We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super 8-Old Saybrook. Ct.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Old Saybrook
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Super 8 hotel in Old Saybrook, Ct. is a very pleasant place to stay.The staff is very pleasant and accommodating. Though the room was not fancy, it was very clean. The best part for us was the location--two doors down from the boarding facility where our pets were staying.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ginger712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umeshOldSaybrook, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Old Saybrook, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for the gracious review on our property, specially our staff. A wonderful experience is what we are all about! Old Saybrook is such an incredible town and has so much to offer. We are so happy that you have chosen to stay with us to explore this place At the Super8 Hotel, exceptional customer service is the foundation of our promise to our guests. We focus on meeting our guests’ needs; our goal is your positive experience. Glad to hear we made your stay a great one. Look forward to seeing you again very soon in future.

Regards
Bob
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Pulling into the Super 8 in Old Saybrook there is every chance you might be expecting a little too much. As you pull in, you pass the outdoor pool.and that is pretty much the end of it. The room itself was clean but you had to know they could have put a little more effort into it. The bed spread had a stain on it. The bathroom was clean but at the shower curtain holder was extremely rusted at both ends. There was a closet taking up a lot of space with nothing in it except some pipes. Going into the pool there was an adventure. But before entering the pool after noticing there was no place for towels at the pool I stopped into the office and they told us to use the towels in the room of which there only two. Which meant having to use wet towels when taking a shower after entering the pool. To make matters worse the hotel was a two floor place, which meant that the herd of buffalo in the room upstairs were stomping across the floor. While it was possible they were just walking across the floor that is not what I heard. There was no clock in the room so keep your phone or watch close by. So If you are staying in Old Saybrook, you might want to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Bring towels and a clock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dave n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umeshOldSaybrook, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Old Saybrook, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the SUPER8 hotel during your receipt trip to Old saybrook. While we are happy to hear that you have found our room clean. Here we work together with one “GOAL”; our guest satisfaction from service to amenities and product. Your overall experience was disappointing due to deficiencies in some areas during your stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences which have caused you. We wanted to assure you that we have taken your feedback very seriously; and have begun immediately in rectifying the issue with our Housekeeping Department. It has appeared that we fell short of your expectations this time. We want to assure that we have taken your feedback very seriously. They have given us valuable information on the guests’ perspective and to that, we are grateful. In order to regain your faith to the SUPER8 hotel, please contact me directly in making your next reservation when you are in town. I will personally assure you of a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. Once again, we value your patronage and comments. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again and your experience of SUPER8 in time.

Regards
Bob
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Super 8 Old Saybrook is a comfortable place to stay, with all conveniences, including breakfast, at a reasonable price. It is just off I-95 and close to many great restaurants. Also has a pool and plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umeshOldSaybrook, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Old Saybrook, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us the review. A wonderful experience is what we are all about! Old Saybrook is such an incredible town and has so much to offer. We are so happy that you have chosen to stay with us to explore this place. We are thrilled that we did not disappoint you and also excited to hear that we have met and possibly exceed your expectation. At the Super8 Hotel, exceptional customer service is the foundation of our promise to our guests. We focus on meeting our guests’ needs; our goal is your positive experience. Glad to hear we made your stay a great one. Look forward to seeing you again very soon in future.

Regards
Bob
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The staff and service at this Super 8 were superb (we asked for extra soap and towels and they even offered extra sheets) and very accommodating. The hotel is very well located, just off the Interstate and close to town; it is clean and well maintained, but it is not higher class or fancy: there was a splintered dent in the bathroom door of our room, and the bathroom smelled of cigarette smoke, even though it was a no-smoking room. (If you left the bathroom door open, it would permeate to the bedroom.) The staff would have changed our room with no problem, but we liked it for being in the back, away from the street, on the 2nd floor, and so very quiet. (And I absolutely HATE cigarette smoke, but it was not so bad for me as to necessitate a change.)
Refrig is small. We did not try the morning breakfast, but it is available. Ditto the outdoor pool.
If you’re looking for a clean bed and room in Old Saybrook, with excellent staff and service, this will do. Otherwise be prepared to spend in excess of $200 for a classier place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
2  Thank staffwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umeshOldSaybrook, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Old Saybrook, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the SUPER8 during your recent trip to Old Saybrook. We are happy that you have liked the hotel location and found our rooms are good size. However, we are so sorry to hear that your overall experience was disappointing due to deficiencies of our smelling of bathroom. Please rest assured, we have taken your comments very seriously. Your review has given us valuable information on the guests perspective and to that, we are grateful. Once again, we value your patronage and feedback. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the nearest future, and your experience of true SUPER8 in time.


Regards
Bob
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My friend and I stayed overnight so we could attend a retreat at the Mercy Center the next day and feel rested. Both of us being in the 50's club, we turned on the ac before we left to have dinner. Upon our return the room smelled of high heaven (coming directly from the ac unit) so I asked for another room and we were accommodated quickly. However the next room was kind of the same, just not as strong. We really are not picky ladies but stinky smells are not something easily turned off. Fortunately, we had a few drinks at dinner and the smell didn't bother us as much once we settled in. :)

Breakfast- skip it. I mean, don't even bother. Nuff said about that. We requested the 2nd floor so as not to deal with traffic above our room which can be a pain to deal with or sleep under.

The room was clean and the pillows clean smelling and squishy, just like I like them. The pool was being filled and looked like a great set up but it was not open yet. Paid $90 including tax, would like to have paid $75 and felt that was fair. I want an edible breakfast with drinkable coffee for $90 so I don't have to buy it elsewhere.

would go there again but would definitely check pricing on some other places to see if there is a better deal for a nights rest.

Room Tip: 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodfaerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umeshOldSaybrook, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Old Saybrook, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for the review. While we are happy to hear that you liked the hotel location and found the room is in good size. Your overall experience was disappointing due to deficiencies in some areas during your stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences which have caused you. We wanted to assure you that we have taken your feedback very seriously; and have begun immediately in rectifying the issue with our Housekeeping Department. We will be very grateful if you could kindly contact us at the hotel. We would like to inform you that we repair our Air Condtionor after your complain. Once again, we are so happy about the pleasant experience. Please feel free to contact me for any question. We look forward to hearing from you.

Regards
Bob
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

In shoreline area of Old Saybrook there are many hotels, inns and resorts. One can spend 400.00 per night or 59.00 ( Dump) per night to put your head on a pillow. The Super 8 located right off I-95 is perfect for a night or weekend stay. Plenty of restaurants and beaches in area. The owners are very nice and you can't beat the price. Above all.....the rooms are very clean!!!!! Have been there many times and will continue going back for a overnighter or weekend.

Room Tip: Take second floor ...this way if children are there you won't hear them running in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umeshOldSaybrook, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Old Saybrook, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us the review. A wonderful experience is what we are all about! Old Saybrook is such an incredible town and has so much to offer. We are so happy that you have chosen to stay with us to explore this place. We are thrilled that we did not disappoint you and also excited to hear that we have met and possibly exceed your expectation. At the Super8 Hotel, exceptional customer service is the foundation of our promise to our guests. We focus on meeting our guests’ needs; our goal is your positive experience. Glad to hear we made your stay a great one. Look forward to seeing you again very soon in future.

Regards
Bob
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I went fishing to Old Lyme and we decided to stay overnight in a good place. Our king room was in the 1st floor. We could hear absolutely every step the people in the room above took. It was a nightmare trying to sleep! The room had been renovated, the bed was clean but there was a lot of dust everywhere. In the morning, we went for breakfast: cereal, milk, coffee, juice... that was it! It is not worth the money. The location is great, but for the money we spent on one night, the bad sleep, having to buy breakfast somewhere else, it is just not worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Esther J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umeshOldSaybrook, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Old Saybrook, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the SUPER8 during your trip to Old saybrook. While we are happy to hear that you have found our bed comfortable in the room. Here we work together with one “GOAL”; our guest satisfaction from service to amenities and product. It has appeared that we fell short of your expectations this time. We want to assure that we have taken your feedback very seriously. They have given us valuable information on the guests’ perspective and to that, we are grateful. In order to regain your faith to the Super8 please contact me directly in making your next reservation when you are in town. I will personally assure you of a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. Once again, we value your patronage and comments. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again and your experience of nice Super8 in time.

Regards
Bob
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
0.5 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#4 of 7 in Old Saybrook
154 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#5 of 7 in Old Saybrook
73 reviews
3.5 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
759 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Niantic
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Old Saybrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Old Saybrook

Address: 37 Spencer Plain Rd, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range: £42 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Old Saybrook 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Old Saybrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Old Saybrook Hotel Old Saybrook
Super Eight Old Saybrook
Old Saybrook Super Eight
Old Saybrook Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing