We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this little ice cream shop!”

Old Lyme Ice Cream Shoppe & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Old Lyme
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
217 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Love this little ice cream shop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We have plenty of ice cream shops to choose from in our area. The Old Lyme Ice Cream Shoppe is just such a treat. We come here once a week for sure during the summer. Every flavor we have tried is delicious. Their hot fudge and carmel sundaes are the best. My all time favorite ice cream is Salted Carmel with lots of chocolate sprinkles. We love going after dinner and to sit under the big trees outside to enjoy the whole experience. Always a delight!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diddy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford
Level Contributor
140 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic ice cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

The ice cream is very rich - they do not skimp on the cream. The prices were very reasonable, and the scoops were generous. We loved the white chocolate cappucino and the black raspberry flavors here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gparch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, NY
Level Contributor
123 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ice Cream like it ought to be...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Quaint little ice cream (and cafe!) shop in "downtown" Old Lyme. Makes their own ice cream with natural ingredients. Rich and tasty like ice cream was meant to be. Friendly, helpful service. Great atmosphere. Didn't try the sandwiches but they sound delicious. But the ice cream is not to be missed!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KevinWPNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must have for Ice Cream Season”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Really excited that OLICS is under old management. Great shoreline stop for the whole family. Toasted Coconut is and always will be my favorite. The shop has a great ambiance and not to mention great food! Come on down for a great time, family time, couple time, ANY time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank quiltchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First ice cream stop of the season”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Spring is here officially and on a warmer Sunday (52 degrees) we went to Old Lyme Ice Cream and had our first dip off the year. I loved the peach that was made specially from peaches saved from last years harvest. Awsome!!! Dont come down for the peach. I got the last bit until peach season 2013 (late August). Come for their other spectacular 16% buttermilk flavors.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pete s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Lyme Ice Cream Shoppe & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Old Lyme Ice Cream Shoppe & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing