We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Norwalk
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Room was clean, bed comfortable and room service prompt and delicious. I made an error booking with hotel.com, they would not correct or change my reservation but the manager at Doubletree did give me the benefit and credit. Very understanding and accommodating.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank meryl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGuerrero, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to assist with your reservation. We appreciate you choosing the Doubletree by Hilton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Hotel is easy to find and the staff were very professional. Rooms were nice but small in size. The beds are comfortable, but I personally prefer firmer pillows. Free wifi was easy to use and up-to-speed. This hotel has an attached restaurant, so they do not offer continental breakfast.

The crowning glory, in my opinion, lies in two areas: the indoor pool, and the package deal for the nearby Maritime Aquarium. There is a deal for $135 in the winter months, where you get a night's stay, along with admission for 2 adults and 2 children to the Aquarium, plus an Imax movie along with the aquarium stay. This was the purpose of our visit, so we took advantage of the offer-- nice to get a reduced price on the aquarium admission fee, with a pleasant room to top off the deal.
The indoor pool was bliss! toasty warm and very clean. It felt amazingly relaxing to swim during the middle of a cold January day. The pool seemed well-kept and we swam twice. One slightly annoying thing about the pool: rambunctious preeteen boys with checked-out parents not reigning them in. But that's not the hotel's fault!

We would recommend this hotel, if you're visiting the aquarium.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianslady17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGuerrero, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

We're glad you enjoyed your recent visit to the Maritime Aquarium and also had a chance to enjoy the hotels indoor pool during your visit. We hope to see you again on a future visit to Norwalk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

A bit disappointing. The hotel is worn, very clean but worn. The windows are very drafty and it was an extremely cold night which made it very difficult to regulate the temperature in the room.
And skip the restaurant, it was just awful.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Rjv33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGuerrero, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I called ahead to book my room and prepay on a corporate card. When I arrived at the hotel for my stay the room was only reserved and not prepaid. This resulted in my accountant who's name the card was in having to call and authorize the payment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGuerrero, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for contacting us with your billing request. We appreciate the opportunity to be of assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Doubletree staff bent over backwards for our large crew. The price was great and the location perfect. Next to restaurants and all the stores we needed. We were super close to NY as well and right off the highway for easy access

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGuerrero, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for contacting our Sales Office to make special arrangements for your large group. We are pleased that the wedding weekend was memorable for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The front desk clerk named Eric has no business interacting with guests. He was beyond rude and obnoxious. Made check-in complicated and horrible. That set the tone for our stay. We never had a chance to make use of any hotel amenities. The room was nice and clean and the rest of the staff were nice and helpful. My rating of "poor" for service is specifically due to Eric at the front desk. Everyone else was good but I cannot rate the overall service any better than poor due to him.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGuerrero, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

We are glad that you found your room to be clean and comfortable. Please visit us again so that you have a chance to use the hotel amenities as well. We look forward to seeing you on a future trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Boxborough, Massachusetts
15
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel is old and poorly constructed, with very thin windows and wall and very loud, poorly designed and maintained heating / AC units. In many cases the heat doesn't work at all, and when it does you experience wild temperature swings from sweltering to freezing. Nobody seems at all interested in addressing the issues. The staff is generally disinterested and sometimes surly if you complain.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerardoGuerrero, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

This winter we have experienced various temperature extremes, both high and low. Just this week we experienced a 50 degree temperature fluctuation in just 2 days. We work our best to keep up with these rapid changes by adjusting our heating and cooling systems. We always welcome and are happy to receive feedback on where improvement is needed. Thank you for taking the time to note your experience for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwalk
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Norwalk
3.6 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Norwalk
Courtyard Norwalk
#3 of 11 in Norwalk
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Norwalk Inn & Conference Center
4.1 mi away
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
#1 of 11 in Norwalk
437 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#4 of 14 in Stamford
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk

Address: 789 Connecticut Ave, Norwalk, CT 06854-1615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Norwalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Norwalk
#6 Business Hotel in Norwalk
Price Range: £78 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your stay at our Norwalk hotel with a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Enjoy the convenience of our proximity to local attractions such as the Maritime Aquarium, Stepping Stones Museum and the Lockwood-Mathews Mansion. Our hotel in Norwalk, CT is just 30 minutes from Westchester County Airport. Be sure to plan ahead for the Norwalk Oyster Festival and book your stay for Labor Day weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree - Norwalk Hotel Norwalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing