We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the worst, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Norwalk
Reviewed 28 January 2014

A bit disappointing. The hotel is worn, very clean but worn. The windows are very drafty and it was an extremely cold night which made it very difficult to regulate the temperature in the room.
And skip the restaurant, it was just awful.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Rjv33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGuerrero, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

I called ahead to book my room and prepay on a corporate card. When I arrived at the hotel for my stay the room was only reserved and not prepaid. This resulted in my accountant who's name the card was in having to call and authorize the payment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGuerrero, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for contacting us with your billing request. We appreciate the opportunity to be of assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Doubletree staff bent over backwards for our large crew. The price was great and the location perfect. Next to restaurants and all the stores we needed. We were super close to NY as well and right off the highway for easy access

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGuerrero, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for contacting our Sales Office to make special arrangements for your large group. We are pleased that the wedding weekend was memorable for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The front desk clerk named Eric has no business interacting with guests. He was beyond rude and obnoxious. Made check-in complicated and horrible. That set the tone for our stay. We never had a chance to make use of any hotel amenities. The room was nice and clean and the rest of the staff were nice and helpful. My rating of "poor" for service is specifically due to Eric at the front desk. Everyone else was good but I cannot rate the overall service any better than poor due to him.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGuerrero, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

We are glad that you found your room to be clean and comfortable. Please visit us again so that you have a chance to use the hotel amenities as well. We look forward to seeing you on a future trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Boxborough, Massachusetts
15
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel is old and poorly constructed, with very thin windows and wall and very loud, poorly designed and maintained heating / AC units. In many cases the heat doesn't work at all, and when it does you experience wild temperature swings from sweltering to freezing. Nobody seems at all interested in addressing the issues. The staff is generally disinterested and sometimes surly if you complain.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGuerrero, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

This winter we have experienced various temperature extremes, both high and low. Just this week we experienced a 50 degree temperature fluctuation in just 2 days. We work our best to keep up with these rapid changes by adjusting our heating and cooling systems. We always welcome and are happy to receive feedback on where improvement is needed. Thank you for taking the time to note your experience for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Hilton Norwalk always has a clean, comfortable room available when i travel on business or pleasure. When i stay on business i receive quality treatment and can relax. When i stay with family the hotel acommadates my children with the pool. The rooms offer movies and videos for the kids to relax. This hotel is easy to get to and convenient for my travel schedule. I reccomend staying for both family and business.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Joesph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGuerrero, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

It's great to hear that you found the location of the hotel to be convenient. The Doubletree is located at exit 13 of I-95 and our complimentary shuttle service provides access to all the area has to offer. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were impressed with the great service and nicely appointed room on our recent stay. Location was convenient, parking was free and hotel staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Glad to know there's a nice, clean, full-service hotel with a rate lower than many limited-service properties in the area. We'll stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank gailschenone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGuerrero, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thanks for the wonderful compliment about our staff. They are what makes the Doubletree a home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwalk
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Norwalk
4.1 mi away
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
#1 of 11 in Norwalk
430 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Norwalk Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Norwalk
Courtyard Norwalk
#2 of 11 in Norwalk
343 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk
6.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk

Address: 789 Connecticut Avenue, Norwalk, CT 06854-1615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Norwalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Norwalk
#6 Business Hotel in Norwalk
Price Range: £80 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your stay at our Norwalk hotel with a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Enjoy the convenience of our proximity to local attractions such as the Maritime Aquarium, Stepping Stones Museum and the Lockwood-Mathews Mansion. Our hotel in Norwalk, CT is just 30 minutes from Westchester County Airport. Be sure to plan ahead for the Norwalk Oyster Festival and book your stay for Labor Day weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree - Norwalk Hotel Norwalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing