We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed....”
Review of The Grille

The Grille
Ranked #20 of 28 Restaurants in Old Lyme
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Formerly known as "Clams".
Moosup, Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Closed....”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Went to stop in for dinner on Saturday and found a "Temporarily Closed" sign out front....No idea where they'll be reopening......

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    4
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Food In CT”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

By far the worst food I have ever had. Most frozen and heated. It was so bad the first time I went, that I had to go again just to see if it just was a bad night for the chef, nope, its that bad all the time. Why this place is still open is a mystery, Even if they had ok food they would be doing a great business because of the location.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Eddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old lyme
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good burgers”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Looking for a good burger menu at a reasonable price this is your place. The burger menu has unique choices and comes with a heap of fries.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Okay food, bad management and onwer attitude.”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The food is not bad, however the owner/manager is one of the rudest, negative, drunk and unprofessional "business persons" I have ever come across. I have seen her yell at customers for no reason. It reminds me of the Soup Nazi character from Seinfeld. Please do some research on this place before you give them your business. There are much better places to spend your night out. Jessie's, The Black sheep, Penny Lane Pub are better options. Please go elsewhere if you care about treating people with dignity.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Bradley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Grille Old Lyme, CT”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Under the new management this has become one of our favorite dining spots. Adequate parking, easy to access of Rte. 156. Pleasant service. The meals have all be excellent and are reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karlfriedmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing