We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Summer Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Old Saybrook
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We have been staying at this Super 8 quite often over the past several years! And once again, we found it to be the same clean and accomodating place we've come to enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

The price was right; the location perfect, just off the Turnpike and near Clinton Mall; the bed was firm; the ac was excellent; it was surprisingly quiet; the one problem we had was resolved immediately and politely; there was even a pool! I'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for no-smoking King on the 2nd floor. Our request was honored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My family and I loved this place! great rooms, great breakfast and service, great pool, overall our stay was nothing more we could have asked for. We will definitely be back, and also alot of these comments are outdated, I don't know how it was then but surely this place has changed, because I loved it here!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crazyZ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This hotel was dirty. The carpet was very dirty. The heat pump was moldy. The sidewalks were dirty. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlashPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We were charged $150 for the filthiest hotel we have ever stayed at. The only room available to us was a smoking room, and while we expected some odor, the smell was overwhelming. (and my husband and I are smokers!) We couldn't even use the air conditioning because of the stench coming from it. The carpets were sticky and filthy. My children's feet were BLACK and that was just going from the bed to the bathroom. The pool was not even the same pool that was displayed in the photos. And to top it off, we had uninvited guests! There was a cockroach in the bathroom, and my husband and 3 yr. old son had bites all over their legs from whatever else was living in that room. Thank God it was for only one night, and most of it we ended up sleeping in our car! I think that most of the reviews praising Super 8 are false, and we are contacting AAA.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mom2two40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

It needs a little work but the rooms were fairly clean, everything was in working order and, despite booking through Expedia, they were able to accommodate us with side by side rooms. We would probably stay again if the need arises. We felt as safe as safe could be. Oh, it was a little loud with the highway so close but once was asleep, it was no worries.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoSoxMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We got married this September in saybrook point, CT, and Old Saybrook was the closest area with large hotels which could accomodate many of our guests. I found the staff at the Super 8 to be very pleasant, knowledgeable, and extremely helpful. They made my wife and I feel much more comfortable knowing the our guests who would stay there would be seen to in a warm and friendly manner! (Seems to be something in the water in Old Saybrook - everyone was so nice!) Additionally, they were kind enough to allow us an extension for how long they would hold a block of rooms for us (we were a little late in getting the invites out)!
From directions, to restaurant or shopping recommendations, to providing good coffee in the morning, all of the little things really added up.
Their hotel was clean, their staff was wonderful, and our guests had a great time at the wedding. Whether you are looking for a hotel to use for a large function, or just staying with your family or alone, I would highly recommend the Super 8 Old Saybrook..

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jigi1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
0.6 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#4 of 7 in Old Saybrook
152 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
752 reviews
3.3 mi away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#6 of 7 in Old Saybrook
72 reviews
12.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Niantic
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Old Saybrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Old Saybrook

Address: 37 Spencer Plain Rd, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range: £41 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Old Saybrook 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Super 8 Old Saybrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Old Saybrook Hotel Old Saybrook
Super Eight Old Saybrook
Old Saybrook Super 8
Old Saybrook Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing