We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Anniversary Getaway”
Review of The Old Mystic Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Mystic
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Mystic Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Old Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2008

My husband and I just stayed at the Old Mystic Inn last weekend and had a wonderful time. We stayed in the Mark Twain room and it was so spacious and comfy. We were close to the casino and to Mystic and just had a great time exploring the area.
The two breakfast's that we ate were just incredible. What a treat!
We would recommend this B&B to anyone and hope to stay there again someday.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parishuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2008

Located off the beaten path, Old Mystic Inn is full of charm and character, and nostalgic of simpler times. The rooms, named after famous authors, are very comfortable with well appointed bathrooms. The inn itself is well-kept and very clean, and the service and hospitality by Michael, the innkeeper is surpassed by no other inn we've been to. (He is also a wealth of information for local restaurants and attractions.)

There are fresh made snacks and beverages, as well as a 'serve yourself' coffee and tea available throughout the day. The sitting area is perfect for relaxing after an afternoon outing. And what could be the best part , are the gourmet magazine cover-worthy breakfasts served every morning in the dining room. You will be amazed! For romance and relaxation, this inn keeps us coming back time and again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdmConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2008

My wife and I stumbled upon this Bed and Breakfast as we were searching randomly online for a place to stay other then the expensive Casinos in the area. The website was very informative and had many pictures of the rooms and the 2 main houses the rooms were in. The price seemed to be within the normal range for B and B's in the area, and slightly cheaper then the Casinos but included breakfast as well. As it was a Casino weekend anyway, we decided to take a chance and book it.

Well, let me tell you, it turned out to be a sure bet ! We couldnt have done better and wished we were able to stay another night. And that comes from a guy that only needs a bed typically to be happy when traveling.

The place is located in quaint Old Mystic Conn. 15 minutes from the Casino's, 5 minutes from Mystic Seaport, and minutes from I95. The 2 main houses are extremely well kept and perfect for the setting. The rooms are all themed after famous authors from the New England area ( Robert Frost, Mark Twain, Emily Dickenson etc. ), and decorated accordingly. We booked the Twain room, which had a 4 post canopy bed, a corner gas fireplace and some of the softest bedding and towels we have ever felt. Every room had a log book with little reviews from past guests, we read many of the reviews and realized we were not alone on how we felt about the place. Also, almost every post raved about the caretakers amazing breakfasts, it turns out he is a graduate of Culinary Arts, we could not wait for morning to come.

Well, when we woke up we took the short walk to the main house for breakfast. There were a few couples already seated and eating, the caretaker Michael was in the kitchen cooking and his 2 helpers were waiting on us as soon as we sat down. The breakfast was as amazing as we had read, and we got to sit with another couple and compare notes on the different styled rooms, they were as happy as we were with the place.

Michael and his staff do an amazing job there, you will not find a prettier, more relaxing, cleaner Hotel or B and B anywhere. My wife and I will continue staying there and have refferred our friends there as well. As much as I have said, I'm sure I didnt say enough about the Old Mystic Inn.

S & J West Babylon NY

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Saljo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2007

Sept. 30, 2007
If you are looking for a wondrful place to stay look no further than The Old Mystic Inn in Mystic Conn. The hospitality is bar none. The rooms are immaculate and absolutely beautiful!! The breakfast is not only a feast for the eyes but a culinary work of art. Michael the Innkeeper thought of very way for his guests to feel cared for and special. I have stayed in B& Bs all over the world and found this treasue right in Conn. I highly recommend The Old Mystic Inn!

Stayed: September 2007
Thank travelbuddy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2007

Selected the inn based on its website, and was not disappointed. The room was elegant yet simply decorated and furnished. The breakfast was like something you would see served on the Food Channel. The staff was friendly and helpful. All in all it was a delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ShoreBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2007

My wife and I stayed 08/07/07-08/11/07 in the Herman Melville room on the 2nd floor of the original Inn. The staff, led by Michael the owner (and chef) was great. We were immediately made to feel welcome and comfortable. The service is always timely and friendly, but not intrusive. The rooms are very clean and inviting. The absolute highlight has to be Michael's gourmet breakfast every morning. This was our first vacation beyond a couple of days in several years and The Old Mystic Inn made it memorable. We've stayed at a number of Inns and B+B's over the years and this certainly rates with the best. Thank you, Michael, for a wonderful time.
PS...his scones are out of this world!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bobc9972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

This inn is a standout in an area that has more than it's share of hotels/motels. Michael is a true professional -- he is genuinely concerned about his guests' comfort. He welcomed us with a tour of the property and made sure we knew where the complimentary water and soda were. (What a welcome change from the usual hotel mini-bar!) The inn is beautifully decorated, conveniently located (though you need a car to get to Mystic attractions). And yes, breakfast is in fact wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtm17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Mystic
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,157 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
769 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
4.9 mi away
Abbey's Lantern Hill Inn
4.9 mi away
Inn at Stonington
Inn at Stonington
#1 of 3 in Stonington
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mystic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mystic Inn

Address: 52 Main St, Old Mystic, CT 06372-9900
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Mystic
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Old Mystic
Price Range: £94 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The main house of the inn was built in 1784 and is a blend of antiques and reproduction furnishings. The carriage house was built in 1988 and is a modern Victorian, with rooms decorated in a country cottage decor. All eight rooms are named for a New England author. Queen sized beds, fireplaces, whirpool tubs. A Hearty country breakfast is prepared each morning by chef and owner Michael Cardillo. RATES: November-April $135-$145 Midweek and $175-185 Weekends. In Season $175-185 Midweek and $225-$235 Weekends ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Mystic Hotel Old Mystic
The Old Mystic Inn Connecticut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing