We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Old Saybrook
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    70
    62
    30
    33
See reviews for
94
73
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My fiance and I stayed here for one night, thinking it would be a good alternative to a pricey resort 1 mile down the road where we attended a wedding. After all, all we needed was somewhere to dress for the party and somewhere to crash afterwards.
The good:
1. Good-sized room with a large-screen TV and a fridge.
2. Location right off I-95.
3. Our room was quiet, presumably because our room was away from the road and looking towards the pool.
4. A very robust air conditioner kept us cool.

The bad:
1. A large insect crawled out from under the bed. I admit I don't know what kind of insect it was before it was dealt with (not by me).
2. My fiance needed to iron his clothes before the wedding. After plugging in the iron, the room filled with a nasty smell. At first we took it to be dust from an unused iron, but it turned out there was some kind of reddish substance caked onto the iron. Thankfully, we noticed it before using it and ruining the clothes.
3. We called the front desk, but it took almost 15 minutes before they were able to find another iron. The front desk clerk was very apologetic, but this really should have been checked ahead of time.
4. Some of the furniture was dusty, particularly those areas not often used, such as shelves under the nightstand.
5. There was a musty smell in the bathroom.
6. The towels were more like loofas, removing a whole layer of skin (but presumably improving our circulation).

While the price was definitely significantly below that of a pricey resort, it wasn't so low that it made these kinds of issues acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool (and away from I-95).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umeshOldSaybrook, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Old Saybrook, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
First, we are terribly sorry for the delay in responding to your review. Please accept our sincere apologies for your discomfort during your stay. Our system did incur a glitch that resulted in your room discrepancy. I would like to inform that once a week our pest control team check every single rooms very deeply. When you saw the insect in your room, you had to call us right away at the front desk what issue you have it and as first priority we change your room right away and solve the issue. We did not get any reply from you in your whole stay. Same thing about the Towel, If you does not comfortable with Towel we must change your towel right away but we did not get any reply from you.We understand how disappointing it is getting iron late from our desk people and to have your experience be less than wonderful. We hope that you will return so that we can exceed your expectations during your next stay! Please contact me to book your next visit.

Bob
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, CT
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Right next to railroad tracks. I asked twice for a quiet room. They completely and falsely assured me that the room would be quiet. Amtrack trains screamed by all night. The building actually shook. And as an aside, the hair in the shower wasn't a pleasant discovery. Not going back- ever.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coopsoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umeshOldSaybrook, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Old Saybrook, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for the review. We appreciate the choice of staying with us during your recent trip to SUPER 8. At the SUPER 8, we are offered best service and delicate our best efforts to support and maintain a clean and health environment to our guests. We are so sorry to learn that your experience of the stay was less satisfactory because of getting noise of Train. I would like to inform you that you checked in our property at night time and After 12:00 am we will never hear the screaming noise as you say in your review of train because of no schedule time on night. I would also inform you that our housekeeping department will taking serious attention to clean the bathroom very deep. If you any other query please feel free to contact us anytime if you want to further discuss about the issue. Once again, we value your patronage. We sincerely hope to having the opportunity to sever you again in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lock Haven
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I am in the room now. Let's start with the good things. Room is nice size. Could use some updates, but furniture/decor is okay. Nice TV. Sheets and towels look clean, bed spread not so much. Bed is comfy, heat/ac work well. Now the bad. The toilet rocks and not in a good way. It must not be connected to the floor. The reason I won't stay in a Super 8 again is because of the smell. The room smells terrible. When we first came in I thought it was a air fresher with a weird scent, but as time went on I decided it must be a air fresher trying to cover a bad, bad smell. I haven't tried the shower yet, but hubby says it's good. Pool looks nice, but it's 4 cool to swim.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umeshOldSaybrook, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Old Saybrook, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at the SUPER 8. We are so sorry that your overall experience was disappointing due to deficiencies in some areas during your stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the conveniences caused, rest assured, we have taken your feedback very seriously and have begun in rectifying all the issues with concerned departments and personnel for the attentions and improvements specifically for the toilet and smell in the room . We value guest feedback, they allows us to better improve our service and offers to not only meet exceed our guests’ expectations. Your detailed review has given us valuable information on the guests’ perspective and to that we are grateful. On your next trip in town, I invite you to contact me directly in making the reservation. I will personally assure you of a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. Once again, we value your patronage and comments. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the nearest future, and your experience of SUPER 8 in time.

Regards
Bob
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was very comfortable! The couple who manage the hotel were very nice, friendly and accommodating. It is right off the interstate 95. The parking spaces are right where the rooms are and at night the property is well lighted. The room was clean and stylish, supplied with all the extras one could want! Free internet, flat screen TV, coffee, plenty of lights and outlets. Good water pressure in the shower, good counter space as well. The free continental breakfast was set up nicely, self serving and fresh. The price was very reasonable. I would recommend this hotel and certainly would stay here again!! Thank you for a nice stay!

Room Tip: Lower rooms are easy to unload as the parking is right in front of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umeshOldSaybrook, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Old Saybrook, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Great review! We really appreciate you taking the time to do this. Our location certainly can’t be beat, with most of the major tourist spot so close and accessible to. We are happy that you have found our room clean, spacious and quiet. We also happy that you liked our Superfast Breakfast and all other amenities during your stay. We do have a wonderful staff here really goes above and beyond their duty to making sure your stay is perfect. We are so glad that you have had a lovely stay with us. Hope to see you again in the soonest future.

Regards
Bob
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
0.6 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
720 reviews
3.2 mi away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#7 of 7 in Old Saybrook
65 reviews
9.9 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Old Saybrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Old Saybrook

Property: Super 8 Old Saybrook
Address: 37 Spencer Plain Rd, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Old Saybrook 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Old Saybrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Old Saybrook Hotel Old Saybrook
Super Eight Old Saybrook
Old Saybrook Super Eight
Old Saybrook Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing