We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Lyme Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Lyme Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Old Lyme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
MINNETONKA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Old Lyme Inn is a small 16 room inn. The rooms are quite charming and well appointed and include fine toiletries and organic bedding. The king sized bed was fabulous. Very cozy and comfortable. The ventilation system, once we learned to control it kept the room at a perfect temperature. The only minuses were the lack of a table in the room and the lack of anything to put your suitcase on. We were there on a Sunday night when the restaurant was closed.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the left end of the building as far from the freeway as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    27
    12
    13
    4
See reviews for
23
52
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We lodged at Old Lyme Inn for a wedding nearby. I liked the place and it reminded me of staying in my grandma's house as a kid. This is an 1850s home that has been brought up to date as a B&B. Downstairs is a lovely dining room and cozy bar. The bedrooms are up an ornate staircase and be prepared to carry your suitcase upstairs. The rooms have been redone and our bathroom was quite modern. We had plenty of natural light in the room and it felt authentic for a home of this age. The staff was friendly and the location is convenient to many of the charming attractions of this part of Connecticut: Mystic Seaport, New London, Essex, etc. I would return to Old Lyme Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danthemankc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niantic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just had a delicious Bloody Mary and Eggs Benedict made to perfection. It was a gorgeous day and so sitting outside under the trees.was lovely and so two hours and a cappuccino later, my friend and I finally parted. The service was excellent, and we never felt rushed. This is my first time to visit the "new" Old Lyme Inn and was very impressed with the changes and the affordable and varied brunch menu...

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah H, Manager at Old Lyme Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Diane,

The Old Lyme Inn prides itself on providing outstanding service, gourmet cuisine & beautifully appointed accommodations. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Feel free to contact me directly prior to your next visit!

Kind regards,

Jason

Jason Apfelbaum
General Manager
Old Lyme Inn
860.434.2600 tel:860.434.2600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We ate lunch at the Old Lyme Inn, and then inquired about a room for the night. Lunch was THAT GOOD! Especially the fresh pea soup and the silky opera cake (I still dream about that). Since it was a rainy day, and they were not full, they upgraded us to a lovely king room, newly redone on the first floor. The bed was brand new and we slept like puppies. The shower was great, everything was clean as a whistle and we loved our view. Dinner was as good as lunch. We were there on half price wine day! and had Fishers Island oysters, yummy clam chowder and salmon, and cinnamon ice cream. After espresso, we sat in the lobby (for hours) and listened to an excellent jazz pianist on the grand piano. I bought 4 of his CDs for Father's Day! All in all, it could not have been any nicer an evening.

Room Tip: We loved the garden view, but I bet they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teamlewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

On a Wednesday evening we sat out under beautiful large trees, listened to Ramblin' Dan Stevens and the Mellow Men and enjoyed delicious food. The menu wasn't huge but it had a wide variety. Save room for desert!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JJWetzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
266 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

My wife & I had lunch in the hotel grille area. Service was fine as was the food. My vegetarian chile was tasty and the lobster sliders were excellent. The prices were acceptable hotel prices. The interior of the Inn is impressive as are it neighbors. Accross the street is the Florence Griswold Museum -- a super small museum which was the center of Amercan impressionism and the Old Lyme Art gallery. They are both a quick walk from the hotel, which sports a number of paintings itself. We will go back.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jerandnanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of spending a night at the Old Lyme Inn. It was our first visit to the Inn since it's new and extensive renovation. We were delighted to find that while the essence of the old inn remained, the new renovation gave it the feel of a modern upscale hotel.

The Inn's walls still host many beautiful paintings, Impressionist and contemporary as well as a new and exciting music venue, which adds much to the art-rich Old Lyme area.

Very happy to see this old landmark given new life.

Room Tip: Room number 7 was located in the rear of the inn away from the main road on the second floor. . The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Lyme
3.1 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
5.0 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#7 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bee and Thistle Inn and Lounge
6.6 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Lyme Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Lyme Inn

Property: Old Lyme Inn
Address: 85 Lyme St., Old Lyme, CT 06371
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Old Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Lyme Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Lyme Inn, fully renovated in 2012, offers a quaint yet modern, New England experience in the heart of historic Old Lyme, CT. All of our guest rooms offer unique touches that afford our visitors with the utmost in comfort and relaxation; including gas fireplaces, fresh baths, and luxurious bedding. The Old Lyme Inn’s restaurant and bar is a meeting place for visitors and locals alike. Sample our ever-changing cocktail and wine list, while dining on some of the most unique comfort food available in the area. Opening in early 2013, guests can while away the evenings listening to acclaimed jazz musicians in our intimate Jazz Club.Join us today to experience a new take on an old favorite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HRS, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Lyme Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Lyme Hotel Old Lyme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing