We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"We'll definitely be back, again, again ..."”
Review of The Old Mystic Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Mystic
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Mystic Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Old Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Michael and his staff were absolutely amazing. The Inn is as I always pictured an Inn to be, and MORE. GOURMET, GOURMET, GOURMET, there is no other word to describe our elegant breakfasts every morning. Not only is Michael an amazing chef, his hosting skills are over the top. His suggestions for things to do, places to see, restaurants to dine were right on. He certainly knows his town and loves to share it with you. The Inn is just a short distance from town, very quiet, and pristene. Michael can go my gardening any time. We stayed in the Louisa May Alcott room in the Cottage and it was stunning. The decor was to the period, very spacious and not a spec of dust to be found. After a long day of sightseeing in and around Mystic, we could relax in our own beautifully decorated study/living area. AMAZING!!! We had access to the house whenever we wanted for snacks, ice, TV watching (a no, no on our vacation!), local brochures, homemade snacks and beverages. What more could you ask for. We will return again, again, and again. Michael, count on our return visit, even if just for a long weekend. The Old Mystic Inn, in Old Mystic is a MUST stay for anyone visiting the area. Michael, thank you a million times over. You have made two Pennsylvania's very, very, happy people.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmmccarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2011

We recently stayed at the Old Mystic Inn in Old Mystic CT. with 3 other couples , the men are fraternity brothers and we have all been married more that 50 years. THe Inn was fantastic, rooms idyllic and Michael , the owner a perfect host. HIs gourmet breakfasts are to die for. Perfect location without being in the midst of congestion etc. We all highly recommend this wonderful Inn and look. forward to returning in the future. Five stars !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbarasutherland123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Old Mystic Inn B & B for three days. We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary. The rooms were great. Private & relaxing. The service was the best. When we arrived, there were chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us. Michael showed us around and then left us to enjoy. We felt right at home and were not confined to our room. We had the run of the whole beautiful house if we wanted. His breakfasts were the best I have ever had. Not only delicious but elegant. If you plan on visiting Mystic, CT I would totally recommend "The Old Mystic Inn B & B" I have not one negative thing to say about it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeggyCassville_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Great all around. The breakfast was fantastic. The room was warm and comfortable. Not a busy area so we enjoyed the quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eamranond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

CIA trained chef presented beautiful plates heaped with gourmet breakfast foods: a wonderful egg scrambled with squashes and onions the first morning; and his legendary cinnamon French toast stuffed with bananas, strawberries and cream cheese the second morning. The 1784 house once was a bookstore so each room is themed around one author, with related collections and copies of author's famous books. Our Thoreau bedroom was spacious, attractively decorated, had a fireplace and was right next to common room with more books and magazines plus a TV. Michael was very helpful suggesting restaurants for dinner, places to visit, etc. Old Mystic is a quiet village slightly away from downtown Mystic, but near Aquarium and a charming area of shops, cafes and movie theater.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweet_2th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

This was our first trip to Mystic with two great friends and our host Michael and his staff made it so memorable we hated turning in our keys. Being in the historic main house (aka former book store), we enjoyed gourmet healthy breakfasts, comfy accommodations all decked out for the season (but remember, this is a home, not a hotel), great advice on the local sites, and a chance to take a leisurely first look at Mystic. We had it all from a weather perspective - cold, snow flakes, wind, rain, and sun - but that did nothing to hinder us from our local touring since we ended each day by the warm fire sipping cocoa in the tastefully decorated sitting room. We returned home rested, reconnected and ready for the holidays.
Thanks, Michael - you made us eager to return in 2011!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeandBarb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Beautiful room, exquisite breakfast (forget your diet for a day) and an Inn-keeper that treats you as his personal guest. I would definately recommend this place to a friend, and would come back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim3512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Mystic
2.8 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
745 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
735 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,129 reviews
1.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mystic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mystic Inn

Address: 52 Main St, Old Mystic, CT 06372-9900
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Mystic
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Old Mystic
Price Range: £95 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The main house of the inn was built in 1784 and is a blend of antiques and reproduction furnishings. The carriage house was built in 1988 and is a modern Victorian, with rooms decorated in a country cottage decor. All eight rooms are named for a New England author. Queen sized beds, fireplaces, whirpool tubs. A Hearty country breakfast is prepared each morning by chef and owner Michael Cardillo. RATES: November-April $135-$145 Midweek and $175-185 Weekends. In Season $175-185 Midweek and $225-$235 Weekends ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Mystic Hotel Old Mystic
The Old Mystic Inn Connecticut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing