We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful, restful views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolce Norwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolce Norwalk
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Norwalk
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“beautiful, restful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Was at this property in April, 2013 for 3 nights for meeting. My room was very zen-like and looked out at gorgeous property with ornamental trees in full bloom with flowers. Room well-furnished, super-comfortable bed. Excellent heating/air-conditioning in room and was able to keep on a low-fan speed to provide "white-noise" so I did not hear any noise from the hallway.

Enjoyed the walking trail around the pond!

Food was buffet with numerous choices. Restaurant staff was very attentive. All staff have a "can-do" attitude. Free garage for the car right next to accommodations. Would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AAEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    54
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
36
14
6
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Most definitely a conferene center and not a hotel. grounds are very nice. Went away on a family retreat. Staff was very attentive to the needs of the guests, but in keeping with what one expects at a conference center, they are not very knowledgable at the front desk about the area. Nothing like a concierge on site. They do have a few bikes to lend out, but no bike helmets. Nice pool, middling size basketball court, average fitness center.

This used to be a monastery until approx 30 years ago. There is still a small cemetery of brothers and fathers, and there are stations of the cross around the pond and leading to the cemetery. There is a second small cemetery dating back to the mid 1800s of some of the original site settlers, near the barn that is at the entrance. Apparently, when the resort purchased the property from the Catholic Church the sale was conditional on not disturbing the cemeteries and stations. But the monastery was otherwise torn down and new buildings erected. So no ghosts.....

Room Tip: All rooms are the same size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

I recently made my second visit to Dolce, for a weekend workshop. The staff is very warm and attentive. The food was above and beyond -- varied, creative, and high quality. The peaceful setting helped us all get away from daily cares and focus on regeneration. I was with a large group and heard only praise for the facility, the staff, and the food. I'm very happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

I just completed a weekend seminar at Dolce, and overall the place was amazing, and I def. recommend it.
The staff was very helpful and the overall property is just large enough to get out for walks in the wood, around their pond, in the local neighborhoods, etc...
We also had cont. breakfast, full lunch and dinner there, and that alone sends this place into the stratosphere. We had a diverse group, so there was something for everyone, including gluten free choices.
So why the 4 instead of 5 circles.
Its because my room was just threadbare enough for me to notice. Examples --
>>I used the desk a lot, and the ink blotter holder frame had come apart but had not been switched out. Why?
>>There was a cup stain by the window sill and other wood areas clearly needed refinishing.
>> The shower curtain inner liner had mildew on it.
So even the room was good, but that's the one miss on an otherwise great stay - and if I was an event planner, I'd still consider this place -- but press on room condition. On the other hand, they did have many good things with the rooms...pod coffee (and even better available in the lobby in the morning),a great mattress/pillows, free wi-fi that has a strong signal (in my room anyway).
Final note, I did not use the work out room, but rate that ave. for this kind of hotel, but they have a huge indoor pool, a full basketball court, and outdoor tennis courts -- crazy cool for those that want to keep the body working.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tipscorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

What a gorgeous place to stay. I highly recommend the Dolce. I was there for a conference. The staff went out of their way to make us all comfortable. The Continental breakfast was lavish. Snacks were supplied through out the day! The room was warm and beautiful. I enjoyed my stay immensely! Great food! reasonable prices!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drag0nfly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

If you are looking for a good place for a small group meeting - Dolce in Norwalk is it. Other than the gym the facilities are nice and food is very good. Bar is large, but pool tables need a refit. Loved the intimacy of the place relative to other large conference facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usainbda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Our whole experience at this hotel was awful. The room was not clean, the bathroom had some kind of brown matter on the shower curtain and there were not enough towels for the four of us. To add insult to injury after getting in very late, the fire alarm went off at 1:30 in the morning. Some dope left their iron on. When we returned to our room after being gone for 4 hours it was still not cleaned. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwalk hotels
2.5 mi away
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
#1 of 12 in Norwalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Norwalk
2.6 mi away
Norwalk Inn & Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Norwalk
Courtyard Norwalk
#2 of 12 in Norwalk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Norwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Norwalk

Property: Dolce Norwalk
Address: 32 Weed Ave, Norwalk, CT 06850-2223
Region: United States > Connecticut > Norwalk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Norwalk
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolce Norwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Dolce Norwalk Hotel Norwalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing