We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Inn and breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Mystic Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Mystic
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Mystic Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Old Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Shields, North Tyneside
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous Inn and breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2007

The Old Mystic Inn is on first sight absolutely beautiful, but then you enter the main building and it's just WOW. Michael and his staff do a great job there.
On arrival Michael showed us to our rooms and then showed us where everything was, including the use of his kitchen to make coffee/tea anytime we wanted and then there was cake to go with it and also complimentary water and sodas.
The room was beautifully presented and clean and fresh.
The breakfast was outstanding.
This is a must for anyone travelling to New England.

Shirley & Jerry Scott July 2007
England, United Kingdom

  • Liked — It was beautiful to look at and didn't disappoint us once we were inside.
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike about this Inn.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
111
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2007

Mystic Conn. - The Old Mystic Inn
Reviewer - A trip advisor member from NY
My wife and I have just returned from four days at the Old Mystic Inn in Old Mystic Conn. We stayed in the Carriage House in the Alcott room and found it to be exactly as shown on the Inn's Website which is somewhat unusual from our past experiences with other websites.

The room with it's high ceiling was very large, very airy and bright and beautifully decorated . The bathroom was immaculate and very up to date. The extra little touches like chocolates by your bed, wine glasses and cork screw on the table in the sitting area, the journal for your comments and the book by the author the room is named after made this a very special place.

This is by far the best B&B in Conn. we have ever stayed in. In the main house all the rooms were also beautifully appointed, up to date and rather large. We were treated to gourmet breakfasts every morning, alternating from Savory to Sweet every day. The portions were large and filling and prepared by the chef and owner of the Inn Michale Cardillo.

Furthermore, the Inn offered free soda, water, coffee and tea along with a wonderful cake baked by Michael every day. My wife and I felt very much at home and can't wait for our return trip with some of our best friends.

  • Liked — The room, the breakfasts, the location and the nearby restaurants
  • Disliked — We loved everything
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fmczoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2007

I stayed here with my partner as an anniversary retreat and we had a wonderful time. We often stay in B&Bs when travelling, and we found this one to by charming, clean and comfortable. Michael, the innkeeper, was great. Very personable and a great cook. He even offered to pick us up at the train station at 11P at night! We stayed in the Robert Frost room, which was charming, clean and set back from the road. From the windows, we could see a lovely field and the backyard. When not exploring the downtown, we spent a lot of time in the gazebo,reading and enjoying the outdoors. I would highly recommend this Inn for any traveller looking for a place to call home for a few days.

  • Liked — The room and friendly staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimebueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2007

My fiancée and I stayed for two nights at this B&B. We stayed in the "Louis M Alcott" room which was nice and clean with a canopy bed. However, the room smelled like mold and I think it came from the bathroom which is very outdated and smelly, not to mention very small (for a $200 dollar a night, I would have expected more). Also, there's a window way at the top of the room with no curtains, so the light came through since 6 a.m.!! Not exactly relaxing.

The breakfast was delicious. It has been the best breakfast we've had at a B&B.

Maybe other rooms are a little better.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lily30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2007

If you're looking for accomodation with some genuine old fashioned charm, this could be the place for you. Our room, the "Henry Thereou", was in the old inn itself and boasted creaky doors, open fire, bare floorboards and candle style lamps.

Sadly no TV or tea/coffee making in the room, but cookies, TV and a drinks station were provided in the lounge.

If you prefer more mod cons I suspect the coach house behind the inn may be slightly more modern. It should also be shielded from some of the traffic noise from the lane which runs directly in front of the inn itself.

On the whole, a pleasant stay, made more so by the accommodating and helpful host, Michael, and a good breakfast.

  • Liked — Quaint.
  • Disliked — Perhaps too old world in places....
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't bother with the Old Mistick Village outlets, mostly just tacky gift shops!
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sussexgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2006

With a little fear and trepidation we booked a reservation at the Old Mystic Inn. We hadn't stayed in a bed and breakfast before and we weren't exactly sure if we would like the experience. From the first moment that our host, the owner of the inn, Michael, greeted us at the door, our experience was wonderful. Michael gamely helped us carry our suitcases to the second floor room that we were to occupy. Each of the rooms is named after a well known author and decorated to match either the author's style, or the period in which he lived. We stayed in the Emily Dickenson room. Our room was enchantingly decorated with pictures, furniture and bric-a-brac of the late 1800's. The fireplace was supplied with a simple burnable log that started quickly with a match. The bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and well stocked. The room and bathroom were cleaned and refreshed early each day. To our delight, Michael provided us with a gourmet breakfast each morning. The food was well and creatively prepared and beautifully presented. All I can say is, the Old Mystic Inn is a wonderful choice for anyone who would like to tour Mystic Ct. or even just have a pleasant get-away weekend.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KfromJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2006

I went to the Old Mystic Inn frazzeled by everyday stresses and strains. Upon entering the Main House, I instantly felt a sense of calm which increased as I was taken to my room, the Herman Melville. I woke the next morning to the sound of Canada Geese flying overhead, and to the incredibly delicious aroma of Chef Michael's gourmet country breakfast. I've been back over and over again, and the consistency of service, ammenities, and special attention to detail are second to none. I even decided to hold my birthday party there with friends and family - it was fabulous. Go. Stay. You'll love it!

  • Liked — Peace and Quiet
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Call Way in Advance - This Inn books up quickly!
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Pugsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Mystic
2.8 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
1.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mystic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mystic Inn

Property: The Old Mystic Inn
Address: 52 Main St, Old Mystic, CT 06372-9900
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Mystic
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Old Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The main house of the inn was built in 1784 and is a blend of antiques and reproduction furnishings. The carriage house was built in 1988 and is a modern Victorian, with rooms decorated in a country cottage decor. All eight rooms are named for a New England author. Queen sized beds, fireplaces, whirpool tubs. A Hearty country breakfast is prepared each morning by chef and owner Michael Cardillo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Mystic Hotel Old Mystic
The Old Mystic Inn Connecticut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing