We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Great location for reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

We made reservations to stay at the Econolodge, when we first got there it was beautiful exterior, the staff was friendly and down to earth. there were plenty of restaurants withing a mile from the hotel. Over night we drove to the beach and came back to comfortable pillow top mattress and a flat panel TV. Overall i recommend this hotel compared to all the other hotels in town. forget about all the other reviews, this hotels has made improvements little by little and is one of the nicest hotels besides Waters Edge.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngspin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    10
    8
    10
    24
See reviews for
36
25
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york city
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

I was hesitant to stay at this hotel because of the reviews but I was pleasantly surprised.
It was peaceful quiet and clean. I really enjoyed my stay. The staff was very friendly and pleasant, especially Ronny. Great place to stay for photographers and painters who want to explore this beautiful area. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mememeandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

This hotel is a hidden gem! Who knew! The staff was soooo friendly and accommodating and we were a rowdy bunch! We had a great time and we are heading back!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Figgy1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

Out of all the hotels we looked at ,I got to say this one was the best. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very clean. What more could you ask for. I will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEPHIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

My wife and I stayed the first night of our two week tour of New England. We Paid $120.95 (including tax) for a "NS King Bed Suite".

The good news: The room had been redone with new couch, carpet, tables, TV and comfortable bed with a new mattress. It is true the the desk staff was helpful and accommodating.

The not so good news: This definately, by no imagination, was not a suite. Our door did not close or open without significant effort and noise. It simply did not fit the frame. The bathroom was a little worn. Dust was thick on all the furniture. The carpet could certainly have been better swept. Breakfast options were extremely limited and there were inadequate chairs/tables to eat it. The waffle maker didn't work well so waffles completely stuck and were uneatable.

The stay wasn't a horrible experience (at least it was quiet on the second floor) and it gave us a chance to explore the very pleasant town of Old Saybrook and its surroundings. Eat at the Penny Lane Pub for good food at reasonable prices. Don't miss taking Rt. 154 along the water and turn back into the neighborhoods near the yacht and golf clubs. The water views and homes were beautiful.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DERetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

I could not have been more disappointed in the Econo Lodge in Old Saybrook. The only positive thing I can say about it is the manager is a very nice, helpful person, but nothing he could do could make up for how completely run-down and, frankly, disgusting this hotel is. I can't believe I spent over $400 for a long weekend at this place - this is the type of hotel I would expect to pay $59 a night for, not $99-$149, which is what I paid.

We had two rooms - a "suite" and a regular double. I frankly think it's false advertising to call this a suite - it was basically a double room that was a little bigger so it could fit a sofabed. A "suite" is defined in the dictionary as "a series of connecting ROOMS functioning as a living unit." This was ONE ROOM. The "suite" smelled horrible - like a person with very bad body odor had just stayed there, and they had not aired out the room (and they probably never will be able to, since the windows don't open and the air conditioning units are old, clunky, and not very effective). Neither room had a privacy curtain - the sheer curtain you usually find in hotels - which was not too annoying in the "suite" but was very annoying in the other room, since it was on the first floor and looked out right onto the front door of the hotel. Literally - the front door was six feet from the window. We could never have the curtains open and get natural light in the room, because people could see right in. Plus, they had a cigarette butt holder right by the front door, so the first night a bunch of people were hanging around smoking at midnight and woke us up (the hotel staff very kindly moved the butt-holder the next night in response to our request, but neglected to do so the night after that).

What else? Let's see - the doors don't close all the way unless you pull them shut - so don't walk out of your room and assume the door closed behind you, or you'll come back to find it ajar; the carpet is worn, frayed, and dirty; the shower screeched horribly; the pool is tiny and the patio furniture is dirty; the pool was littered with dead bugs - we spent about 15 minutes cleaning it every day before we used it; the pool area attracts yellow jackets like crazy, which made for a not very nice picnic lunch our first day; the "continental breakfast" was the most pitiful I've ever seen (and I've stayed at quite a few places like Comfort Inns and such) - they didn't even have milk for the kids; the one soda machine doesn't even have water (important, since the water tasted horrible), and the snack vending machine is totally empty; the phone was coated with a layer of dust (literally); oh, yes, at one point we noticed a PANTILINER on the deck of the pool (thank goodness it wasn't a used one!). I mean, how in the heck does a pantiliner even get onto the deck at the pool, and how doesn't that get cleaned up immediately by hotel staff? Also, on another day, someone had dropped a muffin from breakfast on the pool deck - it soaked up water from the deck, and I slipped on it and almost fell, getting gross muffin goo in the treads of my new sandal. Again, how doesn't that get cleaned up?

I think part of the problem at this hotel is the clientele: people who hang around front doors of buildings smoking all the time, dropping food (and pantiliners) and not picking up after themselves, talking loud in the halls at night - even though, presumably, they know they're staying in a HOTEL, which means there are other people there, possibly trying to sleep.

By the way, don't be impressed by the review that says there's a "waterfall." First of all, it's a fountain, not a waterfall. Second of all, it's in a little pond at the entrance to the "grounds" of the hotel, with a fake boat, a fake swan, and a little gazebo. Supposed to make it look charming, but it's not. The hotel is basically surrounded by parking lot, which is fine, as long as when you're inside the hotel you're not desperate to look outside to escape how unpleasant it is - which we were, the entire time.

I can't believe this is the RENOVATED version of this hotel. Can't imagine how scary and awful it was before the renovations.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nature4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TC933
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

A pit. Overpriced, cramped, worn out; internet didn't work in the rooms. Obviously being run to maximize cash flow and to put as little money into the property as is conceivable. Paid $99-$150 a night for a room -- outrageous. The carpeting in the hallways was held together -- literally -- with packing tape. The place is a disgrace.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TC933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
0.6 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
3.5 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#7 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
9.9 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Old Saybrook
Super 8 Old Saybrook
#4 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
Address: 1750 Boston Post Road, Old Saybrook, CT 06475 (Formerly Sandpiper Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, an Old Saybrook hotel near Essex Village. Just outside of Essex Village, the The Econo Lodge Inn & Suites(R) hotel provides easy access to several area attractions. Local points of interest like the Mohegan Sun casino, Gregory James Gallery, General William Hart House historical landmark and Harvey's Beach are minutes from this Old Saybrook, CT hotel.Nearby Mystic Seaport-The Museum of America and the Sea offers so much to see and do. Visitors will enjoy strolling through the 19th century seafaring village where you can see history come alive in the countless maritime galleries, displays, museums and more.A variety of entertainment venues and retailers can be found in the surrounding area. Several restaurants and cocktail lounges are close by; some are within walking distance to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Old Saybrook
Old Saybrook Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing