We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You love nature? You will love this place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ban Xieng Lom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Zen Namkhan is best spot to start discovering the beautiful area around Luang Prabang: trecks, kayak, elephants, villages. Even not to far from Luang Prabang itself, if You want to take a daily ride of 20 min there and back. The hosts offer free rides almost every day. Alternative option is scooter or taxi (20 US$). Very friendly stuff, very good food. I loved it!

Room Tip: Honey Moon Suite is best - connected the the place only by a bamboo bridge and next to the river.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indianajone27, Owner at Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Holger, it's was a pleasure to have you with your friends at the resort and to share with you the beauty of Laos. What a great day in kayak we had! Thank to take the time to give us your feed back about your stay with us. Hope to see you again here or in Berlin, soon! Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Amazing Place! Truly heaven on earth! It's been a year since i stayed, but I still think about it everyday. It's hard to get out once you're inside this Resort because 1. It's too relaxing & beautiful 2. Everything is just so far away and there is no sense in going out because everything is just mediocre compared to the view and peace Zen Namkhan has to offer. Truth is it is challenging to get in and out of this place, but it is worth it!

My favorite parts at Zen Nam Khan:

1. Awesome breakfast fit for a queen overviewing the mountains
2. Taking open-air showers over looking the River
3. Their Cute Golden Lab
4. Awesome massage in their spa at the middle of the mountain
5. Relaxing mid-day river canoe ride (ahhh so much peace)
6. Staff that go out of your way to make your stay great!

Please take note that you will really feel nature's presence when you stay here. The hiking to and from one amenity to the other, lots of insects everywhere. But what do you expect? You're at the mountain!

Room Tip: They give you an upgrade when their occupancy is low!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indianajone27, Owner at Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Katya G! This is one of the most nice compliment we had. Thank you to share with us your appreciation of the resort. Now Copain have 3 friends! (3 cats) you must see them sleeping side by side! Thank again for your comments and I am please you didn't forget us;))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy peace and quiet and solitude. Luc and Moon are wonderful hosts and they have a great staff, especially Khamsaen who will help you with all of your needs.
I spent three nights here with a buddy, we wanted to go into town and Moon gave us a lift into Luang Prabang and picked us up in the afternoon.
If you get the chance to experience the Luang Prabang province, this is a spa to consider. You are right on the Namkhan river and only a short distance from an elephant village or a trekk into a remote village.
Merci, Kob chai, thank you for such a wonderful experience.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Hutchabilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indianajone27, Owner at Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest Hutchabilly! Thank you write your first comment of a hotel on TripAdvisor and you are our 100 writers! I like to said my return on investment it's the people I meet and you confirmed. It's was a real pleasure to meet you and your buddy and have this nice talk around the fire!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

If you don't like walking up a lot of steps each day then this is not the place for you!! The rooms (ours had beautiful views across the river) are some distance from the restaurant and public areas. The breakfast included was very nice. A decent lunch and dinner menu at reasonable prices. My only gripe was the Christmas eveing buffet which was incredibly expensive and not what we wanted to be there for. The hotel is a good half hour taxi journey from the centre of town so you need to plan where you want to eat. Nice places to relax, whether on your own balcony or beside the pool. Rooms were cold though (no heating) as we experienced unseasonably cold weather. Lovely staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumpkinIzmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indianajone27, Owner at Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear pumpkinIzmir. Thank you to share your impression of the resort we really appreciate your comments and any suggestion are wecome. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at modest accommodation for most of our time in Luang Prabang, but splurged for three nights at the Zen Resort to celebrate our wedding anniversary and the new year. We're so glad we did! The location is beautiful and secluded, the scenery is breathtaking, the staff - especially Kham Sane - are very accommodating, and the food is delicious with a great range of options (including vegetarian options). Our bungalow was private and spacious with a balcony overlooking the river, and the bed was incredibly comfortable. We took our cue from our surroundings and just relaxed for most of our stay, apart from a four hour kyaking trip down the river, via the Tad Sae waterfall. We were even lucky enough to see elephants bathing along the way. Our only disappointments were not being able to have a Japanese bath (no longer in operation) and deciding not to get a massage (as the massage room is not very private). Overall though, it was a wonderful 'retreat like' experience and one of the highlights of our trip to Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PixMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indianajone27, Owner at Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear guest, Kopchai! to take the time to write your comments on our resort and give us your feedback. I am happy to be able to share our dream with you. Please note we offer massage in the room and we plan to built a special room for massage near the waterfall where it's more private.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Really enjoyed this resort. We stayed 3 nights in mid-Dec when there was a cold snap. The rooms on the river were beautiful, the food was fantastic and the ability to relax all day long here was well worth the money. The fire pit was an added bonus during the cold weather. Great hosts as well. We were confused for breakfast as we thought it was included but were given menus with prices each morning. I did not order a full breakfast thinking it was a bit $ only to find out it was included in our price. Otherwise, a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraLat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indianajone27, Owner at Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear guest, thank you to take the time to gives us your impression about our resort. I am happy that you appreciate what we did and share the beauty of the nature of Laos and its tranquility. I am sorry about the confusion for the menu of our breakfast, we put the price for the guest coming from outside. Our breakfast it's included in the room. Thank again on the name of all our staff. Luc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013


the resort offers beautiful bungalows with great views in an absolute quiet surrounding. the owner and his wife as well as the staff were very friendly. the swimming pool is beautifully located with a perfect mountain view. the kitchen was the best we got during our whole journey. we did very relaxing trekking tours and hope to come back one day.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Renate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indianajone27, Owner at Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you to take the time to give us your impression & feeling about the resort. Its encourage us and our staff to Keep Going and to give our best to serve our clientele!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ban Xieng Lom
6.4 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
297 reviews
5.9 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#15 of 68 in Luang Prabang
366 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#13 of 68 in Luang Prabang
653 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 68 in Luang Prabang
270 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 68 in Luang Prabang
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort

Address: Ban Xieng Lom, Luang Prabang 06000, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang > Ban Xieng Lom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ban Xieng Lom
Price Range: £44 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Luang Prabang at 12 km form the center, it's the perfect place to enjoy the breathtaking on the Namkhan River and mountains. You will be able to enjoy the NamKhan River with a serene boat ride, kayak or Trek around the Resort and Tad Sae Waterfall or doing yoga and meditation. We just finish to built a new steam room next to our swimming pool. The beautiful onsite restaurant offer excellent choice of menus, using ingredients from organic produces like herbs and vegetables. Unwind at the Ecological chlorine-free pool after a tiring day. Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort is a perfect sanctuary for leisure travelers who seek for sophistication within a serene environment. Please note the new road from Luang Prabang it's now completed. We built actually 6 more villas near our swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zen Namkhan Boutique Hotel Ban Xieng Lom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing