologies for those extra linens not being already in place to make you stay more comfortable. I am appalled at the response from the Front Desk Agent, this is in no way an indication of how we hope to service our guests and downright unacceptable. We called an immediate meeting with all staff to ensure everyone understands the effectiveness and importance of guest communication. As it pertain to the elevator we recently installed an additional safety feature which requires guests to use their keycard to access their floor. The first few days proved a bit troublesome but we are sailing smoothly now. I appreciate your genuine and detailed feedback.

Warmly,
Tim Simpson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Ultra modern design, comfortable beds, decent desk area and lounger for working. I think that other reviews about the glass wall in the bathroom have merit, but I am always by myself so, not a problem for me and quite stylish. There is a refrigerator(without freezer part which is a bummer for me as I need to refreeze my cooler pack) and mini keurig but no microwave (also a bummer). Staff suffers from unclear procedure which is very frustrating.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back hear the train more than rooms in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicki2259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Simpson, General Manager at Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Nicki2259,

Thank you for taking a moment to post this review about us. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed our comfortable beds, chic design and functional work area.My apologies if at any time the staff seemed unclear on procedure we are constantly undergoing training with them to ensure everyone possess equal knowledge to delivery exceptional service. Safe travels.

Warmly,
Tim Simpson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I loved the look & the ambiance of Hotel Zero Degrees. The staff was attentive, gave us dinner recommendations, and tended to our needs.
Even the fact that the train, buzzes by the back of the hotel in the woods; the view is spectacular.
It is open to the woods, & the most gorgeous waterfall & creek.
The beds were really comfortable, and the use of space in the room was genius!!!
I've never been to the east coast, I was impressed. The contemporary style of the hotel bashed my expectations of what "hotels had to look like in that area." Very chic.
I will definitely return.
Oh, and the complimentary breakfast was delicious & offered lots of choices, for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Simpson, General Manager at Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Cheryl M,

Thank you for taking a moment to post such a great review. I am thrilled to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. From our comfortable rooms, delicious warm breakfast buffet, chic décor, and wonderful views of the waterfall and river out back. I am pleased to know we exceeded your expectations for hotels in the area and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warmly,
Tim Simpson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwalk
0.5 mi away
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
#1 of 12 in Norwalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#2 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Norwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Norwalk
Courtyard Norwalk
#2 of 12 in Norwalk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk
1.9 mi away
Norwalk Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk

Property: Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk
Address: 353 Main Ave, Norwalk, CT 06851-1508
Region: United States > Connecticut > Norwalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Norwalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is nothing typical about the Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk. From our ideal setting in the heart of Norwalk to the picturesque rooftop terrace, we’ve designed a hotel for travelers who want something different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing