We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff But Hotel Was Just Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Norwich
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milton, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff But Hotel Was Just Okay”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Let me start off with the good pointers. The beds were pretty comfortable and the room was very spacious. It included a mini fridge and looked as if it had a space for a microwave (we were told every room included a microwave), however there was no microwave in the room. Another good thing was most of the staff was very friendly, which was a plus. They also offer a free shuttle to the casino and back that rotates about every half hour. It was about a 5-7 minute drive and saved us the hassle of driving and trying to park.

Now on to some of the not so nice things...The bathroom was very tiny, and the door swung inward which meant that you almost had to move behind the toilet in order to shut the door when you were in there. Also, the drain in the shower was very rusty and kind of gross looking. I know they had just done a bunch of renovations to the hotel, but I think that the shower drain definitely could have either been redone and updated or used a very, very good cleaning. The sink counter top though was very nice and clean and looks like it had recently been updated.

We only stayed for one night just to see a concert at the Mohegan Sun. But almost immediately after check in we ran into a problem with our room. After having checked in we decided to lay down on the beds for a few minutes since it was a long day of driving and we were tired. After a few minutes we sat up on the edge of the bed just talking and about 10 minutes later out of nowhere, the headboard that was hanging on the wall just fell off onto the bed. It hit my aunt in the shoulder/arm but she was fine. I was just thankful that she wasn't still lying on the bed as if she had been it would have fallen right on top of her head.

I called down to the front desk to see about getting someone to come fix it. I was told that they would send somebody right up. An hour later at 4pm nobody had shown up yet and we were suppose to catch a 4:30pm shuttle to the casino. So I called back down but nobody answered as the phone rang about 30 times. So I decided to go down to the front desk. I spoke with the gentleman that was there and told him that we were told maintenance would be up an hour ago and all he said is he had just arrived and was not aware of the situation. He said he would phone maintenance again. Finally the head of housekeeping Kristy had shown up and had to take an accident report since the board did hit my aunt. She was very nice and kept apologizing. She even called the shuttle driver and asked them to hold the shuttle for us as we may be a minute or two late. I was a little unhappy because I really didn't want a maintenance person in our room while we were gone with all of our stuff there and would have rather been there with him, but it looks like I didn't really have a choice since it was so late. But Kristy informed us that she would make sure the room was fixed by the time we arrived back that night.

When we arrived back the wall was fixed and everything was put back together. The Operations Manager also stopped by and offered us a gift bag full of treats and an apology card for the hassle and disturbance. The gift bag was nice but it would have been nicer if they had offered us free breakfast instead, but I've worked in hotels in the past and understand the way everything works so it wasn't that surprising.

The stay overall was okay, but it probably would not be my first choice when coming back to the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
We did reach out to Ms. Hamilton as soon as we were notified that the head board came off the wall to see if she would like to seek medical attention, which she declined saying it had just grazed her shoulder. Our engineer was currently involved with a immediate part of our renovations so there was a delay in getting up to her room and replacing the headboard. Due to the nature of the incident , the engineer had to replace the entire screw system to provide ample support to the headboard. I later went up to the room with a gift basket and bottled water and a hand written note. We have offered complimentary breakfast as a guest recovery but I thought that a hand written note and gift basket deliveried by a manager was a more personal response in this incident.
We truly offered our most sincere apologies to the guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    100
    60
    24
    34
See reviews for
64
121
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Averill Park, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This holiday inn is great. Clean, great location, nice restaurant, very helpful and friendly employees. Rooms were very clean and beds were very comfortable. Every one working here said hello and couldn't help you enough to be sure you were well satisfied and happy. The breakfast was excellent and the waitress was wonderful. This is one Holiday Inn that I would book again in a heartbeat. Thank you all for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanR63S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Jean,
Thank you for your great comments and we are so pleased that you took the time to share your comments with us! We will certainly be sure that all staff members know what a great job they are doing! We hope that you choose to stay with us again soon as we are currently finishing our renovations and are excited to share our fresh new look with our valued guests like yourself!
Warm regards,
Gail Oettinger
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

If you like outdated decor, worn out carpet and empty beer bottles in the elevator, this is ths spot for you. Appears that hotel is under rennovation but the construction workers took over the place. Best part of stay was free shuttle to Mohegan Sun. They had signs all over saying stay impressed while they rennovate. I was not impressed from the start. Doubtful do over for me.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
We are sincerely apologetic that we were not able to meet your expectations. We are currently under going renovations so as to update the property and provide a fresh, new look for valued customers such as yourself. Unfortunately during any property refresh there are areas of distrubance and trying to minimize them is our first goal. We strive to provide great guest services and go the extra mile to keep your inconveniences limited.
We respect your frustrations and again offer our apologies. We do hope that you would return if you come to the area and then enjoy the benefits of all the hard work involved to bring our property to a fantastic new look!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Exeter, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We selected this hotel for the location (close to the casino) and the free shuttle. From the moment we arrived, we had problems, with a couple of exceptions... We arrived early not sure if our room would be ready, however it was. When we got to the room, it was still not cleaned. They offered to move us to a different room and said they would bring new keys right up. After waiting 15 minutes, I went down to the lobby and the lobby clerk was flirting with a cleaning person. They said "oh we were just about to come up".... hummm. They did give us a breakfast coupon for the trouble. The bartender Brenda was awesome - so sweet and helpful. Later that evening when we were getting ready to take the shuttle to the casino (we were going to see a show) there were five policemen in the lobby trying to subdue a disgruntled customer. The kitchen manager asked us to go into the bar and gave us a free drink. There was a lot of construction going on, including on our floor. Indoor swimming pool was accessible but not really that clean due to construction. The water was freezing so we did not swim. The patio area was quite dirty due to being used primarily by smokers. Beds were very comfortable. No blow drier in the room so we had to call down for one. Overall, everyone was nice enough however there was a general feeling of disorganization and lack of management. We paid $280 for one night and it was not even worth half that.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimic624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian D, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank You for taking the time to inform us of your concerns. We apologize for not meeting all of your expectations. It is unfortunate that one disruptive guest caused so much inconvenience to our valued guest such as yourself. That being said, it also consumed our management's immediate attention to ensure the safety of all our guests. We are currently undergoing some remodeling to our property which will bring a new and fresh look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Granby, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My wife brought me here for a birthday trip to the casino. There was a funk to the carpets in the floor we stayed on but the room didn't look to bad at first. It had a fridge which is always a plus and it was in decent shape. As soon as we got there the toilet wouldn't flush. They sent someone up to fix it fairly quickly. The toilet stopped working again in the middle of the night. We found out in the morning that our friends who were also staying there had problems with their toilet as well. They were on a different floor. I'm not sure what is wrong with the plumbing there but it's not the type of problem you want to deal with on a night away. I mentioned it at the front desk when checking out and didn't even get an apology or really even an acknowledge it. Terrible customer service.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhollyHeretic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. I have spoke with the chief engineer about the plumbing issues so that they may be addressed properly. We have also instructed our shuttle drivers to do periodic floors walks to prevent future hallway disturbances.
We strive to provide great guest experiences and when we fall short we value your comments so that we may correct the issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

First of all, when I stay at a hotel, I'm not a guest, I'm a paying customer! This being said, I was a 'guest' at this hotel from Feb. 19-21 as I was moving from Mystic to another location in Connecticut. During the first night at the hotel, my brand new 2013 car was vandalized in the Holiday Inn parking lot. When I discovered the damages, I reported it immediately to the management. The security guard to pictures of the car & we filled in a report. There was over $3,889.39 worth of damages done to my car & Holiday Inn refuses to pay my deductible --- their argument is "you park at your own risk" and they are not liable!! My recommendation is to stay away from this Holiday Inn! You'll be staying at your own peril! Is this a good way to treat your 'guests'?

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaMaFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian D, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
I truly apologize but we cannot be responsible for vehicles. Ahs this could have happened anywhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Spent one night at this hotel and enjoyed our stay. Anna was very pleasant at the front desk and helpful. We asked for a room move and she happily moved us and even gave us drink coupons for having to move. Shuttle driver was great! We used the shuttle to commute to Mohegan. Awesome service that you offer! Loved the pool tables in the lounge and the fact that the bar stayed open until after 1:00 am. Breakfast was good but service wasn't great. Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forrette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kwsun12, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you Forrett for your review of your recent stay with. We appreciate all the comments that you left, and will make sure that the service in our breakfast restaurant WOWs you the next time you stay with us. Thank you again and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,321 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites- Norwich
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,684 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Uncasville
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Norwich
Courtyard Norwich
#5 of 6 in Norwich
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich
Address: 10 Laura Blvd, Norwich, CT 06360-6429
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are here for work or play, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Norwich is the perfect destination conveniently located off 1-395, exit 80 with spacious rooms and 8,000 sq.ft. of meeting space. Newly renovated guest rooms offer comfortable pillow top beds, HDTVs, microwave, refrigerators & free WiFi. Enjoy a swim in our indoor pool or re-energize in our fitness center. Dine in for lunch, dinner or to grab a drink in Scorzz Sports Bar & Grill. Scorzz also offers 13 HDTVs, pool tables, dart, shuffle board and other electronic games. With daily shuttle service to Mohegan Sun Casino only 3 miles away and close proximity to Foxwoods and Mystic plus several beaches, you will find that there’s plenty to do from playing by the seashore to testing your luck! *Daily complimentary shuttle service to Mohegan Sun Casino is available on a first come, first serve basis and must sign-up with the Front Desk at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing