We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice place to stay and enjoy the fantastic sea and pine air of Aegina island”
Review of Vagia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vagia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vagia
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A very nice place to stay and enjoy the fantastic sea and pine air of Aegina island”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is an very nice and calm place to stay in the island of Aegina. You feel like your own home.
Very quite all the day you vever hear or feel the other residents. The front garden yard is open all day and there you can enjoy either the fantastic breakfast (all sweets are hand prepared by Maria the owner) or your book reading or your internet surfing with the free wi fi. From this spot you can enjoy either by walking or by short biking or very short driving the rate A clean and warm seas of Aegina - surrounded by the green and the smell of the pine trees. It is worthy to add that nearby are also located 3 TOP restaurants to explore the summer Greek cuisine.

Room Tip: if you want sea view or coolest rooms pl discuss it with the hotel management
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EUGENE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    16
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
117
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Vagia Hotel is a lovely hotel (about 20-25 minutes by taxi from Aegina town). It is traditional and old fashioned but comfortable. The owners (Maria and Noti) go out of their way to make you feel welcome. There is a lovely terrace area where you have breakfast and can eat in the evening. Breakfasts are delicious. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the little beach. We also ate at "Aerides" (cafe down by the beach - excellent - we recommend) and the fish place a little further along (bad - avoid). Would also recommend: (a) a one-hour massage at the hotel (Noti will phone to arrange for the lady - Kitty - to come in); and (b) a 50 minute hike up the hill to see the Temple - beautiful and great views - but go early or late to avoid the heat (check with Noti re opening times).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank porthillyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Vagia, as a little town, is peaceful and exactly what is needed to escape from the routine of the big city. If you have the same anxiety levels as me in your everyday life, Vagia Hotel is the place for you and your other half!!!!!!!!! Go there!!!! Drink Ouzo! Enjoy the view!!!!!! Enjoy your rooms, om my God, I didn't wanted to leave my room... I felt something like a good aura in it.. <3

Room Tip: Every room that Notis give you Is surely gonna be great!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Pavlitsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Vagia Hotel on our honeymoon. Not only were the owners of the hotel extremely friendly, welcoming, and kind, they also gave us great recommendations of places to eat and things to do in the neighborhood. They arranged for us to rent a motorbike to ride around the island, which made our time so much easier! And the food was phenomenal - especially the delicious carrot cake and stuffed vegetables at dinner :) We were treated like family and the hotel itself is lovely. Although the rooms are basic, they have all the amenities one needs and are clean and nicely decorated. The balconies are lovely and the grounds of the hotel - including the gorgeous patio, where breakfast is served every morning - are beautiful. The beach is less than a five-minute walk away! Perfect for a romantic weekend getaway or a longer stay - highest possible praise and strongest recommendation!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda3159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I travel every week for business and work, and never leave comments for any hotel, mainly because I stay in big international hotel chains, which dont differ one from the other.

However, I got my agenda cancelled in Athens and looked for a last minute boat to go to a close island. I booked the last room in this hotel.... not even knowing where this was.
Staying at Vagia was very different experience: since the very first moment the owner comes outside to welcome you, brings you a piece of homemade orange cake and starts making a planning for your stay.
From a walk to the mountaing, to recommending you a solitary, turquoise clear water beach just 500mts away.
He even lent me his bike and wrote down some typical greek restaurants around....

When you discover (after a couple of beers at the reception) that this guy was a salesman for a multinational medical company, you start doubting about what the purpose of work is.
He is a happy, visionary and strategist guy who lives a relaxed and happy life in an amazing greek island.

Thank you Noti for your kind service, would definitely go back.

Rafael

Room Tip: Just book, relax and go for the bike tour to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rafael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were traveling in Greece - tour of the Sardonic islands. We loved Hydra and Spetses, hated Poros and felt in love with Agistri. We also stayed in Aegina. Must say it was not our favorite island -but than again we came from the peace of Spetses and Hydra (no cars, for one thing). We stayed for five days - that is quite long, if you want to see the island you can do it in 3 days, of course if you want to stay on beaches you can stay longer. Hotel Vagia is located on the best part of the island. There are some touristic spots you better avoid. The coast were hotel Vagia is located offers peace and quite and gives a taste of authentic Greece. Hotel Vagia is a "lagoon" on its own, with a very specific charming atmosphere - Jazz playing all day, all doors and windows open to the central part of the hotel. Rooms offer space and have a private (small) balcony. It all lies in details of course - fresh fruit available all day, bikes you can just take to go to the beach (beach is very nearby - two taverns on the beach - not too crowed (no comparison to the other beaches on the island - very touristic and crowded), bar that is always open - you can order what you want (drinks), always someone there to help you out. If you want to rent a car, Notis will take care of that. So no fuzz: your car is there within a few hours. We found Notis and his mother Maria helpful in any way. They represent truly the "Greek hospitality". So: if you want to visit Aegina, one address: hotel Vagia!

Room Tip: Better to ask for a room not on the street side (the neighbors on the other side of the street wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I booked a room in this hotel after reading the Trip Advisor reviews, thinking that even if half is true i would be happy for our last minute one night escape form Athens. I was so pleased to find that all that was written was true. The wonderful porch full of flowers, the welcome, the quietness of the place, the simple but excellent rooms, the homemade breakfast, Noti's helpful advice, the artistic touches around the place that please your eyes and show that it is kept with love and care and respect for its guests. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vagia
6.1 mi away
Hotel Rastoni
Hotel Rastoni
#1 of 15 in Aegina Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.5 mi away
Irides Luxury Studios
Irides Luxury Studios
#1 of 5 in Souvala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.7 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#1 of 29 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ela Mesa Luxury Apartments
1.7 mi away
Hotel Rachel
Hotel Rachel
#3 of 29 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.5 mi away
Xanthippi Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagia Hotel

Property: Vagia Hotel
Address: Afeas, Vagia 180 10, Greece
Region: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Aegina > Vagia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vagia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Vagia Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vagia is located in the picturesque fishing village of Vagia. The village is surrounded by beautiful pine-trees and has organized beach with basketball court, taverns and a picturesque small port. The location is a perfect starting point to the islands most important sights. The hotel is located about 120m from the village beach and about 500m from the beautiful beach of Tourlo. Hotel Vagia is built according to Aeginian architecture and has 21 comfortable and rooms which are located in 2-two storied buildings. Most rooms have sea view and they are carefully furnished according to local traditional style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Vagia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing