We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity and Charm”
Review of Vagia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vagia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vagia
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Serenity and Charm”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Everything about Vagia hotel conspires to make it a place of relaxation and enjoyment. Notis is helpful in so many ways - he expertly helped us with hire cars, recommendations of places to see and tavernas to visit, as well as helping with all the details - yet despite his hard work, makes everything seem easy and laid back. His dry sense of humour and playlist of vintage jazz and Greek music created the perfect atmosphere. Maria is graciousness personified. The decor is understated and timeless, with a cozy feel, and inviting indoor and outdoor spaces around every corner for reading, chatting or simply absorbing the beauty of the day. We were there for a week, and still didn’t manage to sit in every single cozy nook! The rooms were beautifully decorated, each with an inviting balcony, and spotlessly clean. The home-made breakfasts use fresh ingredients and are all too tempting. The hotel is located within view of the sea and easy walking distance (5 minutes) of local beaches and a choice of excellent local tavernas. We often had the smaller of the beaches to ourselves, and found a warm welcome in the local tavernas. A well preserved temple to Aphaiea is walkable (it took us 50 minutes), and with a hire car, scooter or bicycle, you can find plenty of stunning beaches, interesting archaeological sites, the bustling port of Aegina and superb food within easy reach. I was sad to leave and can’t wait for the opportunity to go back.

Room Tip: I didn’t compare my room to others, but it appeared from the outside of the buildings that all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank InnocentAbroad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    19
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
43
129
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

i enjoyed my stay at Vagia. What a delight! I showed up at the door without any reservation, yet Notis and his mom Maria welcomed me with warmth.
No demand is too tazxng for these people. The lush floral surroundings and delicious breakfast along with the casual banter offered by Notis really charmed me. I wanted to stay much longer, so what became a sure-fire one day stay turned into three. I loved my room and the view. I was bathing in an idyllic paradise; the beach by the way is a stroll away and the taverna there offers fabulous food.
Vagia's reception decor is utterly relaxing as is its terrace and grounds in general.
Where else in the word can you find a host who shows vintage films outdoors at night, even if you are the only one watching? This place is all about you and you and your comfort. I wanted to stay on adn on and on..As a professional travel writer, I have reviewed hotels the world over, and thsi one ranks tops for friendliness, countryside beauty and all-round comfort.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side are lovely and the balconies offer great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R8122SVtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brevard, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

It was a dream stay from the beginning. Notis, our host, was so helpful and Maria was a true joy. The room was extremely comfortable-we really felt like family. I don't travel much, but you can be sure the next time I go to Greece it will include a long stay at the Vagia Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Katina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lidingö, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I came back from my 13th stay at Vagia Hotel just a week ago and I already miss it and long to go back. That should be a recommendation in itself, but still I will try to tell you what it is that makes this hotel so special.
The most important thing is the warmth and friendliness with which you are taken care of by Maria and her sons. I always feel like a personal friend visiting.
The hotel is set in av beautiful spot close to the sea in the small village Vagia. The rooms and surroundings are personally and artisticly decorated and you can always find a nice place to sit down and relax, read, paint or do whatever is your preference.
And then last - but not least - there are the fantastic breakfasts that are served every morning on the terrace. Exept from all the basics of a hotel breakfast there is also a varity of home made pies, pastries, jams and cakes - new every day.
As long as this pearl of a hotel exists I will continue to come back for att least a week every year!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at the Vagia hotel for five nights, and can echo the reviews from other Tripadvisor members in that it is excellent. We were welcomed by Notis after a very long journey from Delphi with drinks and cheese pastries, and given lots of recommendations on restaurants and what to see and do whilst there, and he was spot on. The room was spacious and clean, with a little balcony from where we could view the ships and the Piraeus in the distance. We were blown away by breakfast, which consisted of Maria's famous chocolate and banana cake, home made marmalade and bread, cheese pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereals, and eggs to order. The old time music drifting through the hallway as we ate and listened to cicadas really made it magical.

I had fallen ill earlier on our trip whilst in Northern Greece and Maria and Notis couldn't do enough for me; Maria made me rice and delivered it to our room in an effort to get some sustenance inside me, which was thoughtful and kind, and Notis plied me with chamomile tea, and i thank them both wholeheartedly for this, you really won't find better hosts. In short, they have managed to fuse old fashioned Greek hospitality with the needs of the modern day traveller, which is why people come back year after year. Whilst we were there a painting party turned up; this was their twelfth year at the hotel, and it's easy to see why.

The grounds are stunningly beautiful, with little nooks and crannies where you can sit and listen to the sounds of nature, or just have a drink and a snack on the terrace and watch the world go by. Vagia beach is just a few minutes walk away (turn left at the church), Aegina town just 15 minutes in the car, and the truly magnificent monastery of St Nectarios and Paleochora less than ten minutes. It really was wonderful, and i thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: First floor is brilliant, as you can see the sea and Athens in the distance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BipBip2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We couldn't do otherwise but fall in love with the place... Traditional with a soul of its own,super quiet, ideal for relaxing. Rooms are very spacious and clean. The beaches are nearby, clean and easily accessible so are the paths that lead to chapels and temples up in the mountains. The beach restaurant chairs makes it easy if you do the drinking. I never came accross such a breakfast, all very natural and exquisite, cooked by the owner of the hotel. The hotel is run by a family with great taste that welcomes you like they know you a lifetime. To eat, excellent and cheaply try the nearby familly restaurants. The hotel owners also will recommend where to eat and what! All their recommendations are spot on! We are grateful for this journey back in time...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

You will like it because it is a beautiful, relaxing and peaceful place. You will love it because of the great hospitality, the wonderful people with their fantastic sense of humour that they will make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive and because of the delicious breakfast that includes fresh and handmade treats.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MatinaPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vagia
1.7 mi away
Hotel Rachel
Hotel Rachel
#4 of 28 in Agia Marina
285 reviews
1.5 mi away
Irides Luxury Studios
Irides Luxury Studios
#1 of 5 in Souvala
170 reviews
1.5 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#2 of 28 in Agia Marina
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Galini Hotel
Galini Hotel
#13 of 28 in Agia Marina
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Anatoli
Hotel Anatoli
#14 of 28 in Agia Marina
76 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ela Mesa Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagia Hotel

Property: Vagia Hotel
Address: Afeas, Vagia 180 10, Greece
Region: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Aegina > Vagia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vagia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Vagia Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vagia is located in the picturesque fishing village of Vagia. The village is surrounded by beautiful pine-trees and has organized beach with basketball court, taverns and a picturesque small port. The location is a perfect starting point to the islands most important sights. The hotel is located about 120m from the village beach and about 500m from the beautiful beach of Tourlo. Hotel Vagia is built according to Aeginian architecture and has 21 comfortable and rooms which are located in 2-two storied buildings. Most rooms have sea view and they are carefully furnished according to local traditional style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Vagia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing